Ratings based on 1,691 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Nice hotel, big rooms

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Spacious, interesting boutique style hotel.
Cons: Put a fridge in the room
Location: Central enough to get to anywhere in San Francisco. Close to the nearby Chestnut Street shopping precinct (boutique shops).
Nice hotel in great location (easy to get anywhere and close to Chestnut street shops). Room is spacious and bathroom has shower over bath. Was being renovated when we stayed but this did not impinge on us at all. Room does not have a fridge, which was the only downside - but does have ice machine, small consolation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chelsea Inn

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Its a lovely hotel where I always stay when in SF. No need to say more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice hotel. Free parking. Close to restaurants.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised with this 2.5 star rated hotel. The free parking was amazing. Our room was very clean with nice decor, modern tv and comfortable king sized bed. We also had a nice view which we don't usually get with a 3 or 4 star hotel that costs 2-3 times the amount. We walked to dinner and noticed there were several restaurants to choose from. We also did some shopping afterwards. We will DEFINITELY be back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good Location, great Front Desk Staff

Posted Feb 6, 2017
I love where this hotel is location. Accessible to restaurants and a quick bus ride to downtown San Fran and Fisherman's Wharf. Our room was clean and the bed is comfortble. I appreciate how pleasant and knowledgable Allan at the Front Desk was. He made our check-in process a breeze, I will definitely come back and stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

nice location, away from most tourists

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, size of the room, parking
Cons: Maybe some udpates
Location: There is a tavern across the street with bocce ball, and a few restaurants with inexpensive happy hours.
We got to Chelsea Inn too early to check-in, but were able to leave our luggage and use the restroom. Parking was extremely easy - within in feet of the lobby area. Once we got up to our room, it was spacious and clean. Definitely an older hotel, but my husband and I didn't mind it. It's a little far from Fisherman's Wharf, but if you're not into being near the tourists and sea lions, the location is perfect. We were able to uber to where we wanted to go, and walk to surrounding spots. We liked it a lot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

CRACK PIPES AMONGST ANTS

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: The entire hotel, and staff
My girlfriend and I arrived at The Chelsea Motor Inn on January 17th, 2017 around 11:30am. We got to the room and it was noticeable that the room decor was a bit dated, but that wasn't a problem because the room appeared to be comfortable and very roomy. At this point, we were ready to enjoy the city. We returned that evening and showered and went straight to bed.The next morning, I opened the armoire to watch TV and as I sat on the bed, I noticed a wadded up piece of paper on the top shelf of the armoire. As I got closer, it looked a bit odd so I turned on my phone's flashlight and discovered a used CRACK PIPE! I went to the front desk and told the concierge and wanted to be respectful of the establishment and staff so I mentioned this to them with a soft voice so that others couldn't over hear and make a scene. The front desk attendant told me that they would send someone up immediately and I said that would be perfect because we were wanting to go to breakfast. An hour passed as we had breakfast and returned to the room to find the CRACK PIPE was still there. I went back to the front desk and found a different staff member and brought this to his attention. He responded as he was very familiar of the situation and said he would send someone up immediately to retrieve it. We went to get coffee and returned to find the room clean but the pipe was STILL there. They finally came and got it, but as we looked under the bed to get loose items of close, we found another CR
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Close to Chestnut and Union streets for shopping and dining Take advantage to many Muni routes Spacious rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great location, close to wharf and restaurants. Room was clean and comfortable. Overall stay could be improved by adding items such as fridge, kettle and guest laundry. Noisy back street early in the morning. Wifi slow and drops out often. Was able to check in early, which as great - thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great place but only one car per room in the garag

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The staff was very friendly as well as helpful. Our stay was fantastic. It would be helpful if more than 1 car per room was an option for parking (possibly for a small fee), especially on nights when the hotel is not at capacity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medford, New York

Great Hotel in the Heart of San Fran

Posted Dec 19, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean, the rooms were big and the staff was extremely professional. It's on Lombard Street, a popular area for young locals, with great restaurants and shops. It's close to the Wharf, a short bus or Uber ride away. I would stay here again when in town. It's a great affordable option.