Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location, but in need of update.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: refer to my experience
Location: location is within walking distance to major city areas
* had difficulty checking in as the Expedia representative did not specify how many guests were staying in each room * ALL hotel staff were serious, unapproachable, did not give a warm greeting, and at times did not acknowledge us when speaking to them * continental breakfast is more like a snack (a pastry, a granola bar, and an apple....no other choices) * one of the rooms rented had a non-functioning heater....room was cold!!!! * the other room was clean, but bathroom was outdated and had black mold around the window sill * when you check-in, be prepared to have to walk across the street; apparently, there is a detached hotel building * rather than open the parking lot across the street, they have you park in their small lot and carry your bags across the street to where you will be staying
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

port in a storm.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
We stayed here due to sfo weather/flight problems. It was far from the airport, cost us over $100 more than usual price, and had the most uncomfortable bed I can recall sleeping on. The room was shabby, having the appearance of something not updated since the 1960's, which I am old enough to remember. The bathroom had moldy grout in the bath/shower area. However, the room, sheets, and towels were clean. In the morning there was a continental breakfast consisting of coffee, orange juice, prepackaged danish and granola bars. I had a cup of hot water that tasted of coffee. The staff were courteous and helpful, ordering us a shuttle service back to the airport when we arrived that night, and making sure it arrived in the morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible ever

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Reserved hotel with their trick in show the price I found towel dirty and much more item of bad experience Just keep your search to find another deal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wast of money

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Not even close to the pictures and expectations of the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not in my top ten places to stay in San Fran

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Elevator no working. Paper thin walls. Rats in the courtyard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if possible

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: No bedbugs
Cons: Read above.
Location: Convenient to Union Square.
Never stayed in SF before..this in or near the Tenderloin and it's dirty/lots of drugs/people sleeping on the streets. Wife didn't feel safe there. Room was small and clean, but dated. Noises easily heard from adjoining room, hole in the bathroom floor, leaky shower faucet, toilet handle had to be jiggled to keep from sticking, hair dryer was weak. Price was expensive...almost twice as much for 1/2 the room you would get at a nice hotel in Boston.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Extra charge for a smaller room

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I had 2 Expedia search result webpages open. One for 2guests, the other for 4 guests. Just wanna see the difference between options. There was no difference on the page at the time. iPad refreshes webpages every time I wake it up from sleep. So didn't pay attention when I made the decision to book the room. The page said it was the last room at the hotel that sleeps four guests. So I booked it on Sep10th for check-in on Sep11th,but failed to notice the page was for the search of 2 guests. I had a budget of $160/4=40 dollars. But when The 4 of us arrived at the hotel on 11th, the hotel insisted they'll charge for 2 extra guests since the reservation was only for 2 guests. it was late night around 11pm. And I couldn't cancel for free since the hotel insisted I need to cancel at least for 48 hours in advance, though I only booked yesterday. So I had to pay the extra charge, but only to find out that the room only sleeps 3 guests. The receptionist said they changed the room according to the number of guests on the reservation though the search result indicated I was going to book a room that sleeps 4 guests. What annoyed me most was the level of flexibility the hotel granted itself in terms of changing the size of the room, in comparison to the level of intolerance to my minor mistake that I booked a room that sleeps 4 guests but wrongfully left 2 guests on the reservation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hudson, OH

Decent hotel in SOMA - better options available

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Easy location to reach on 7th St and close to the place I was working in town. Good local restaurants available.
Cons: The service is terrible. Had an Expedia booking issue - hotel refused to solve it, even when knowing I could stay the next four weeks! Unbelievable.
The hotel isn't any better or worse than other SOMA hotels. Clean enough. Stayed in the main and
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel in the middle of town

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Average hotel in the middle of town it was fine. Close to downtown
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Not bad area. It was near Union Square, the big shopping plaza of SF. Convenience of walking and getting around pretty easy.