Ratings based on 3,522 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Sophisticated

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Boutique charm and warm and cozy feel
Cons: Internet should be included, forgot toothpaste and usually this level hotel would have had a small tube with other amenities in the bathroom.
Location: excellent location to sample all of what San Francisco is all about. ofcourse fishermans wharf is a 10 minute uber ride but Chinatown, theaters close
In the middle of the Theater district in Union Square and only yards away from the Geary Theater in which we enjoyed a short walk over to enjoy a wonderful Broadway Rated Play.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Travel to San Francisco

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Very cool, design-oriented hotel. Bathroom in the room needed some maintenance (shipping pain in the bathtub, joints looking run down) and certain areas behind the bed (near the plugs) were a little dusty, but otherwise a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location: theatres, restaurants, sights

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Close to transportation BART line, etc. Cool renovated old hotel. Trendy and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Michigan

San Francisco Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Shower fixture. Coffee pot in the room.
Location: We rode the trolly, it was an easy walk to the boarding area.
The fixtures in the bath need to be replaced. I would stay here again because it is conveniently located. Breakfast in the hotel is too expensive for what you get. Would be nice to have a coffee maker in the room and a magnifying mirror in the bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Great hotel!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, comfort
Cons: The store in the lobby was a bit strange and misplaced
Location: Lots of great restaurants including Tonga Room.
I had a great stay at Clift. Loved the decor of the lobby and room. The bed was extremely comfortable. Would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful hotel would return again

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly, nice lobby, room beautiful and had a view. Location was great. Taxis very easy to access. Would return again.
Cons: Some of the tile and grout in the bathroom a little old.
Location: I used taxis to get around and found this location to be very convenient. There's shopping, lots of restaurants. Everything is $10 taxi away.
I stayed here for a mini vacation. Got a wonderful room with a nice view of the city. There are extra charges but I didn't mind, because I got 2 drink tickets and had a blast Saturday night. You can see that some of the bathroom needs to be updated a bit but it was clean and had good space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great place

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Our multiplie stays at the Clift have always been great! The front desk staff is amazing! They go above and beyond every time. We will continue to choose the Clift for our stays in the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel needs a total renovation

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The Décor in Lobby
The best thing about The Clift is the easy access to everything downtown SF. Let me start by saying that our "Check-in" process was absolutely amazing. Front Desk was fast, courteous and upgraded me to a Suite due to being an Expedia VIP Member. Unfortunately, once I got to the Suite I opted to go back to my original booking which was the studio. The Suite felt too bare and was rather less intimate for both my husband and I. After letting front desk know of my concerns they immediately assigned me to a city view Studio. Both the suite and studio could use a complete face-lift. The carpets and rugs looked rather dirty, the furniture is old and dainty some with stains. The bed was okay, but not sturdy enough. The bathroom, the tub porcelain was chipping off and they both were too small. For a one night stay is okay, but not for several days. The hotel also has a bar which served really good drinks. All in all, I would give this hotel a 3-star rating. Living in Las Vegas has made me a bit more aware and spoiled when it comes to suite and studio bookings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We most certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
26 dollars for scrambled eggs and yogurt at breakfast... Save your money. This place is chaos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. The quality of your stay is important to us and we hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate just what makes Clift so special should you choose to visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Close to everything

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room with a great view
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.