Ratings based on 3,807 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is well situated

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Great staff, close to everything by bus and cable car. Shopping near by walking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed our centralized location. See you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester, england

Luxury hotel close to shops & theatres

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Lovely hotel with lots of character. Spacious rooms and great public spaces. Perfect location to see the sights and better fit being away from the more touristy Pier 39/Fishermans Wharf areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Diane for the great 5-star review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to see us and all things SF in the process.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Better hotels in the area.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The lobby had a nice look.
Cons: The rooms are very dated. Carpet should be removed.
The hotel was just alright. A bit pricey if you ask me. Beware of the $60 parking rate per night. There is no option to self park. As a Texan, this was a big shock to me. I guess you could say we're spoiled in the south. Your bill can rack up quickly with parking itself if you stay a couple of nights. The staff was helpful and polite. Within walking distance to great restaurants and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Andrea for the review and feedback. As we are downtown, we're subject to the pricing of the outside parking structures pricing - as we do not own our own parking structure. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit overall and look forward to your next visit from Texas to SF!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Book here for San Fran!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great hotel with large rooms, we booked a Studio suite... Space was huge. Staff was very friendly and caring. Hotel is only a couple of blocks from Union Square, Powell St Bart station and Powell St Cable Cars. Only. 10min Uber ride to pier 39 or Fisherman's Wharf. Will stay here again on next trip to San Fran.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thanks AC for the great review of your stay! We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and SF - looking forward to the next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to theater and union square

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel has a very interesting play with colors which give it a great ambience, especially in the evening. Although I was upgrade to a suite (due to Expedia points) I found that room claustrophobic as it only had on window looking in to the back of building/worksite. But otherwise it was clean and comfortable. There was no coffee/tea options in the room, although a Starbucks across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe next visit an outside facing room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Close to very niche shops and very good food near by
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! See you next visit to SF!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Lobby Bar

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Decor, Service and lighting
Cons: The noise of the corridors is really bad
Location: Union Square, Cable Cars, Dining and Shopping
Loved the decor and the mood of the hotel. Very much recommended to anyone wanting to stay in central SFO.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Jenna for your review and feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit overall and we look forward to having you visit again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The hotel is centrally located and has comfy beds and very spacious rooms. The room empture was kept cool with a rather quiet air conditioner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review - we're so glad that you enjoyed your visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc canada

Great hotel, friendly staff and central location �

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We had a fantastic time in San Francisco and it was made even better staying at the Clift! Not to mention the hotel smelled anazing!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Awww Jennifer! We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to see us at the CLIFT and SF! We look forward to making your next trip wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Beautiful hotel, nearby shoppíng shops.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
the decor is very attractive, rooms comfortable, possibly a bit small bathroom, but functional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Jose! We're thrilled to see that you enjoyed the entirety of the hotel and we look forward to your next trip to SF!