Ratings based on 3,637 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Terribly small and run down bathrooms. Absolutely no drawer space except for a couple of ikea shelves at the bottom of a small closet. All in all, a disappointing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. The quality of your stay is important to us and we hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate just what makes Clift so special should you choose to visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

PLEASENT SURPRISE

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Everything. Really eclectic décor, fantastic bar.
Cons: My stay was great
Location: Great location, you can walk to anything you want to do.
I was on-line looking for a hotel in the Union Square area and the Clift seemed very reasonably priced for it's location and amenities. A real eclectic spot that surpassed all my expectations. Great room, clean and spacious. Fantastic bar with awesome bartender. ( Michael ) Every hotel employee I dealt with was world class professional. Will be out to San Francisco in 2 months and this is where I will be staying.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with restaurant and breakfast facilitie

Posted May 14, 2017
Good comfortable hotel , but gave away my room inspitebof prebooking since the flight was late and could not check in until morning. Once booking has been accepted the room should be made available up to check out time as the hotel charges a no show
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We most certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Best hotel in SF. I loved it. I will only book this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Newly renovated hotel off Union Square

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Convenient location. Strong wi-fi, nice gym.
Cons: Hooks by the door to hang clothes and jackets
Location: Walgreen's across the street.
Newly renovated boutique hotel right off Union Square. There's a lot of choices in this area so had a difficult time picking one (there's Windsor Hotel right across the street). Went with Clift due to reputation of Morgan Hotel Group so had high expectations. Lobby has nice decor and a good sitting area where the hotel provides free coffee every morning. Note that the hotel charges a separate facility fee for the coffee, wi-fi and gym access. You get part of that back as credit towards food. The room's are on the smaller size. We had standard room with king size bed on the third floor overlooking the street. The bed was comfortable and rooms clean. Only drawback is there's no closet or dresser so there's no where to hang your jacket or clothes. We had to hang all our clothes on the two chairs. The bed and pillows were comfortable. There is one serious drawback to this hotel. The lounge on the first floor turns into a night club at night. Since we stayed over the weekend and on a low floor, the loud base from the music was ringing in our room. I'm not a light sleeper and with jetlag from the east coast, it wasn't a problem but my wife couldn't sleep. If you like going out and want to hang out at the lounge, this hotel is a good option but if you want a quiet night's sleep, I would not stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. The quality of your stay is important to us and we hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate just what makes Clift so special should you choose to visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Comfortable modern hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Room design, lobby, bar, clean, friendly staff...
I enjoyed my stay at the Clift. The room was ready right around noon. I was greeted as a VIP Expedia member and was offered 2 free drink tickets. Considering that a glass of wine is $14-16, makes it a valuable gesture. The man at the front desk very friendly and efficient. The bar waiters are amazing and the bar has much class. The room was modern, clean and bright. I have no complaints and only compliments. The had some fashion event at the hotel and security was pretty tight, and I was able to attend the after party, since I was a guest at the hotel. Which was pretty cool. There is a nice fragrance throughout the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Good hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
Excelente hotel i recomend 100% satisfaced Very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2017
The Clift was an excellent hotel. The location and staff are Amazing. I will stay there again when I'm in San Francisco!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort and discomfort

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: nice rooms (except for above), location
Cons: sheets & a blanket instead of comforters. Some drawers for storage space.
Location: Good location and lots to do nearby: It's San Francisco
Roomy room and bathroom devoid of storage space (drawers that is) found most places I've been. Also bed covering solely a comforter: no sheet above or below. I HATE COMFORTERS.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We most certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent hotel close to Union Square.

Posted May 1, 2017
Cons: could do with more room storage.
Location: close to shops, restaurants and cable cars.
very good hotel. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and tidy and only a 5 minute walk to Union Square. Would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.