Ratings based on 3,293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very nice hotel and the staff was excellent. Steve the concierge was very helpful and even sent a complimentary bottle of wine to our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We most certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel - great location!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff and very clean. Rooms spacious too.
Cons: The bathroom is very small compared to size of the wardrobe/bedroom area so could do with being bigger as not really enough room for 2 people at once.
Location: Only about 1 block from Union Square. Great location for shopping and easy to gab a taxi to go down to the pier.
This hotel is round the corner from Union Square so in excellent location for seeing all the sights. Staff were extremely friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Hotel has a lovely atmosphere to it and its redroom bar is very popular with locals. Rooms are very spacious, however the bathroom could be bigger. Overall, the hotel is very stylish and makes you feel very relaxed. I would go back tomorrow if I could!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Second stay at the Clift, this time for six nights. Very good experience overall, clean, friendly staff and a beautiful city view from the 12th floor. Then again it's quite pricey and this is what I'd expect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great SF location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
great staff---very nice to us on our anniversary with an upgrade and cocktails in the great Redwood Room
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We most certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in downtown

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: good location, great service from the concergie, comfortable beds Cons: room and furniture are dated. Very thin walls, we could hear guests talking from other rooms, and we had a 14 months old who cried occasionally at night! valet parking is convenient but expensive as expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We most certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tracy, CA

Great staff!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The location is great and room service.
Cons: The overnight parking is $55-69 and the daily hotel fee of $25 is not included in the price of the room.
Location: cafes, beauty salons, car rental, shopping and more!
From valet to the bell hop to the front desk...very pleasing. Hotel décor is unique (in a good way).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We most certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Awesome SF experience with Clift!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at the Clift! Ww had a room at the 16th floor. They acknowledged my Expedia VIP experience. The amenities were great. The view of our room was lovely! Clean room, awesome bar, friendly staff! We couldn't have had a better vacay in SF thanks to Clift!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

GREAT CHOICE

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Rooms Layout
Location: Plenty of restaurants and shopping
Staff was super nice. Room was cleaned. Loved the décor of the hotel. It was just a great overall pick. Close to a lot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Sex, Drugs and Rock and Roll

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Picture you and your wife getting away for a weekend in San Fran. No kids, peace and quiet. A hotel centrally located in the city. Bliss! Now add in the person in the room next to you. Smoking weed so heavily that there is a cloud coming under your shared door into your room. You get a proximity high from it. Awesome right?! Now how about loud music and rough, awful sex coming from that same room into the wee hours of the morning. Even better right?! After sex, she orders a pay per view movie and blasts it at full volume, passing out around 2 am from her evening activities, but TV is still blaring. Blissful. Two phone calls to the front desk got the typical, "Sure, we'll look into it" and then no response after that. Blissful. I even gave the manager an opportunity to refund a night's stay to make up for the nonsense and he responds with "How about I write off your 2 drinks you had at our hotel bar". What a joke. Now a little about me- I'm a 32 year old who stays out late, parties with his wife and friends-- I'm the last person who would complain about something, but this was absolutely atrocious. And with the response they gave me, it was clear they don't really care to change anything about that type of activity in their hotel. Certainly their perogative, but I'll surely never return to there or any of their other locations, and will do everything in my power to make sure no one else I know does either. Respectfully yours (not this hotels), Don
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derry.

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Could be bigger fridge.
Location: Near union square for big bus and trams.
Very nice hotel.Very clean.breakfast is a bit costly.standard room is ok for couples.lovely log fire in lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad to hear about your experience and look forward to welcoming you back.