Ratings based on 3,716 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles , CA

Very helpful staff

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Had a great time , love the toiletries , appreciate the voss water , very comfortable pillows and mattress
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, fantastic decor, best bar!

Posted Jul 22, 2017
One of the best lounges and bar to have a drink in the afternoon until 1:00 AM!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great 5-star review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Too expensive for what it is. Paid over $500/night

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Concierge personnel was great, very professional and helpful, great recommendation for our Napa Valley journey.
Cons: Change the carpets on the rooms. Train the cleaning personnel.
Location: Terrible location because of the homeless drugged people. Homeless is SFO tend to be aggressive, not recommended for families or woman with kids
Room had old Carpet floors, and the cleaning service is not good, smelly carpet. One day I left my breakfast tray since the morning and after arriving from Napa Valley very late at nigh the room was smelly and the trays were there as I left them early in the morning with leftovers. At that time of the night no time or energy to complain but I was disappointing considering paying over $500 per night. Way too expensive hotel for what it is. If you are thinking on going to San Francisco try to stay away from downtown hotels if you can, there is an overwhelming amount of homeless , drudged people on the streets, they tend to be aggressive, this has nothing to do with this hotel, its the downtown area in general that is bad. Try to stay in another neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Javier for the review and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
From the moment we arrived, the hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. On the quiet side considering near Union Square and a lot of people and traffic. Easy walk to everything. Only downside was the construction on the exterior of the building during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear about the construction - we can't always control the city - but we're glad you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Close to union square

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great location. Lobby was super dark which was a bit off. The night we arrived we basically checked in to a dance club. Knew there was a rocking lobby bar but was not expecting it to take over the full lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. Our Redwood Room does occasionally have events, which does tend to spill into the lobby as they're also guests of the hotel. Next visit you should join in on the fun. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

A very nice surprise

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: The breakfast offering
We were pleasantly surprised by the Clift. Great location, nice and comfortable rooms.The only negative was the outrageously expensive breakfast: USD 145 for 4 pax. Better go across the street for breakfast...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Urs for the great review! We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Center of the Action

Posted Jul 10, 2017
A short walk from some of SF's best shopping, restaurants and bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Valerie - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Great location in downtown San Fran

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Too dim in the lobby and too loud. STOP POSTING FEES WITHOUT NOTING DAILY SURCHARGES!!
Location: Downtown San Fran, everything is a short walk away
We paid for an upgrade to a 17th floor room with a great view of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Ed - Thank you for the review. We're glad that you enjoyed the location. We look forward in serving you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Don't be fooled by the photos

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel is well situated. The lobby has a cool, trendy vibe. We were excited and eager to enjoy our 3 day visit as we entered the Lobby. We were given our room keys - it was all downhill from there. The rooms are dated and tired. The bathtub plastic surface was peeling - leaving two "bald spots' in the tub?? There was hair from a previous guest in the bathroom - in more than one location. The room was exceptionally noisy. The hotel is old and the windows don't keep the street noise out. Be prepared for a disturbing night's sleep. The furnishings and carpet are dinged up and stained. We also found receipts and shopping labels on the carpet next to the bed from a previous guest? All in all a very underwhelming and disappointing stay. Certainly not what was advertised. You can do better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will look into making things better for your next visit. We look forward to serving you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor start, saved by the staff...

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The check in process was fast and convenient however I didn't appreciate the upsell to a bigger room when I had already purchased an upgrade. The first night was poor due to our neighbor smoking pot in their room and the entire floor and our room lingered with the smell the rest of the evening, also the walls to the room were paper thin as I could hear their music until 5am the next morning when they finally turned it off..he next morning the front desk staff agreed to love us and told us to leave our bags to be moved, however when we returned to the hotel at 5pm our bags had not been moved and the new room was not ready. After all of the fiasco they loved us to another room with a smaller bed however we decided to stay as we were tired and the staff had done everything to help and they were extremely nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences of your visit, please know that this is not the norm at the hotel. We're glad that our staff made it better for you. We look forward to serving you again soon.