Ratings based on 3,535 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , great location

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The room was bright and roomy, in contrast to the lobby which was dark with curious decor. Staff were friendly and helpful .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Great location, unique decor, large room, great bar downstairs in lobby with DJ .
Cons: Better cleaning, add space for guests to put their clothes/belongings.
Location: 1 block from union square. Awesome location.
Overall my experience at the Clift was great. Friendly service, beautiful hotel and huge room! My only recommendation is to have closets or drawers in the rooms. I dont know if it was just my room that had zero place to hang my clothes, basically everything had to stay inside my luggage even though the room was very large. I also dont think they do deep cleaning each time a guest leaves, I think they just clean the sheets and bathroom because there was dust on the TV stand and just not impeccably clean however, all the other great things made up for it. There was a great bar downstairs that had a DJ , a good mini bar , and a nice lounge area. Also in a great area, a block away from union square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Great location. Upgraded kindly to a studio for no extra charge. Redwood Room incredible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Trendy hotel in heart of San Francisco

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms and beds
Cons: Refresh of Bathrooms and better way to switch lights on and off
Location: Just off union square, very central
Beds are amazing and comfortable and the location is really central so was perfect for my trip. The hotel is very modern - toilets could do with a little update but the toiletries were great. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool Hotel in a prime location with great staff

Posted Feb 24, 2017
From the time we arrived to the time we checked out the hotel staff was attentive and quick with their excellent service. The atmosphere inside was fun and I'd recommend the hotel or even just the redwood room to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very bad

Posted Feb 24, 2017
house keeping was very rude never brought me towels, they never fixed my bed and refresh the room. when I checked out they had my car locked and didn't want to give it to me because some how my cc was declined. and they had made the mistake them self and embrassed me in front of my friends saying we will not give your car to you . we are holding it until u pay your bill
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Sophisticated

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Boutique charm and warm and cozy feel
Cons: Internet should be included, forgot toothpaste and usually this level hotel would have had a small tube with other amenities in the bathroom.
Location: excellent location to sample all of what San Francisco is all about. ofcourse fishermans wharf is a 10 minute uber ride but Chinatown, theaters close
In the middle of the Theater district in Union Square and only yards away from the Geary Theater in which we enjoyed a short walk over to enjoy a wonderful Broadway Rated Play.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Travel to San Francisco

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Very cool, design-oriented hotel. Bathroom in the room needed some maintenance (shipping pain in the bathtub, joints looking run down) and certain areas behind the bed (near the plugs) were a little dusty, but otherwise a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location: theatres, restaurants, sights

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Close to transportation BART line, etc. Cool renovated old hotel. Trendy and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Michigan

San Francisco Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Shower fixture. Coffee pot in the room.
Location: We rode the trolly, it was an easy walk to the boarding area.
The fixtures in the bath need to be replaced. I would stay here again because it is conveniently located. Breakfast in the hotel is too expensive for what you get. Would be nice to have a coffee maker in the room and a magnifying mirror in the bath.