Ratings based on 3,743 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Boutique Hotel in awesome location!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great for business, tourism and just being cool in SF. If you don't even stay this is a must attend for the bar alone, is a hot spot and yes...."a meat market". Love the rooms and the vibe which is a little like a club but lots of business people. Very generous with fitness, coffee and drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Everything was great! Attempted to help me get a refund back since I left early but couldn't because it was booked with Expedia. At least the tried!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

walking distance to the shops and restaurants

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Clean hotel, nice view of the streets and all of the people. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grass Valley, CA

Fancy, comfortable, and historic downtown hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: The lobby is very welcoming and feels luxurious. My room was quite large and I really felt "on vacation" in the city.
Location: There is currently a lot of construction in the neighborhood, so leave your car with the valet. The hotel is in the middle of everything!
I had a wonderful stay at the Clift. I have been a frequent patron of its bar, the Redwood Room over the years, but enjoyed my first overnight stay this week. I needed an early check-in and they were happy to accommodate me. I enjoyed the comfortable bed, the large room, great shower, and added dressing room. The staff were delightful and I look forward to staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Great Location! Rooms are very nice, nice boutique hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Arturo, Hotel Management
Thank you Anonymous for the review and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Nice hotel in an ideal location.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: The rooms were spacious (mostly) but clean and comfortable. The restaurant in the lobby was great as well.
Cons: I felt a little vulnerable at night going to the elevators to get to my room. There was no staff presence there, that I noticed.
Location: Near to the Financial District, High end and other Shopping , and choice of restaurants. It was a stone throw away from China Town, & the Wharf.
Happened upon the Clift Hotel because we were late deciding on attending a Conference, so our regular home away from home in San Fran was fully booked. What a nice surprise the Clift turned our to be. All our colleagues ended up at our hotel after the days' events to unwind in the Red Room. The staff was great, and from the hotel we had easy access to all the places we needed to visit, restaurants and a couple of the tourist attractions. Now it will be difficult deciding between our old place and the Clift for future events.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Jacqui for the review and feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, please know that we do have staff on-site, as well as security whom dress professionally so they blend in with our clientele. We hope to see you again soon and you get to enjoy us once again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and spacious

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Staff are friendly amd accomodating. Linens were clean and they brought us some utensil
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Arturo, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for staying with us, we are glad to know that our staff was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Family stay in San Francisco

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Room facilities and cleanliness.
Cons: Valet parking price and speed. Checkin efficiency.
Location: Good location for Union Square downtown attractions and cable cars. Near to main downtown attractions and Fishermans Wharf so low cost Uber transport
Checkin was a disaster as the hotel IT system crashed except for one PC. So it was very slow. Staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and well equipped. The valet parking is very expensive and they park your car several blocks away so it took 20+ minutes to get your car. The hotel is nice enough but for a family it was a less suitable. More for singles or adults. Open use of cannabis in the bar....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you Alastair for your review and feedback. We're sorry to see that we were unable to help you efficiently. We're glad that you liked the stay overall and we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hip and Sophisticated

Posted Jul 31, 2017
This hotel was great! Amazing location, staff was extremely friendly and the room was spotless. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Arturo, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for staying with us, we are glad to know that our hotel was great with and amazing location and also that our staff was extremely friendly. We'll see you again next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico city

Great Location

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Loved the hotel, nice and confortable room. Our room was close to the servuce elevator which was a little noise Close to Pinecrest for breakfast, 5 minutes walk to Union Square
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Thank you ximena for the nice review. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.