Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great hotel and location

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Staff, location
Location: Union square is down the road, cable car subway all easy to walk to.
Great location to everything, we could walk to everything. Staff were very helpful with local knowledge and directions. Would definitely stay there again, loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Great location close to Union Square -- we stayed two nights. Friendly and helpful service (although one elevator was not working). Breakfast (which was included in our room price) was a basket of varied pastries (nice selection), choice of juices and coffee or tea. Hotel was a very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Good location, comfortable place

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Room size.
Cons: Please give us Brit a kettle so we can make tea !
Location: Union Square and all the shops !
A little dated but good, nice room with fridge and a microwave. I would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good if you're in a pinch

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Apparently there are 3 different hotel experiences here. Club Donatello, Hotel Donatello and a Time Share. Booked two rooms at Club Donatello. When we arrived, one of the rooms got demoted to the Hotel Donatello, lower floors, no club access. Hotel Donatello staff has no computer access to assign Club rooms. Had to wait several hours for the staff to get in touch with the appropriate Club manager to straighten things out. Ended up with a handicap accessible room with no tub. Not how you want to end a 4 hour car ride.... Staff was helpful, but the entire operation is haphazard and misleading. Rooms are decent. Take the experience with a pinch of salt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Terrible customer service, room not worth the pric

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Originally booked for one night and contacted hotel asking to change it to two days. They informed me (after taking 2 days to reply) to simply book another night. I did this and to my surprise the cost of the room for the second night was 12% more than the first. After several emails to the hotel they refused to honour the cheaper price for both nights. One reply from the hotel took over 5 days! I wouldn't have booked a second night knowing they would charge me $40 more than the first night. On leaving I asked reception to call a taxi for me. Instead of doing it themselves they called the bellhop to ask him to. The bellhop refused! Why wouldn't he call a taxi for me? Doesn't make sense. Never had anything like it in my 20 years of travelling. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I'm even going to speak to Expedia to recommend removing them from their list of hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Xie from BJ

Location is good

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Yet the price is too high. Overall the room quality is 4 star standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great hotel to explore San Francisco

Posted Jan 14, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A Traveler from Houston, Texas

A Potential Diamond, but in Need of Polishing

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Club Donatello could be outstanding--a mid- to late-20th century hotel only a block off Union Square. However, the hotel desperately needs updating to be competitive as a mid- to upscale property. Having said this, the relatively large rooms and good location makes it an attractive destination if you are out and about most of the day. As others have said, being across the street from a nightclub can make the hotel noisy at night, but this was a minor drawback from our 11th floor room. The staff was fine, but the fitness room was dated and inadequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bryan & Linda from Ormond-by-the-Sea, FL, USA

Overall Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 30, 2013
I've stay in the Donatello at least five times now, and it has always been great! Very large and comfortable clean rooms. Well stocked and maintained. Very polite and helpful staff. Great location, close to Union Square and all public transportation, including the cable cars. Easy to get to whether public transportation or your car. Very affordable downtown parking rates for hotel guests. Overall Great place to stay when in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Philadelphia, PA

Two thumbs up!

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: The valet garage, the location, the price
Cons: The gym was a little skimpy, but at least they had one
Location: Terrific location, a few blocks north of Market
Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Terrific happy hours on the top floor and a great restaurant. The in/out privelages and reasonably priced garage were much appreciated. I highly recommend.