Ratings based on 1,963 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and clean rooms

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms and great location
Cons: The elevators are slow and small
Location: Eva's coffee next door has good coffee and muffins
Great location. I was there for business and did a lot of walking downtown to all my appointments. It's walking distance to lots of restaurants including Eva's Coffee shop which is next door which has really good coffee. The rooms are very clean. I was a little nervous at first when I saw the elevators thinking that maybe this hotel was in need of an update but the room was very clean and nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great location for major sights of San Francisco

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Stayed here with grown up kids and received a beautiful bright room with view of the Golden Gate bridge. Easy 10 minute walk down Van Ness to waterside and from there another 5 minutes along water to Fishermans wharf. Walk straight out of hotel and up Lombard street two blocks to see the crokedest street. Plenty of small shops for snacks/ drinks around the hotel. Nice clean and welcoming hotel. Parking as everyone says is a little challenging. Its under the hotel (enter via Lombard) and is fine if you are a skilled driver. Not so great if you are little nervous or can't judge distances as the turns are a bit tight. Otherwise its safe and well lit. Negatives: The cattle market that is breakfast. Too few seats and too many people. No trays to take breakfast up to room so people struggle and spill in the elevator.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

A good home base

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The room was nice, location convenient. Parking was less expensive than most places. One thing I would change is allowing room key access to stairwells, to go up, for those times when several tour busses of guests simultaneously check in and clog the elevators.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with location close enough to the warf

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Comfort Inn by the Bay was a good choice for location. It was only 2 blocks from city bus stop, 2 blocks from Big Bus stop, right at the bottom of the back side of Lombard the Crooked Street, and less than a mile walk to the wharf. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Breakfast had a good mix of hot and cold options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockton,ca

Not that close to the wharf

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Comfy bed, the staff.
Cons: Breakfast, the noise level from outside.
Location: Fisherman's wharf
The check in was easy. The room was nice, we were on the 11th floor and got the bay view so we were happy when we got into our rooms. But the problem was you can practically hear everything outside like the noise of the cars, sirens etc. and we weren't able to sleep well even though the bed was super comfy. The breakfast in the morning? Well, the sausage was hard, the egg wasn't good either. I know it was free but considering for what we paid,it should be free. My family and I didn't like the walk to the wharf, I thought it will be closer than I expected. Overall it was an OK hotel but won't be coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Loved this hotel. Very clean and updated. Walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MR

Hotel agradável, bem localizado.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel perto da Girardelli Square. Confortável, limpo, bom café da manhã.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Fishermans Wharf.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Clean hotel with views of Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco Bay. We walked to Pier 39 and took a bike ride over The Golden Gate Bridge. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great location

Posted Jul 8, 2016
The hotel is central to everything in San Francisco. Great hotel: staff very friendly and accommodating, the continental breakfast in the morning was very diverse, room very kept and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low priced option

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Reasonable place to stay, staff was very helpful, breakfast was good.