Ratings based on 1,880 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good location/Price

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Our window was facing the back of someone's house looking right into their kitchen.
Location: Close to Golden Gate, Marina, ec
Great stay. Good location and price. The hotel was clean and the facilities were nice. Breakfast was simple but with pretty good variety. The only issue we had was our room faced the back of another building and looked right into someone's kitchen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montana

Nice hotel, good breakfast, bathroom not clean

Posted Feb 2, 2016
I would stay here again nice area close to fishermans wharf friendly staff I would recommend this hotel to friends and family
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good motel, overpriced but.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
It's hard in San Fran because hotels and motels are all expensive so that is a hard point to differentiate this one from. It's just a 5 minute walk from the water which is nice and quite close to Fishermans wharf. Complimentary brekkie which is always good somewhere. Our room had everything you need however my husband and I were put in single beds which was a bit strange but we are pretty sure it would have cost more to be in a queen room so didn't question it. The beds were very large single however so quite comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel in great location

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The staff hospitality.
We arrived late in the day and perhaps the staff was tired by then but they reception was terrible. No eye-contact or even a smile. Very cold reception. We only stayed one night and when we left in the morning we had a similar experience from a different receptionist. It's really too bad they don't like their job. The good thing is that the hotel is kept clean and it is in a great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Whilst checking in, staff were to worried about what the were ordering for lunch. Left the hotel early one morning, returning very late that evening to find our door left open from cleaners, rang management and all they said was 'sorry'. Also placed on a floor with a travelling school group that were also quite disruptive at all hours of the night (not hotels fault but maybe a warning about children would have been nice). Much nicer places to stay in San Francisco!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable price and a great location

Posted Jan 17, 2016
We had a nice stay at this facility. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. In addition to good places to visit and eat close to the wharf we found the neighborhood up the hill one block to Polk and then right was full of great restaurants, bars, and nightlife generally. This hotel was a great place to spend a long weekend in San Francisco with plenty of activities very close by.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Hotel staff was great....but...

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The location was great! Easy walk to many of the attractions we wanted to see. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area
Cons: The elevator wasn't working. The main floor restrooms were out of order. There were so many teens staying there. We would have stayed elsewhere.
Location: You can walk to Fishermans Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39, Cable cars. Many restaurants, art galleries, shops. It's really a great location.
The Comfort Inn by the Bay was an OK hotel. I'm sure at one time this hotel was considered to be pretty nice. The staff was great, very helpful, friendly (always greeted us as we can in from an outing or just came down from our room). They have breakfast each morning which helps save $$ (although it is the same breakfast each day...but a good variety). My biggest complaint about our stay was that there was a group of students from Australia staying at the hotel. I wish we would have known upfront about the massive amount of teens. We had kids running up and down the hallway, yelling, banging on our door, calling our room anywhere from 10pm, to midnight, to 2am! We complained to the front desk, who were very sympathetic, and I know they talked with the chaperons, however, this didn't stop the ruckus in the middle of the night. The other big issue, this hotel has 10-12 floors. We were on the 8th floor...only one elevator was working. Which meant at many times a wait of 5-10 minutes to get the elevator, and many times you had to wait 2 rounds to be able to fit on the elevator. Also, the restrooms on the main floor were "out of order"...so, it you had to use the restroom with eating breakfast, you had to wait 10 minutes for the elevator to take you up to your room...then another 5-10 to go back down. Of course you can take the stairs...if you want to hike up 8+ floors. The location is great though. Easy walk to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, cable cars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to main places

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Cons: Elevador, because only one was working.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square. There is a bus stop right across the stree.good
Good breakfast, clean rooms, very comfortable. Clase to main attractio a of SFO.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but very small

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Loved my experience except one of the elevators was broken which made getting up and down very difficult. It was also annoying that I had to park, go up to get the permit, and then go back down. But overall worth the price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

20 minute walk to the wharf

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Room was standard Staff were courteous $6.00 uber pool rides to almost everywhere Breakfast was good, over by 9.30 though Good walking location