Ratings based on 738 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Perfect location! Antique but comfort! Delicious breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I asked them if I could live there

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Charming decor, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. And it's French! Breakfast was excellent. I did arrive on the late side each day, and they had run out of an item. But still equal to breakfast I've had at 5 star hotels. I missed the French restaurant for dinner but I can't imagine it was anything but terrific. The room was comfortable, great bed and shower. I'll be back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Great location, very close to Union Square. Free wifi, free breakfast with friendly and helpful staff. French themed decor is charming, especially love the escalator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but service level need to improve

Posted May 28, 2017
Location is really good and deco also nice but there was a guy receptionist was so inpatient and impolite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Pleasant experience

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: the whole experience!
Cons: N/A
Location: everything is walkable; cable car can be accessed within a few steps, but just walk - it's great exercise!
We stayed here for 1 night, on our way to Napa. The boutique hotel experience was truly enjoyable. The owners were friendly and very outgoing. Michel, the golden retriever was a joy and the staff were very nice! I would recommend this hotel to anyone spending any time in San Francisco; it is conveniently located to all the sites one wants to see in SF. If we ever get back, we will stay here!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay away feom the pancakes!!!!

Posted May 18, 2017
Overall not a bad place breakfast is like out of a Monty paython movie!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grass Valley, CA

I can't imagine staying anywhere else

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: See my review. :)
Cons: Nothing.
Location: close to everything!
I used to live in the Bay Area, so the idea of going back there for a "have to go" trip wasn't super exciting to me. I decided to treat myself to a nice hotel, but after checking out all the rooms at the usual suspects of fancy hotels, I was feeling even more meh about the trip. I found the Hotel Cornell (here on Expedia) and checked out the rooms... it's the perfect blend of quaint and modern, quirky and luxurious. I absolutely LOVE it. Everything from the hotel staff to the comfort of the beds. I got a junior suite and it was so perfect that I didn't want to leave the room. Wifi was strong enough for a video conference, even! And it's priced comparably to the other cookie cutter hotels, but it's MUCH nicer, in my opinion. Each floor is themed for a different artist, except the lobby and the restaurant, which are themed for Joan of Arc. My room had floral wallpaper and hand-painted finches on the walls, with nosegays in the corners of the ceiling. So adorable and very festive. The staff was both kind and affable. The breakfast (included) was above and beyond what I'd expect from an included breakfast. It wasn't top cuisine or anything, but fried eggs, toast, bacon, hashbrowns, coffee, and orange juice... I mean, pretty fantastic. And served in a wonderfully atmospheric restaurant. It's easy walking distance to everything, including the waterfront, Union Square, and even a Whole Foods. We'll definitely be back whenever we need a French vacation, close to home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Excellent location near China Town.

Posted May 6, 2017
Walked to the Bart, Market Street, Bart and Union Square. Hotel was clean, staff very friendly and convenient. The price was excellent, about half of any of the other hotels in the area and as a result it was an excellent choice. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A charming hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: See above. Mostly everything.
Cons: I am not crazy about live music at breakfast.
Location: Incredible location, esp. for the price. Walk out the door, turn right, and you are at Union Square. For this alone I'd stay here again.
I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Yes, it does feel as though you are in Europe -- both the decor (French to the max) and the clientele (many Europeans). It's all quite civilized and a tad eccentric which, to me, is a good thing. Nothing cookie-cutter about this hotel, but loads of charm and graceful interactions with staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quirky but charming hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
When you enter this hotel it's like stepping back in time. The walls throughout have paintings which are lovely, the lift is old and a real feature but it works and the basement restaurant is enchanting. This is a hotel full of character. The staff are friendly and efficient and the breakfast is lovely.