Ratings based on 2,292 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern New Jersey

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location, clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed.
Cons: Please update decor.
Location: Near Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and Golden Gate Bridge.
We stayed at the Coventry Motor Inn for a couple day add on in San Francisco. After searching and reading reviews for a couple weeks we decided to stay here because of positive reviews. My 5 star review is based on expectations from hotel. Was it a 5 star hotel? No, but I didn't expect it to be. We had a rental car which played a role in staying in this section of SF. The staff was helpful and check in was smooth and easy. I was directed to the underground parking garage which was tight to maneuver but no problems and was free to use during our stay. The room was clean but dated, except for mounted flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable with firm mattress. The price was higher than I would like to have payed for this caliber hotel but lower than many hotels in the area. Felt like it was fair for location. We could hear some traffic outside but not terrible, (Our room was on side street) We could hear people come in and out of other rooms but not terrible... I could see if we had a noisy neighbor you could hear them but all things considered, it was not too noisy. Walk from hotel to Ghirardelli Square was about 20 min and maybe 25-30 min to Fisherman's Wharf. We were able to take Cable Car from here throughout city. Recommend driving to Sausalito and Muir Woods National Monument which was highlight of our trip! Great view over Bridge looking downtown from Hawk Hill. Overall, if your expectations are realistic you will not be disappointed with your stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location with free parking

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Slightly dated decor and no 'eat in' option.
Cons: Updated interior at some point
Location: Could walk to most things quite easily and drove to Golden Gate park for another day.
Easy to find in hire car. Large comfortable room. Great breakfast place just down the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
But dated but staff amazing and location good would come backb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Nice,clean, big room and bed, good bathroom with bath always a plus when traveling. Onsite parking a plus in San Francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel with free parking

Posted May 16, 2017
This was a good clean hotel with free parking which was a big attraction for us as many other hotels charge. It was a 20/25 minute walk to Fishermans wharf so not for those with mobility difficulties.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel and location although a bit outdated

Posted May 14, 2017
Cons: The fridge could be included in the room and the tea/coffee tray could be placed in the room instead of the bathroom.
The location is just great, very close to the coast. The hotel has a Parking which you can use free of charge, very convenience for the people doing a road trip! The car park doesn't have a gate, therefore I'd recommend you not to leave anything in the car; however we didn't have any problem at all. The reception is in the Parking area and the staff was helpful.They took a pre-authorization of £30 which was released after 1 week or 2. The room was big and clean, although a bit outdated. The bathroom was big as well and it had a combo bath-shower. In general there are no complaints, however there are 2 negative things: 1) if you want a fridge you have to pay an extra. It's not that much but it's not included. 2) the coffee maker and complimentary tray items are located in the bathroom... I might be picky but I don't think is the most hygienic place. Overall I'd recommend this hotel and I'd book it again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila, Philippines

Great neighborhood.

Posted May 5, 2017
The hotel is accessible and near popular sights by bus. A lot of nearby restaurants and some great ice cream shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location with free parking

Posted May 2, 2017
Excellent location for both parking and public transport, many restaurants within walking distance and area feels safe even at night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really comfortable stay

Posted May 1, 2017
Memory foam mattress with good parking facilities. Not far to fishermans wharf area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, canada

A great downtown experience

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Got there at misnight and was well received. They managed our camper van for parking. Great location.