Ratings based on 2,685 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth UK

Good base to explore the city.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Breakfast was included in the room price which was a bonus. Clean comfortable room with coffee machine. Hotel is close to coffee shops and diners on Polk Street and to public transport. Easy to travel to Fisherman's wharf, Golden Gate Bridge and Union Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Comfortable and great location

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The beds were super comfortable i slept like a baby, the location was great, and breakfast had waffles (favorite). I only gave an over all 4 star because i believe the breakfast can have a little more and because the beds are a full size.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
the hotel is centrally located and greatly priced. the rooms were newly decorated but had old carpet so it smelled like an old place. besides that everything was very clean and they offer free continental breakfast. for the price, I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Great value, clean place, well located in San Francisco.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms with serious problems with air cond

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Cons: All structures and surface materials should be changed and carpets removed to remove the bad smell. Proper cleaning system should be established.
Location: Location was ok, near Fisherman's Wharf.
Room had a terrible smell, probably mould growing in the carpet and/or other structures. We checked a few other rooms and all had the same problem. All structures should be refurbished and materials changed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It was in a great location and the staff was super accommodating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Over all good the only down it was no fridge, staff was attentive and friendly. I really like that it was close to everything, there was a 50 dls deposit per night that I wasn't aware of so that was a surprise ! I will highly recommend this hotel it was good since we were on a budget, it was actually better than what we were expecting, planing on returning to the city am looking forward to my next stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Over rated for the price kind of ghetto

Posted Oct 25, 2017
I called a week ahead and asked if I could be checked in a little early because of our flight. They said no problem the day of the front desk worker said give us an hour or so we will call you, 5 hours later still nothing. They literally didn’t check us in until after 4 pm. On top of that the facilities are ghetto, it reaks of cheap Chinese food from the down stairs restaurant. It has more of a feeling of a Motel than a Hotel. The shower in the room was the smallest we have ever had and there was no fridge which was in the description when I booked it. The only decent thing about it was free breakfast and the gym with the sauna. Overall I would give it a 2.8 and would not reccamend staying there. For the money it’s worth spending a little more and staying at the Marriott or Westin.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Dump of a building in a good location

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing except the location
Cons: Tear it down and replace with a hotel that provides modern physical amenity (particularly bathroom and air conditioning) at true three star or above.
This is a run down building from the 1960s that would not be out of place in a b-grade movie. The 'continental' breakfast in the 'dining room' was more akin to being at a scout camp - and that is an insult to the scouts! The after hours entry is difficult to find, dirty and a bit scary. I know San Francisco is expensive, but this hotel presumably gets away with charging like wounded bull because of its location close to Polk St, the Fish Markets and Lombard St. On the positive side the room service and reception staff were polite and helpful. Would I stay again? Not for the price I paid. Would I recommend it? Not to business travellers. Backpackers or families on a budget might find it acceptable if they could share the cost of the room with a number of people. I did not need two queen size beds in my room!, but nothing else was on offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel next to my favorite steakhouse

Posted Oct 21, 2017
This is the second time I’ve stayed here this year. Very pleasant hotel. Very reasonably priced for a city that is so expensive. If you’re in town and looking for amazing cuts of steak! You need to go to Harris’ Steakhouse only a few blocks away!