Ratings based on 924 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County, California

hotel has so much potential

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Reasonably priced. location.
Cons: see note above -- interior spaces need help.
Location: we are very familiar with the area -- Polk Street is slowly being "cleaned" up....access to SF City Hall, Asian Museum, and courts is good.
We liked the location of the Embassy Hotel because of our need to be near returning buses to Sonoma County. The hotel is a good alternative to the overpriced other hotels of San Francisco but it is in great need of thoughtful interior design for the lobby (especially with the art deco features) and the public hallways. The rooms were what we expected. Hire a new interior person to freshen the public areas. Also, the 2nd floor seating area is underutilized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Budget Friendly Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and the beds comfortable.
Cons: The water pressure could have been a little better.
Location: Market Street is a close walk, as well as City Hall, the public library and downtown.
The Embassy is an older hotel, but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. If you're looking for the Four Seasons, this is not it. However, it was a reasonably priced hotel in San Francisco. It was clean and quiet, with comfortable beds and close to downtown and cable cars. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay and will be staying there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location is a bit scetch.

Posted May 19, 2017
While the lobby has been updated the hallways and rooms could use some love. But dodging the local element outside the hotel is scetch to say the least. If you need the comfort and security of a good hood think long and hard... The GIN pub in the corner was excellent!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Beds very uncomfortable need better beds.. parking to expensive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Case of good location outweighing the hotel bling

Posted Apr 28, 2017
A friend and I were visiting San Francisco for a long weekend and were looking for an affordable hotel that was clean and safe in a central location. Embassy Hotel is located downtown, has its own dated character, but don't expect your usual hotel amenities (i.e. complimentary breakfast, pool). Parking is not included but worth the $30/night stay for piece of mind of gated off street parking (allowed unlimited in/out). Staff were all very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel difficult to locate & not well kept.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Experience is horrible. Hotel back entrance is disgusting. Inexperienced staff; bed sheets and ironing boards have stains. I asked for a flat iron and the front desk staff who answered my call does not know what a flat iron is. He had to ask someone else to speak to me. Parking fee is $30 a night but the structure is like an abandoned lot that's located at the back of the hotel and a staff needs to open the gate for guest to go in and come out of the parking lot. It was raining so there were sand bags lined up by the back door. I had to lift my roll away to get to the lobby. It's now worth its nightly rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Clean. Friendly staff. A little tired looking but great value for money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shady area. Didn't seem very clean.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Stained furniture. Shower didn't drain well. You ended up standing in a puddle up to your ankles
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean room

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Understand this part of San Francisco is cheaper you may run into some not so great areas on the street. However for the price this hotel was good. Check in was easy, easy to find. Parking was safe and secure however the cost was 30.00 a night. The rooms could us some upgrading. It's a older hotel and not like to chain of Embassy's. In our room the room was clean but the furniture was older and over sized so it made the room look smaller. The closet was big (note to Hotel remove that wall and the room would be bigger)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels