Ratings based on 3,368 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great hotel to discover San Francisco

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Context: -Family of 3 (6yo child) -4 Days discoveringSF We arrived really early at the hotel (9 am) and the staff had a room ready for us. Great check-in experience: fast, friendly, great tips on SF. The room was all we needed: big enough, clean and quiet (for a street downtown). Hotel is perfectly located: 1 min from Dragon Gate, 5 min from Union Square, 15 min from Ferry Building. Overall extremely positive experience: great value hotel - super helpful and polite staff - nothing fancy just simple and clean which is sometimes hard to find nowadays. Conclusion: Will go again - This place has all you need to discover San Francisco !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, KS

Very Nice Stay at a Nice Old Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!!
Cons: WIFI bandwidth in the evenings.
Location: Near everything, within 2 miles of basically anything or the transportation to get there.
My son and I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and the only negative was that the WiFi was slow at times in the evenings. However, everything else about it was awesome. Great Staff including everyone, can't say enough nice things about them. The Breakfast was very good and part of our room rate. The location was near perfect for everything we wanted. The room size and accommodations was more than adequate. I have read several reviews on here and other sites of various complaints that quite frankly make me laugh after having the experience we did. I will be disappointed when we return if we can't get the same hotel again. Thanks to everyone in the staff for a great stay that made our vacation that much better!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback - happy you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and San Francisco. Our hotel team is always on site to assist! Hope we can host you again soon too. all the best, Bill Engelhardt General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Old timey feel of hotel, other than the newly remodeled lobby. AC was loud and kicked on every 2 minutes. Great location to everything though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Good location near union square

Posted May 26, 2017
Nice hotel near Union Square-nice staff - nice room- very good free breakfast"sausage and eggs" Paid about $160 a night which is great for San Fran
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted May 24, 2017
Comfortable and affordable. Decent amenities and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Conveniently located

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Checking in is sometimes slow.
Location: Restaurants: Roxanne's, Le café de la Presse, Le Central.
I always stay at this hotel when I go to San Francisco. It's conveniently located, at a walking distance to my meeting place. There are good restaurants nearby, and opportunities to walk (up and down) to interesting neighborhood. It can be crowded at times at the reception and in the lobby, but I enjoy the 5 o'clock wine degustation and the fireplace. I thought my coffee maker was not working, and when I mentioned it at the front desk, there was prompt action. I also like that they keep my luggage in a safe room after I checked out until I retrieve it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thanks Gabrielle for the great feedback, our hotel team is always here to assist. Sounds like you not only enjoy our hotel services but our location to some great Eateries nearby. Hope to host you again when you visit San Francisco! Best regards, Bill Engelhardt General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Short business stay

Posted May 22, 2017
Booked last minute online. Very closely located to affordable food and parking. Clean room, fast checkout. Needs more than one receptionist I had to wait 20 minutes to check in after working all day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Went with my wife for 4 days. Excellent choice. San Francisco is awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great star review! Appears you had a great visit to San Francisco too! Hope to see you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient downtown SFO location

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: location in downtown SFO; reasonable rate for SFO
Cons: the breakfast was modest at best and could easily be improved with some cereal, or an alternative to only scrambled eggs and less than great sausage
Courteous welcome, easy check-in/out; pleasant staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback - happy you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and San Francisco. Our hotel team is working with the restaurant to increase and provide a solid breakfast option for all patrons, its a bit new so sorry for the limited service. However with new members it has improved with your comments to add Cereal! all the best, Bill Engelhardt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted May 18, 2017
Spent 4 nights in this hotel with a toddler and had a perfectly fine stay. It was a good price in a good location near the streetcar and plenty of buses. Getting a car service out front was very easy since it's on a one way street. Room was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thanks Meg for the great feed back - happy you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and San Francisco! Sincerely, Bill Engelhardt General Manager