Ratings based on 4,876 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

It was about the journey

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Had a wonderful stay just what the doctor ordered
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Timeless Class!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The Fairmont San Francisco has such a storied past yet has all the modern amenities you need. I stayed there for my buddy's wedding and I fell in love with my room on the 21st floor that had a panoramic view of some of the best of San Francisco including the Bay Bridge and Coit Tower. The staff went above and beyond to make me feel special!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Very pricey but not many comforts

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Fairmont hotel for historic value is good but for a tourist to really enjoy there were little comforts . Example guests are discouraged to put anything in their fridge as its full to the brim with stuff and automatically detects charges you when something is touched or removed from it . The showers were ridiculously very slow . Reason given was drought yet when you go to public places water is flowing fine . Carpets in room need updating . Overall for comforts value I would say there is a lot to be desired
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share this review and are disappointed to hear that your stay didnt meet your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017
We had a fantastic weekend at the Fairmont. I was impressed with the ability to text the concierge and customer service for any needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and very clean. We paid a little more to have a city view, which was gorgeous. Reasons for not giving it a 5: I had to pay a daily fee for wifi. There were no robes in the room as expected. The hotel staff did bring them up at my request. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. Although on check in no information was given about the show that weekend at the Venetian room or the Tonga room. Definitely something we would have been interested in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Hotel has great views from Nob Hill

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: You could see the Golden Gate Bridge from the elevator lobby on the 22nd floor, and we had water city views from our room, which was great.
Cons: Just that perhaps they should inform guests if there will be a wedding taking place above them and give the option of moving rooms.
Location: Union square is about a 10-15 min walk, there are some restaurants also within walking distance.
Our overall stay was great. The only exception was that the night we checked (a Saturday night) there was a wedding held above our room, which had blaring loud music playing from 5:30pm (sound check) until midnight. I called down to the front desk and they were kind enough to provide earplugs - however, being 6 months pregnant, I really wanted to rest and it is already very difficult to sleep. This trip was supposed to be our relaxing babymoon. The location of the hotel was great, we had amazing views from our hotel room. And we were just 15 min walk downhill from Union Square. We took Uber back to the hotel as I didn't want to walk up the massive hills. There were some nice restaurants within 10-15 minute walk from our hotel and we also had room service one night which was quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful, elegant. vintage hotel.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
This a grand hotel. First class in every way. The only disappointment was the Tonga Room was closed for a private event.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was nice until the end

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Housekeeping staff decided to walk right in WITHOUT knocking and open the door even I was yelling not to as I was stark naked !!!!!!!! After I get dress I’ve ask the housekeeper outside and she of course deny it!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for this recent experience. This is not the experience we wish for our guests. Your feedback has been shared with our entire Housekeeping team and we will use this as a teaching moment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lima Peru

Ni e hotel ay Nob Hill

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Staff was real y nice, Tonga restaurant great. Business center was ugly; I found a sándwich, napkins on the floor, the computers dirty, a towel on the drawer; ir was awful. The breakfast was not worth it. The re was no jam, Almost no fresh fruit, just melon, strawberries and cranberries. At diner in that same restaurant I asked for a salad with chicken; the y forgot the dressing and the chicken. The gym is nothing yo talk about. Sorry to say but this hotel doesn't deserve the five stars it has.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review of you recent experience. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team and we are going to inspect the business center right away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Old fashioned hotel at top of steep hill

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The comfortable room, with walk in wardrobe and coffee making facilities. The spacious lobby and the smart shops. The doormen and the concierge.
Cons: The windows certainly need cleaning and the wifi charge should be dropped. The restaurant needs a more refined menu and more efficient service.
Location: The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill. We walked down to Fisherman's Wharf and got the cable car back. We also walked down to Union Square .
The room was comfortable and had quite a good view, but the windows were filthy. There was a charge for wifi throughout the hotel, so we had to resort to cafés and restaurants to check our emails. The restaurant was more like a lounge. The menu was not haute cuisine, and the service was slow. The concierge was helpful, arranging the shuttle to the airport for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share these comments. Please note that Fairmont President's Club members receive complimentary wifi and that we offer complimentary wifi in the Lobby and Caffe Cento. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.