Ratings based on 4,819 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Atop Beautiful Nob Hill

Posted Sep 21, 2017
While we had an interior view room, there are so many great views from everywhere you go around near the hotel. The breakfasts were fresh and well prepared. Our room was well appointed, spotlessly clean, with up to date bathroom appointments. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Very beautiful and luxury hotel. The location is great! The room was clean and comfortable. All thoughts everything is very expensive. We came with a car and parked it in the hotel parking. Than we found out it will cost us 70 dollars for each night! So we decided to park it in the next parking garage. exept this, everything was perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Scrimping on the little things

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Its a nice hotel but the rooms are fairly dated. For the price you pay they really scrimped on the little things. For example including a $6 delivery charge for room service and then an additional fee for the internet. I don't like when hotels charge such a high price for a room then expect to get away with being cheap on the little things as well. I wouldn't be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Paid $500 for a room, but I can't even get in to the Tonga Room. Despite showing the employee my room key, she gave me the, "Unfortunately..." speech. Come to find out people who say in the hotel get to skip the long line to the Tonga Room per front desk service employee. Very disappointed with this establishment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for your recent experience at Tonga Room and Fairmont Hotel. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team and will be used as a learning moment. Guest of the hotel can reserve tables at Tonga Room, although a line may still occur if we are busy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Although we had to pay top dollar due to high occupancy, our room was wonderful !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles CA

Great location with terrific view from upper floor

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We had a great time, lucky us, perfect weather. Can't take for granted in San Francisco. Hotel was great, the stuff is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything about the hotel was exceptional

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Marvelous Architecture / Historic hotel, Great staff that know the true value of customer service special mention for reception and the restaurant first class service with organic products.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 Stars

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Excellent hotel and close to Union Square. Nice restaurants and hotel staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with history. Not exactly city view.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Luxury.
Cons: Remove false room picture advertising city view.
Location: The view lounge bar.
The hotel surprised me with its long history and gorgeousness. Flags hanging above the door are impressive. Great location at top of hill. Luxury lobby. However, I booked a room with city view, but I got a room with narrow view for what they called rooftop garden, which is not what I paid the room for. I believe they don't have a great city view based on the height of the building. Misleading ads picture of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great staff. Lots of history. Highly recommended