Ratings based on 4,816 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Scrimping on the little things

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Its a nice hotel but the rooms are fairly dated. For the price you pay they really scrimped on the little things. For example including a $6 delivery charge for room service and then an additional fee for the internet. I don't like when hotels charge such a high price for a room then expect to get away with being cheap on the little things as well. I wouldn't be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Paid $500 for a room, but I can't even get in to the Tonga Room. Despite showing the employee my room key, she gave me the, "Unfortunately..." speech. Come to find out people who say in the hotel get to skip the long line to the Tonga Room per front desk service employee. Very disappointed with this establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Although we had to pay top dollar due to high occupancy, our room was wonderful !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles CA

Great location with terrific view from upper floor

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We had a great time, lucky us, perfect weather. Can't take for granted in San Francisco. Hotel was great, the stuff is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything about the hotel was exceptional

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Marvelous Architecture / Historic hotel, Great staff that know the true value of customer service special mention for reception and the restaurant first class service with organic products.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 Stars

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Excellent hotel and close to Union Square. Nice restaurants and hotel staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with history. Not exactly city view.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Luxury.
Cons: Remove false room picture advertising city view.
Location: The view lounge bar.
The hotel surprised me with its long history and gorgeousness. Flags hanging above the door are impressive. Great location at top of hill. Luxury lobby. However, I booked a room with city view, but I got a room with narrow view for what they called rooftop garden, which is not what I paid the room for. I believe they don't have a great city view based on the height of the building. Misleading ads picture of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great staff. Lots of history. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Salvador, El Salvador.

Hotel is very good.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
The hotel is good, a little old but still good. Would be better if they had a pool and better pillows. Location is great, parking is charged by the Hotel and it's way too expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Amazing experience at San Francisco Class Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Beautiful surroundings and amazing staff. Five star!
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Everything is at your fingertips!
I was so happy to get such a deal through Expedia for this amazing hotel. Views and amazing hotel amenities. We will be back!