Ratings based on 4,416 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful night at the Fairmont

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Stayed one night, wish it could've been longer! The Christmas decor was stunning! Everything was perfect, the service, our room, the dining! Can't wait to stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Christmas shopping in SF stayed at Fairmont

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Exceptional property, grounds, Christmas decorations and gingerbread house incredible.
Cons: Hotel staff at front desk
Location: Best location in San Fran
Exceptional property, grounds, Christmas decorations and gingerbread house incredible. Everything was excellent about our stay except my flight was delayed and I asked for a late check out. Staff was curt and terse almost rude that I even asked. Gave me 1 hour extra and they stated I would have to pay 1/2 FULL room rate if I stayed one minute over. Entire trip felt deflated after this episode. Note: this was during the middle of the week and empty hotel...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you found hotel so beautiful and enjoyed the holiday decor. I am sorry for your experience with the front desk staff, as that is not indicative of the level of service we aim to provide. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Classic SF Great place to be looked after in style

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Old school quality and service
Cons: The overnight parking was a bit expensive, but, hey, it's San Francisco
Location: Everything in SF is right there or not far away.
The staff we helpful, courteous and could not have been better. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Room service was prompt and not outrageous for the type of hotel. The Tonga room was fun and the quintessential tiki bar with excellent cocktails and buffet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roswell, United States of America

Couldn't be better.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Easy to walk to different shopping centers and restaurants. Easy on the way there, get prepared for climbing a hill if walking back to the Hotel.
It's a Fairmont, it keeps the quality and the high standards. Rooms are nice, very clean and amenities are excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We're pleased to hear you had such a nice stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old Time elegance

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: elegant comfortable
Location: right in the heart of the city lovely
Lovely Stepping back to a nice time elegant nice staff made me feel comfortable not stuffy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We're pleased you were able to join us during the holidays and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Grand Hotel with Tradition

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Lobby rich wood and marble interior. History of the Fairmont. Decorations and with the exception of the Lobby Champagne Station - the staff.
Cons: Lobby Champagne Station. Tonga Room Food was terrible. Tour bus brought non guests to hotel to look at lobby...
Location: Grace Cathedral was beautiful. The labyrinth's were fun. If you are careful to avoid dog droppings the park right across the street is great.
Positives - Excellent staff with several going out of their way to make you feel appreciated. Ginger bread House and Christmas tree set up in lobby were phenomenal. The room was nicely appointed and very comfortable. Tonga Room - there was a great band and wonderful old time ambiance. The History was well outlined in the halls, including menus and prices of yesteryear which was really fun. Nearby Grace Cathedral is a must see! Negatives - We had great service but really bad food in the Tonga Room. Very bland. Also, unlike yesteryear, a bunch of under dressed folks were just standing and drinking on the dance floor. My wife and I danced once, and then gave up. What is wrong with young guys, some women obviously wanted to dance...... Lobby champagne service Saturday Morning turned us away, and another 50 people we saw... "Opens at 10am!" Don't be there at 9:30 if you don't open until 10am. Bad service and a good deal of lost revenue for the Fairmont at $20 per glass.Unfortunately, the lobby was usually filled with non-guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great stay overall in spite of some services challenges you experienced. The holidays are a special time at the hotel and it sounds like you agreed. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Elegant, clean, classy, stunning! My favorite.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
My favorite place to be!! Service is great, place is amazing especially around the holidays!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. As you mentioned the holidays are a very special time at the hotel and it sounds like you agree! Thanks again and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Lucas
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautifully restored hotel!

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Location! The workout you get to return from dining, shopping, etc. Love it!
Cons: the smell of the room and clear notice about the parking fee.
Location: everything within the reach!
I will start with positive notes; the front desk staff is amazing! Chelsea, who greeted me and patiently showed me the room options, was exceptional. Brittany, one of the front desk managers, displayed the level of professional aptitude worth acknowledgment. I happily checked in to the upgraded room, that had great city view and nice fresh air breeze. Before I retired I closed the window for the night, and after a while I woke up realized that the room had a strong odor of the cigarettes. Having a strong allergy to tobacco I always request a non smoking room. Needless to say, I had miserable nigh despite Benadryl that didn't help fully. I woke up congested, puffy, and not too happy. I was promised twice to have an ionizer brought to the room, and it didn't happen. After complaining and a tantrum, Brittany saved the day, she assisted me with moving to a beautiful suite, where a bottle of wine and a fruit basket awaited. Slept like a baby finally! I was still charged for the first night upgrade. Parking is very expensive in SF, and you will not be informed about $72 nightly parking fee, unless you ask, I was told that the notice is printed on the back of the ticket, does anyone look at that, seriously? Besides, I lost my ticked before I even checked in, as I always do...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It sounds like while you had a nice stay overall you did experience some challenges as well. I'm pleased you found the hotel's location so well-suited to your needs and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Visalia, CA

Perfect location and beautiful!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The staff was excellent and everyone treated us royally. The hotel is elegant, peaceful and relaxing. I wish our schedule would have allowed us to stay longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased you had such a nice stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great stay!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Great hotel, comfortable and accommodating of my early check-in time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We're pleased to hear you had such a nice stay and we were able to check you in early. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.