Ratings based on 3,864 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Excellent View, Hotel staff is amazing!

Posted Jan 14, 2018
What an excellent view from the 21st floor@ Our experience at the Fairmont was fantastic. We had excellent customer service provided from the staff at the Fairmont. We love the history of the hotel that we were able to experience when walking the hall to and from our room! while we were there we seen a wedding Reception, it looked fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Elegant hotel, friendly staff, great location

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Everything!
Cons: It is not inexpensive, however a wonderful splurge/treat if you can afford it.
Location: Fisherman's wharf, Union square, many great restaurants nearby.
We stayed right at the end of the holiday season. The lobby was magical with it's full sized gingerbread house, giant decorated tree and other decorations. The front desk was great, and able to get us into our room early as we had arrived before noon. The room was fantastic with a view out two sides, comfortable beds and nice amenities. The rooftop garden was wonderful day and night as the trees were lit up with Christmas lights and there were comfortable sitting areas with nicely cushioned chairs. The location on Nob Hill was perfect. The cable car stops were right outside of the door, and made getting to Union square or Fisherman's wharf equally easy. I wish I could have stayed longer!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
High volume hotel so fairly loud hallways and noise between rooms. Otherwise fine. Staff was delightful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel running on past glory

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Probably the only 5 star hotel that charges you for everything - gym $15 per day per person, internet $24 per day, charge for water bottle, no snacks with coffee/tea. Rude bar tenders at Tonga bar. The hotel has history and good location - beyond that I struggle to see how it can compete with other hotels such as Four seasons, intercontinental or palace hotel which provide very high quality services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose Ca

Convient to restaurants and Grace Cathedral.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The beauty of it. You walk in and it makes you feel like you are in a special place which after our stay we agree it’s very special.
Cons: I really can’t find anything and I usually can complain but not about this hotel.
Location: We love going to the Huntington Park, Grace Cathedral and taking taxi down to the waterfront. We like this area it’s not so congested .
We love this hotel. We came for my birthday and was surprised to get a knock at our door and received a balloon and a card to receive a free dessert at the LC restaurant. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is very professional and friendly. We will be back and I have text pictures to my friends and they want to come here. We live in San Jose so we will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

One of the best

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The Fairmont is one of the best and most iconic hotels in SFO. Outstanding property and staff. Everyone was nice and the elegance of the hotel is 5 stars. Location and access is superb. We were there for Christmas and it was magical. We will certainly be back. The only draw back is the hotels food. 1 star at best but that’s not why you’re there. The Nob Hill area and China Town give you plenty of options. Don’t do any meals at the Fairmont. When I asked around - everyone seems to know it. The cab drivers and the other local restaurants all laugh about it. Again. Don’t let the poor food at the Fairmont hold you back. It’s one of the best properties anywhere in the world and well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Beautiful hotel. Great staff. Convenient location right at a Cable Car stop. Overnight parking is $72, so be prepared for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Our stay was fabulous. Beautifully located. Very special experience for such a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from puerto rico

Luxury

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Beautiful views, great location, top service and facilities, excellent overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay area

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: There at Christmas time . Staff was friendly. Loved the hustle and bustle of the crowds in lobby area. Beautifully decorated.
Cons: I was happy as is.
Location: San Francisco has so much to offer. Grace Cathedral, fine restaurants, shows, symphony,, cable cars, easy to get around with taxi or Uber.
Best sleep I have had in years. Bed was very comfortable.