Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Wonderful hotel and close to everything!

Posted Jun 4, 2016
One word sums up this hotel, Exquisite!!!!! The true definition of 5 star in every since of the word.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

The absolute best hotel ive ever stayed.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
This hotel is not only five stars for the building and rooms but for the wonderful team they have that consistently exceeds expectations from Chris at guest checkin to the wonderful ladies that service the rooms. This is a place that pays attention to the details of there guest and i can assure you we were never ever dissappointed! If you stay here you will truly understand fove star service, and the hotel is in a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from expectations

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location was central--a block and a half to Westfield's Mall or SF MOMA.
Cons: Check out the Ritz for superb customer service.
Our room was spacious, with a large bay window and settee overlooking Market Street. The hotel seems to have been constructed in 2000+, so the room amenities are newer. Carpet was discolored. No free coffee. Bed was a bit soft. The bathroom was expansive and functional; I did observe some shoddy workmanship on the tiles. Water pressure was good, but no bath gels. Robes and slippers were nice. Wife didn't like the back alley hotel entrance, and the two-stage elevator ride to lobby then to room. We did have breakfast at the restaurant and the staff, food, and ambiance were quite good. Customer service and interaction with staff in general were so-so. Did not try the Equinox sports club. So overall, we were left wanting. Yes, we might have gotten the more pedestrian rooms but still--you don't want your customers to think about St Regis (for next time) around the block.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need renovation / Spa awful

Posted May 12, 2016
The hotel needs to be renovated. The spa is inside an open to the public gym and it is in awful conditions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Weekend

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: I can not think of anything
Cons: Improve Management
Location: shopping
This is the worst Four Seasons Experience I have had in my life, I will never stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 for 2

Posted May 8, 2016
Second time staying here. It's perfect. The staff is incredibly helpful and accommodating—from front desk to concierge to housekeeping. The beds are luxuriously comfortable. Breakfast in the room was well-prepared and delivered fresh and hot. We were on a high floor and the city views are thrilling. Every hotel should be what this place is. I will never stay anywhere else in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
This is an amazing hotel in downtown San Fransisco.
5 out of 5
by David from San francisco

Great location downtown sf

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great service on my wife's birthday. Flowers and balloons in the room. Only let down a little by the parking valets who are disorganized
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Bay, California

Fantastic Service, Fantastic Location

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Location, service.
Cons: Quality of the rooms, noise level, value.
Location: Metreon, Ferry Building, Museums, Convention Center, Shopping, Excellent Restaurants.
The service and the location set this hotel apart. We have stayed at several Four Seasons properties in the past, and we appreciate the top-notch service provided by the staff. We were not disappointed by the SF property, at least when it comes to service. Check-in was a breeze, thanks to NaNa, who provided us with some suggestions for our stay. Service requests for extra pillows and room service were handled expertly. The location could not be better. You have quick access to a bunch of great restaurants nearby, along with the Metreon (if you want to see a movie), the convention center, and several museums. The Embarcadero and the Ferry Building are minutes away via Muni. Our only quibble with the hotel was the quality of the rooms and the decor. The rooms and public spaces felt dated. I am not sure if they have been updated since the hotel opened back in 2001. There was really nothing special about the rooms. They were clean, and functional, but not really true to the Four Seasons brand. They did not feel particularly luxurious or stylish. Also, we could hear quite a bit of noise from the hallway as well as the floor above us. Overall, the location and service set this hotel apart from the others in San Francisco. However, we were disappointed by the the ho-hum quality of the rooms. They do not support the $400-$500/night room rate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Z

The best amenities in a hotel by far.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
I visit San Francisco with my wife frequently and the Four Season has become our expectation of a standard vacation.