Ratings based on 1,921 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Poor breakfast !! Small rooms , the rooms needs upgrade !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shasta Lake, Ca.

Great staff

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Clean, large room, every thing worked great.
Cons: nothing
Location: Very easy to get anywhere from this location.
The front desk employee Amy was so nice and helpful, she checked with manager Marco who also was amazing. They worked well together and helped us out greatly. We will return as soon as we can to stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, Ca.

Only good thing was close to every thing

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Very small room, bathroom was bigger then room. Very uncomfortable bed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good parking

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: convenience
Cons: needs updating
Location: fisherman's wharf
noisiest place I've ever been. the walls and floors were evidently paper thin.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Racist/Sexist Clerk / Unseen Charges

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: There was nothing special about this hotel, except Amy, who was a wonderful front desk clerk (unlike the morning guy).
Cons: Less racism, please. I went out of my way to be an easy guest. I don't want a parade; I just want a modicum of respect from the morning staff.
Location: It's on Lombard street. If you don't mind sweatin' a little, it's in walking distance of Fisherman's Warf.
Sadly, I complained to the hotel about my recent experience but received no response. I wasn't going to publicly scorn them, but because they haven't contacted me, I will go ahead and post this review. I recently stayed at Francisco Bay inn with my three friends. I am a white man. They are Asian ladies. There was nothing romantic going on; I slept on the floor (not that that should matter). I have fifteen years of experience working in hotels.  I always try to be a good guest.  * I am polite, respectful, and cordial. * I tipped the amazing front desk girl, Amy, who was very helpful. * I tipped the housekeepers. * I didn't ask for service on the first day.  I only wanted towels, cups, and the trash removed. * At checkout, I stripped to room for the housekeepers.  I had all the sheets and towels and trash ready.  I removed all of the half-used soaps and lotions from the shower.  I feel that I was an easy customer.   Having already paid through Expedia, I asked the morning clerk (an Asian guy) if there were going to be any additional charges.  He said no.  Yet, a few minutes ago, I checked my credit card statement to find that they charged me an extra $25. Worse, when I asked the morning clerk where the CVS was, he stoically pointed in a direction and said, "Seven blocks that way." But when my beautiful Asian companion came down later and asked the same question, he pointed in the other direction and said, "Four blocks that way." He was all smiles with her.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arvin Ca.

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, nice and very polite staff!!!,
Location: We walk to the marina, the Palace of fine arts, presidio park, Lombard street.
Nice for us, we can make walks to every place we want to go!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico CA

15 minute walk to the waterfront!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: inexpensive and centrally located on groovy lombard street.
Cons: nothin fancy - really old furnishings... keeps the price right i guess
Location: real close to the waterfront. subtract the cost of parking from your visit to fisherman's wharf!
right on hwy 101 makes it central to anywhere you want to go in SF, and a 15 minute walk to the waterfront too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great room, nice staff.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The room amenities were top notch with a microwave and fridge with plug in's for our phones right there. nice big TV and a lot of cable channels.
Cons: none
Location: It's San Francisco, there's a lot to do.
We have made this our go to Inn for the San Francisco area. Coffee and Hot Chocolate all day and night, Breakfast pastries in the morning. Free parking which is a big deal in Frisco. Close to Fort Mason and the beach. Affordable and professional is how I would describe the Frisco Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, SA

Walking distance to Fishermans Wharf

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Tidy hotel and walking distance to Fishermans Wharf. TV didn't work and if we wanted it fixed, we had to call the cable company ourselves. If you are staying in San Fran for 3 nights or less it's not a bad place for the price. We would stay again if we were to return to San Adrian for a short stay. If you are staying for longer, perhaps look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

It was okay.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
It was just that. OKAY. My boyfriend and I stayed there only one night. Our room was literally right next to the front desk which wasnt too bad. The front desk persons were very nice and helpful both at night when we checked in and in the a.m. checkout. The breakfast was only doughnuts and instant coffee but I stashed some danishes for the car ride. We were close to Fishermans Wharf. Took an Uber there for dinner. Close to the intersection of Hyde street and Lombard where the 8 hairpin turns are. Negatives: The room smelled very musty and the odor did not dissipate. Bathroom was a tad scary (we decided to not shower there). Obviously we were right next to the main road and it is very noises at night. It was just uncomfortable. If you have the extra money to stay at a nicer hotel I would recommend doing that.