Ratings based on 1,962 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: Better selection at free breakfast
Nice clean hotel, close to transportation and restaurants. staff very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stinky bathroom

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Initial smell when I opened the room was stinky bathroom & the smell intensified the whole stay. Really no good restaurants near within walking distance. My husband left our camera in room & we called the next day to ask about the camera & housekeeping said they didn't find it, aka, they pocketed it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Free parking close to everything very convenient.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Overall decent place if you don't plan to stay in room much. Small rooms but fit our needs for a quick overnight trip. Had plumbing issues but staff friendly and offered discount for issue. Very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The location. It was near everything I wanted to do/see. The breakfast pastries were delicious.
Location: This hotel is within walking distance to the Fort Mason area, the bay, and beautiful neighborhoods to explore.
I visited San Francisco over the weekend to check out a grad school program. The hotel was very efficient and near some picturesque points of interest in a charming neighborhood. The hotel staff was pleasant and the room was very clean. My room was positioned at a busy intersection. However, the hotel thoughtfully accounted for the noise pollution by including several sets of earplugs on the night stand. Using the earplugs I had no trouble sleeping. But, if you are a particularly sensitive sleeper I would mind this fact before booking here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cordova, CA

All you need: Convenient location: Comfortable

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great staff: FREE PARKING: 2 beds is all my kids and I needed for a weekend stay. Clean room / bathroom, shower flows great: Fridge nice size for a small room: Breakfast VERY continental: Microwave didn't work, but staff was very accommodating. Thanks for a great stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Poor breakfast !! Small rooms , the rooms needs upgrade !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shasta Lake, Ca.

Great staff

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Clean, large room, every thing worked great.
Cons: nothing
Location: Very easy to get anywhere from this location.
The front desk employee Amy was so nice and helpful, she checked with manager Marco who also was amazing. They worked well together and helped us out greatly. We will return as soon as we can to stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, Ca.

Only good thing was close to every thing

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Very small room, bathroom was bigger then room. Very uncomfortable bed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good parking

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: convenience
Cons: needs updating
Location: fisherman's wharf
noisiest place I've ever been. the walls and floors were evidently paper thin.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Racist/Sexist Clerk / Unseen Charges

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: There was nothing special about this hotel, except Amy, who was a wonderful front desk clerk (unlike the morning guy).
Cons: Less racism, please. I went out of my way to be an easy guest. I don't want a parade; I just want a modicum of respect from the morning staff.
Location: It's on Lombard street. If you don't mind sweatin' a little, it's in walking distance of Fisherman's Warf.
Sadly, I complained to the hotel about my recent experience but received no response. I wasn't going to publicly scorn them, but because they haven't contacted me, I will go ahead and post this review. I recently stayed at Francisco Bay inn with my three friends. I am a white man. They are Asian ladies. There was nothing romantic going on; I slept on the floor (not that that should matter). I have fifteen years of experience working in hotels.  I always try to be a good guest.  * I am polite, respectful, and cordial. * I tipped the amazing front desk girl, Amy, who was very helpful. * I tipped the housekeepers. * I didn't ask for service on the first day.  I only wanted towels, cups, and the trash removed. * At checkout, I stripped to room for the housekeepers.  I had all the sheets and towels and trash ready.  I removed all of the half-used soaps and lotions from the shower.  I feel that I was an easy customer.   Having already paid through Expedia, I asked the morning clerk (an Asian guy) if there were going to be any additional charges.  He said no.  Yet, a few minutes ago, I checked my credit card statement to find that they charged me an extra $25. Worse, when I asked the morning clerk where the CVS was, he stoically pointed in a direction and said, "Seven blocks that way." But when my beautiful Asian companion came down later and asked the same question, he pointed in the other direction and said, "Four blocks that way." He was all smiles with her.