Ratings based on 1,874 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice hotel. Walking distance to Fishermans Wharf.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nice clean hotel Lobby clerks excellent and helpful. Free parking. Parking is $6 to $10 an hour on wharf. Shower water only warm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from No. California

Don't waste your time or money...

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Outside appeared to be neat and clean
Cons: Everything
Location: Location right on Lombard is close to everything
First of all we confirmed a "superior king" room via internet. When we arrives at 3:20 pm (check in noted as 3:00) we were told no king rooms left. Happy Valentines Day to us. Furthermore they were putting us in the backside section of the hotel because it was quieter. Ha! First clue of that misinformation was the four sets of ear plugs setting on the nightstand. The room reaked of mildew. Turning on the air only made it worse. Needless to say we will not be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Good economical place close to wharf

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Close to attraction
Cons: Not much
Location: Close to wharf
Not great but fit our needs. Was close to busy street, a bit noisy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

The worst hotel I have ever stayed.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything.
Parking lots were too small. There was one foot between the parked cars. I worried all the time about my car. There were cars of the neighboring dental office that blocked the parked cars and you had to call them and have their vehicles moved before you get out of the park in the morning. The blankets were thin and the bed sheets were small. The breakfast was horrible. Only a few donuts that is all. Even there was no bread, butter and jelly. The television in the room was old and the cable did not work so we could not watch tv in the first day. The second day somebody came and mended it. Noise was coming from everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I only stayed one night, it was decent over all. The bathroom was bigger than I expected and very clean. The bed is not that great, the springs in the mattress stab you and get stuck. The parking kind of sucks, I parked on the backside so that I didn't have to give them my keys, because they double park in the front. Probably don't stay here if you are a very light sleeper because people were running down the halls and being super loud all night. Over all, it was pretty decent. The guy at the front desk was very chill and inviting, he also had a great sense of humor which doesn't hurt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Great location, Overall good stay

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The hotel room itself was clean and decent sized for the price you pay. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee station. The bathroom was very spacious, clean and the shower was good! Staff were so so friendly too. Location was amazing, walking distance to the Wharf if you're a fairly active person. Away from all the homelessness, right next to the most expensive living areas in SF. There was also a Safeway and small grocery right near buy for any late night snacks. The noise was not a problem for us - but for some people it may be. Every now and again you do hear a car horn - but remember you're staying on a busy street. It's what we expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Staff Makes All the Difference

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Everything. Perfect. If you get a room facing Lombard Street and the bay, you'll get a great sunset view.
Location: Lombard has many great places to eat. The same with Union Street.
The phones weren't working when I stayed at the Francisco Bay Inn. Their charming front desk person, Amy, let me use their cell phone to make some important calls. That is going above and beyond. That is class. That is style. That gives you an idea of what to expect when you stay at the Francisco Bay Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, Ca

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Hotel staff were very helpful providing attraction information. Emmy took her time drawing maps for us to follow to be able to reach the closest public transportation. She also suggested the Big Bus Red Line, that we end up choosing. It was very convenient to be driven around town without the hassle of having to look for parking or paying for it, we were able to get off the bus where we wanted and get back on it to continue the trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pune

Experience in Francisco Bay Inn

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Free parking, location being close to Fishermasn Wharf
Cons: Breakfast arrangement and menu
The hotel is reasonable but the rooms are not spacious. There is hardly any space even to keep a suitcase in suitable position. The breakfast is served in the hotel lounge which is too small to accommodate even a few people. As a result one has to carry the food materials in his/her room. Also the breakfast menu is restricted to donuts and similar stuff; basic items like cereals, fruits were not served during I stayed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland , Australia

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Checked in with friends, went upsatairs, their room smelt really bad. Went downstairs, guy on desk not impressed we complained and asked if we used the room and what we wanted him to do! Each time we were at reception felt like we were an inconvenience for him.