Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Room was neat and clean. I recommend asking for a room on the backside away from traffic noise. Fire department right across street. Heard sirens a few times during the night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Good location, clean rooms

Posted Oct 23, 2016
I thought that my stay here at Gateway Inn was pretty decent. It was pretty quiet and I didn't hear much of the traffic considering my room was right next to El Camino Real. My room also had high ceilings, which made the room feel bigger. It was pretty clean and did not have any unusual smells. The room amenities were pretty basic. They had an old microwave, fridge and coffeemaker. The bed was not very soft, but it is comfortable enough to get a decent sleep. The bathroom only had a few towels and basics (shampoo, conditioner, soap, shower cap). The.location is excellent, there are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. It is also minutes away from the airport. I believe that they have a shuttle service there bringing people to SFO. I didn't like their parking garage much because the spaces are pretty small.. and I drive a civic. Oh well, at least parking is free. Overall, I still like this hotel. I think that it's a good place to stay at in a short period of time. May not be the fanciest, but it does give you the basic things that you need.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing at this time

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Proximity to airport and transportation to and from airport to hotel
Cons: Location of hotel in the neighborhood, nothing to do or places to go with transportation
Location: Nothing hardly for someone without a car
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
客室は広くて快適だった、お湯の出も良い 周辺の店は少ないが徒歩圏内に二三件あり 飛行機の音はそれほど気にならなかった
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Convenient but needs facelift

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: The location was close to the airport.
Beds were comfy, but room needs a lot of TLC. Bathrooms not very clean, mold was observed. Had an ADA room, toilet was the correct height, but the grab bars were literally coming out of the wall, not stable at all. The gathering area on our floor was an accident waiting to happen. The area rug edges were curling up, waiting for someone to trip. The wicker chair seats were rotten and broken. Many were so holy you would fall through if you sat down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport with free shuttle.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel is close to the San Francisco International Airport with free shuttle service between them.
Cons: This is a minimal amenities hotel and the shut EVERYTHING down practice when the desk clerk has to be away from the desk is not good.
Only one person on staff at 7:30 am. Tried to use the elevator to go down to the lobby but it did not work, so I used the emergency exit that put me onto the street, outside a one-way door. Walked around to the front door but it was closed and locked, with no one inside at the desk. There was a note on the door advising people to use the garage entrance, as another guest was being assisted inside. Went around to that entrance and found no access at the bulletproof "ticket window". By the time I went back to the front, the door was open and all was back to normal. Very bizarre experience at a hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Don't go

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Had to sit in lobby until 3 pm before they would give us room. Room was dirty, bath was filthy, black mold on shower curtain for 4 days. Street side room so noisy no sleep four days. Would not move us to another room. Stunk like incense in halls. Would never go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gateway is ok.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Decor was old but place was clean and bed was comfortable. Amenities could be better and cable selection was limited. They did have Kohler bathroom fixtures.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL


Posted Sep 10, 2016
No coffee or water or breakfast provided - for the price I paid; something should be available