Ratings based on 1,300 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint

Posted Mar 22, 2017
It's a nice hotel that tries to be good for the environment. Because of this there was no air conditioning which is okay except that the fan would turn off in the middle of the night because you weren't moving. Mold was on the windows. The hall had stains. The bed was nice and the location is not terrible during the day at least.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Location for gay night life

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Selected hotel for location to gaynight life. Did not like that our room was in front of parking spaces. Staff was great. Asked for extra pillows and towels without issues. Hotel room did have air conditioning which many do not in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome place. Definitely recommend to anyone!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Receptionist was super nice. Helped us with settling in well. Rooms are very clean. Neighborhood has couple of homeless people but that really wasn't any problem. Very friendly staff. Nice hotel!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Convenient locations.
Cons: Carpets.
It would have been good to at least have been informed that we could breakfast across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Very good inexpensive option for San Francisco

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Be aware of your surroundings. Very close to shopping and theaters.
I stay in SF hotels at least twice a month. And I'm always looking for inexpensive options. This place is basic but safe and clean and kind-of design friendly. You do need to be aware that the neighborhood can be considered gross -- lots of homeless -- but there are also some really good restaurants (Fenix/Cova) within steps and you are a few blocks from the main cable car line/Union Square. Bus/Bart not far. Parking fee at hotel reasonable for SF. Free tea/coffee in room and in lobby in the morning. Free/good wifi. Tiny/tiny! bath in room with shower. Very good cable tv. Best perk -- just across from the Federal Building where I could easily participate in an anti-Trump rally.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Has the essentials but nothing special. Tiny shower and soap dispensers didn't work. Bed was clean but uncomfortable. Hotel was pretty open for anyone to wander in. I'd recommend it as it is what you pay for in the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Hotel in a challenging part of town

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The location is good for access.
Cons: Soundproofing and better equipped rooms.
The location is great for access to downtown (10 minutes walk) but it's on the "wrong" side of Market and probably in the place with the highest density of homeless in the city. I was put in the motel side of the hotel and was on the ground floor. The walls are thin, and the ceilings are not soundproofed. I had to use ear plugs every night to reduce the noise of my neighbours and on at least one night, the people on the street outside my bathroom window. Perhaps the main hotel is better but this is what I got for CDN $200/night for one week. Inside the room there was not a proper desk which made the work I needed to do difficult. The room heater and cooler was difficult to set and was turned off by the staff every day so the room was cold when I entered. I sometimes felt uncomfortable walking back at night and when out running and I would definitely not recommend this location to a single woman. I had limited interactions with the staff but they were pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff, but rooms are not so nice

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and proximity to Moscone Center (10 minute walk).
Cons: Ventilation and access to power outlets.
I stayed here because the location and price were right for a nearby conference. The staff were very supportive and responded right away when I have them a heads-up about my late arrival due to flight delays. I was given one of the rooms in the two-level courtyard section which felt a bit dingy, for lack of a better word, probably because of inadequate ventilation and the relatively frequent rain. My towels never dried on their own, for instance. The shower didn't drain properly but they hopefully took care of it after I mentioned it when checking out. Some more easily accessible power plugs would have been greatly appreciated. Thankfully, the hotel location was relatively quiet considering its proximity to busy streets. That being said, I still needed to use an online white noise generator to drown out the noises coming from other rooms through the very thin walls. I found the bed comfortable enough and, considering how little time I spent in the room, I would stay here again simply because it's one of the cheaper options and the staff were so friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great location for bus transportation. Walking distance to shopping, eating, theater. Pleasant friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel in the art district

Posted Dec 8, 2016
i got there pretty late and they took care of everything really fast. its a decidedly german aesthetic. the coolest things were the mini parking lot off the street and the fact you could rent bikes