Ratings based on 2,753 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 21, 2018
The Grant was centrally located , close to union square, Hop on buses and many restaurants. Everything was comfortable and clean . I'ld recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Good hotel to stay in the city good location parking garage right across the street which was convinent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Hotel was convenient around downtown. Customer service was okay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Good hotel to sleep when you travel alone

Posted Feb 14, 2018
The hotel is okay and for the price a good value. They couldn’t get me a room with double beds though I stayed there for four nights. The building is old with renovated bathrooms. Parking is about 30/- a day which is a good price for SFO. The electricals are old and the hot/cold water faucets didn’t work well. It’s close to a lot of places you want to visit and is steps away from the trolley stops. Staff was friendly and the continental breakfast is a good start for the day. The room is cozy and comfortable but no a/c if you are her during the hot summers. Overall good value for money but definitely not a family friendly place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Good for price hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Hotel is pretty basic. There are soap dispensers not little hotel goodies. Breakfast is muffins and tea. Parking $30 a day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Good basic room in excellent location

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Please do not expect anything flash, for the price (in San Fransisco) this is in an amazing location, a shorts walk to union square (5mins) and a 1 minute walk to where you can hop on the old school tram. The room is quite basic with no fridge, no air conditioning, but includes bed, shower and toilet in washroom as well as a dispenser with soap shampoo and lotion. The BREAKFAST is a selection of pastries which are very average but nice tea and coffee are also included. I DO RECOMMEND this hotel due to its absolute convenient location but would warn not to expect a fancy hotel - if you are planning on really enjoying san Fransisco you will hardly be at the hotel and will love it for its location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Great boutique hotel in san Francisco Close union sq and market st
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

A roof over your head

Posted Jan 31, 2018
Pros: The location was the best part of the hotel. It was also maintained pretty well for the age of the building.
Cons: Amenities in the hotel - like a bucket to carry ice upstairs, actual soap bars instead of wall dispensers, extra blankets available in the room.
Location: The hotel was located on Nob Hill. It was a short walk from restaurants, bars, and transit that took us all over the city.
The hotel was overall just okay. It was one of the cheaper options that we looked at that wasn't also rated terribly. The hotel provided the bare-minimum: towels, soap, hangers in the closet, bed, and desk with chair. They provided breakfast, but it was just pastries in a case and a coffee machine (which was out of order one of the mornings during the time that we tried to get coffee). There was also only one ice machine that was kept in the lobby, but no container to carry ice in. The bedding was also just a sheet and a thin blanket, but luckily the room temperature was comfortable so we did not need more. The building itself was very old, so I felt uncomfortable in the elevator (it felt like it was going to break when I rode it). The location of the hotel was amazing, though. It was a short walk from restaurants, bars, and transit. There is a cable car stop just one block away that took us to Fisherman's Wharf. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, this is not your place; however, if you just need somewhere on the cheaper side to stay during the night while you're out doing other things, this place will provide you with that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice pastries for breakfast.

Posted Jan 31, 2018
The location was very convenient and the pastries for breakfast in the morning were good. However, when we got back to the room in the evening, it was really hot inside. The heater was running full blast and there was no way to turn it off. The front desk kindly lend out a fan, but it was not the greatest night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2018
No amenities other than TV and free Wi-Fi. Very small. Very clean. Only sheets were on the bed, no comforter.