Ratings based on 2,535 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, convenient to everything
Cons: Staff were not overly friendly, helpful enough if you approached them
Location: Shopping, restaurants, easy to get around, clean
Very good spot to stay. Lots of reasonable priced eating spots and bars. Short walk to Union Square, tram, bus services, tour bus and trolley. Hard to get private bathroom for this price. Walgreens 100 meters away, has everything for your daily needs. Good pub across the road with $5 happy hour 5 to 7 p.m. Vito Italian restaurant across the road excellent value and don't miss Lori's diner, it's a must experience. Tip - you have to do the trolley tram but avoid weekends, or be prepared to wait in que up to 2 hours. Don't pay the $20 just get the $7 ticket one ride from Walgreens, you won't be able to get on in high season. We did the $40 2 day hop on hop off bus, gets you to the highlights. Alcatraz really worthwhile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

too noisy

Posted May 22, 2017
The hotel is barely sound proof. I could heard everything from people turning on water, walking, talking, people outside, car outside- If you are a light sleeper like me, don't go because it's hard to get good night's rest-
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Excellent location but very outdated rooms

Posted May 14, 2017
No hairdryer, Kleenex, iron or ironing board. Outlets are not able to hold plugs from electronics, black mold on walls
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted May 13, 2017
It was ok.......................... .....................................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond BC Canada

Great location near Union Square

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Relatively quite, clean and comfortable
Cons: I arrived on a motorcycle and had to pay the same rate as a car. for two nights that was $60.00 and a basically parked in corner,
Location: Lots to do.
Nice room in an older Hotel, We spent almost all of our time out exploring, so the room provided what we needed,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nothing fancy

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Definitely needs new carpet. Fresh paint and decor would go a long way toward bringing this place up to date or giving it a polished feel.
Location: It's The City! Galleries, theater, cycling,.....
Safe and clean. Don't look for extra amenities. Carpet old and stained. Bathroom clean and fresh. Staff not particularly concerned about fixing problems. Had to ask at front desk for a hairdryer. Location not as loud as some in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very basic, but clean and central. Breakfast pastries were quite decent. I'd stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Room was small but clean. The hotel is in a great location! Close to many destinations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Staff very helpful, room clean
Cons: Facilities in room very basic - no hairdryer, coffee making stuff or fridge
Location: excellent central location for all main attractions in San Francisco
Hotel has basic facilities, good location for downtown San Francisco, staff very helpful when we asked for help. Car park opposite useful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Karin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time and kind comment. While currently we provide hairdryer and fridge upon request at the front desk, we are in the process of having these in each of guest room. Please come back and check us out!! Thanks again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Plain, clean hotel near Union Square / Chinatown

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Stayed 4 days to tour San Francisco and were comfortable. It is easy to walk from the hotel to explore downtown and is right next to the cable cars. Old-style architecture with clean, well kept and simple rooms and comfortable beds.