Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service.

Posted May 26, 2017
Added booking fee. Denied early checking possibility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience with us. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with our service. Booking fees are clearly outlined at the time of booking as is our check-in times. Our housekeeping team needs sufficient time to clean and prepare guest rooms to a high standard before our guests can check in. We are sorry to hear that this was an inconvenience for you. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
No fridge or safe in room. Corner shop across the road. Good but tight parking. Good size room. Currently under renovation where we stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and your spacious bathroom. As you mentioned we are currently remodelling and we hope that you will choose to try our hotel out again once the remodel is complete. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by Vanya

Stay here such helpful staff

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
We made a last minute booking here as our hotel we had booked gave our room away! We stayed in their sister hotel the Capri and was so grateful they fitted us in at short notice. Really friendly and helpful. Plus the room was good, clean and had a lovely bed. The only slight issue was the noise from next door but hardly the hotels fault.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Andrea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great rooms, horrible customer service

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The newly renovated rooms were very nice! I was very pleased by the cleanliness and it was excellent for the price. HOWEVER, they accidentally charged me twice for the room and they told me it would be gone the following day but it was not and now they will not answer their phone. I have called multiple times a day and the phone rings and rings but no one answers. Very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us, your feedback is very important to us. We strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet expectations, albeit you enjoyed the renovated room that we provided. Rest assured that appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem that you experienced, and to prevent future similar occurrences. We trust that this issue has now been sorted out for you, and we apologize for the inconvenience that has been caused to you. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, sketchy front desk.

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nice and we slept great. Front desk is very sketchy and though it may be construction related they seem unorganized and it isn't professional at all. I'd give it another shot after construction is complete but if customer service is the same then I will look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by david

We won't stay anywhere else in SF!

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
We LOVE this little place! We have stayed several times! If you want to be out of "tourist trap" SF and experience a real neighborhood, safe motel and walkability, this is a good choice. Turn left onto Lombard Street and you are in the beautiful Marina neighborhood, walk about a mile and you are at Palace of Fine Arts! Turn right onto Lombard, walk up to Van Ness, turn left and you are close to Ghiradelli! Mel's Drive In is just around corner from motel, open 24 hours! Lots of good places to shop and eat within a very short walk from motel! Motel itself is very clean, spacious rooms, quiet, well priced and the managers are very friendly and will allow late check out. Another plus, PARKING IS FREE!! Bathrooms/fixtures are all new and modern, small fridge in room, carpets are clean, beds are comfortable and windows open with nice, plantation style shutters. Plenty of towels, shampoo/conditioner/lotion/soap, hairdryer, iron and ironing board in each room! We take our teenage daughters and their friends and feel completely comfortable letting them walk to the corner market, Starbucks, Gap or either of the theaters nearby... lots of families, kids, seniors out in neighborhood... very safe! Motel is also tucked away from "Cow Hollow" row of motels on Lombard Street, surrounded by houses, apartment buildings and businesses so you really feel like you are in a neighborhood instead of a cluster of hotels/motels with no character.
3 out of 5
by Benjamin

Hire someone who cares?

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Half the hotel across the street is currently under renovation, but it appears that the renovation wasn't even half finished past the paint and new fixtures. Non-working phones, missing peep-holes in the doors, unfinished everything anywhere and rough edges, and a "Front Office" set up hastily in one of the rooms with a sign on the door, and pretty questionable customer service. It halfway seems like a bunch of failed startup creators gave up and said, "Let's buy a hotel." Could have been a decent value, given the decent location, but the lack of anyone at the property even pretending to care about its customers dropped it down the drain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dollar for dollar a great decision

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: location, spaciou, very clean
Cons: add a refrigerator
Location: wonderful location--just of Union Street, minutes to the Marina
newly remodeled; great location, very clean -- expect no amenities no fridge etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It's great to hear that you had such a great stay with us, and that you liked our refurbished rooms, location, and of course our cleanliness. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review, and we hope to welcome you back very soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management