Ratings based on 3,856 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Avoid if possible

Posted Sep 26, 2016
It seemed like it would be a decently priced placed that was on the nicer side... but then then I arrived. After pulling into the garage, the maze that you had to navigate from the parking garage to the front desk was comparable to the one the Minotaur is roaming in. The room barley for just the bed, and also had a very mostly old person might be dead uber the mattress odor that you can't get away from. Water pressure is similar to trying to squeeze the last few drops from a sponge- and the icing on the cake- slapped with a $60 parking fee for parking in the hotels lot for ONE NIGHT- that's right, the sign says 15- but there's all that fun script at the bottom that allows them to basically take 60 since you'll most likely have your car there past 12am. Since you're sleeping in the hotel most likely. So I advise you to go to a nicer hotel, since with parking fees at this one you're going to be paying pay double the price anyways- might as well get a room that doesn't smell like a retirement home with waterpressure that works.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in the heart of Union Square

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Great location. Close to transportation and shopping. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Shower was tiny.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from *

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Hotel was in a central location, close to transit, restaurants and shopping. Its a fairly old building and some of the rooms are updated better than others. When we first arrived, we were "upgraded" from a queen bed to a very tiny and dingy room with two double beds, which did not benefit us as a couple. It took several conversations before they agreed to move us into the room we actually paid for. The new room was more spacious and updated. Overall, we found the staff to be unfriendly and not overly helpful but the rooms were adequate. Decent hotel if you can get one of the good rooms for the right price. And be aware, the wi-fi connection was very weak which made it challenging to plan the next day's activities
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newnan, Ga

Nice hotel. Good location.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We had a great stay. One room had a very tiny shower with no tub. The other room had a nice tub and shower, although water pressure was low. Our extra blanket and pillow had a bad smell, but they replaced it right away. Everuthing else was great. All the staff were plesant and very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Great location, very clean, nice staff. Also, much quieter than the two other hotels I've stayed in near Union Square.
BF and I took BART into SF for an evening at Biscuits and Blues. Handlery is perfectly located right across the street from B&B, and next door to Lefty O'Doul's. Blues Friday night and Bloody Marys Saturday morning! Easy walking distance from Union Square, Financial District, Farmer's Market at Ferry Building and three BART stops. Hotel check-in easy and pleasant. Only downside was we were supposedly 'upgraded' to a better room??? We were by the pool, but in a handicap room. We didn't really care because we didn't spend much time in the room, but I wonder if we were shuttled off to a less desirable room because I'd gotten a discount via Expedia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great location, a little noisy and smelly

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Overall, I recommend the Handerly. The location was great, room spacious and staff friendly. The adjoining restaurant was very nice and happy hour prices were decent. I used the fitness center and while small, it had adequate equipment. I did find that the room had an old, musty odor and the bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke. It was also very noisy - it sounded like we were sleeping above a bowling alley and the noise was not coming from outside of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 大阪

きっと次もリピしますっ

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: 立地と清潔さ、スタッフの気遣い。
Cons: 日本語が話せるスタッフがいると助かりますが、スタッフも一生懸命理解しようとしてくれるので、問題ありませんでした。
Location: ユニオンスクエア近くでご飯にも買い物にも困りません。季節柄もありますが、結構夜遅くまで近くは賑わっているので怖いと思うこともありませんでした。ホテルに入ればうるさいということもなかったので、便利で快適で良かったと思います。
女性一人旅で、こちらのホテルに5泊しました。スタッフも他の方のレビューの通りフレンドリーで感じの良い印象でした。 部屋も清潔で快適。古いホテルではあるので、少し部屋内の1か所きしみはありましたが、まあ仕方のない事として、全体的に満足なホテルでした。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Older hotel wonderfully located but overpriced

Posted Sep 15, 2016
A super outdoor pool, room fine but wheezing air system with little cooling power and somewhat cramped room. Location was ideal, staff friendly and accommodating. Price was high even for Union Square.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The location, the staff
Location: Basically everything is close, Union Square, restaurants, bars, Westfield Mall and the Subway
Perfect location , right next to Union Square, and a great bar right next door Lefty O'Douls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Altehrwürdiges Haus in guter Lage

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Hotel mit Tradition, dem eine Renovierung guttun würde. Zimmer sind ausreichend groß, aber dunkel und abgewohnt, dennoch einigermaßen sauber. Gute Lage vor allem für Shopping.