Ratings based on 1,362 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location! Will be returning

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: A/C unit needs improvement and there grill restaurant needs better tasting food
Location: Great location for everything
Just loved our experience, and location. Will return family definitely enjoyed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, Ca

Great Hotel With Vintage Character

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location, clean, well appointed room, reasonable price, quiet, (our room had no view, but that was o.k. The lack of street noise made up for that).
Cons: The staff could be a little friendlier.
Location: Near cable cars, Union Square and other shopping, art galleries, theatre, restaurants.
Located just down the street from Union Square, near the Theatre district, cable car line, and next to some great art galleries and restaurants. This hotel has great vintage charm, a nice heated pool, and clean, comfortable decent sized rooms. The staff was a little reserved, but other than that, no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Great location, great room service food, very clean.
Location: Located right in Union square, the best shopping in the world is located right outside the doors, great restaurants all around as well.
Nice hotel, right in the heart of union square, fantastic area for shopping, restaurants, entertainment. We originally booked the standard rooms, which were a good size and very clean, but ended up upgrading to the premium tower. The premium tower is much nicer all around for the rooms. Room service was really good, the burger is one of the best I've ever had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The Hotel was Disappointing

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: lobby
Cons: everything else about the hotel could be improved
The moment I entered I was pleasantly surprised by the lobby, which looked nice. Upon getting off the elevator the smell that wafted up from the old carpeting was truly unbearable. Musty, moldy and disgusting. When I got into my room it was somehow even worse. The same musty moldy smell with a strong chemical air freshener scent on top of it. Thank god the windows opened, it was the only way I could stand to stay in the room. Further, the clock in the room was off by 30 minutes and I fortunately looked at my phone 10 minutes before I needed to leave with just a few minutes to get ready and head out for a meeting. I do not recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to culture and shopping

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Beautiful atmosphere and friendly staff. Comfortable and roomy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

great hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
great hotel to stay at , in premier section , close to everything , would recommend to everybody
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Good location. After check-in, guests can enter the hotel from Geary St. side and O'Farrell St. side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb Room and Restaurant in Great Location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Modern and traditional, great restaurant just footsteps from our room
The great location is obvious to anyone with google maps - just a block from Union Square, at the heart of downtown San Francisco. We stayed in a premier king room, and it was superb. Lots of space, a view overlooking Cyril Magnin Street, quiet, modern, and immaculate. And the hotel restaurant, the Daily Grill, is a quiet haven, with great food and drinks in a comfortable, relaxed setting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will never stay at this hotel again. Poor

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Not worth the price. Uncomfortable bed,pillows, blankets, room. Tv did not work, bad food, bad service. Slamingy doors from housekeeping at 6am. Needs an up grade. Rooms smell.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: It's location and character
Cons: Clean better!!!
My room was not as clean as it should have been. hair on bathroom floor and thick dust on the nightstands. And the elevators were disgusting filthy.