Ratings based on 3,556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Fransico

Trip to the Super Bowl

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Location, was close to all activities.
Cons: Parking should be included, very expensive stay.
Location: Several restaurants to enjoy and activities
Dissapointing for the price paid. No extra amentities, no microwave. Had to pay for parking and any extra bottles of water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Clean place, helpful staff, simple small room, the pool and courtyard in middle of building were nice, garage was easy in and out on o'Farrell street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, but bad room service

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Location was perfect
Cons: Room Service
Nice Hotel, however worst room service I have ever experienced - not one order was correct & one was so late we couldn't eat because we had to leave on a tour bus. Sneaky that they add the tip of 15% to the bill, then have a separate section for a tip, so as Aussies we didn't realise & ended up over-tipping for constant wrong orders. People were nice however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mercer Island, WA

Nice Hotel Conveniently located

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Clean, conveniently located, very nice staff
My husband and I stay here as often as we can when we visit San Francisco. It's right off Union Square so convenient to BART, Muni, shops and restaurants. It has a decent restaurant attached if we aren't feeling adventurous. We are frequently upgraded, there's free wifi in the hotel, and the room we were in this time had been updated so it was very nice. Despite being right off the Square, it is reasonably quiet. Only one elevator was working this time, so the wait could be a little long, but we just used the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Very comfortable and affordable for being right in Union Square! The location was perfect for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Nice hotel close to union square

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Shower was a bit weak but otherwise no complaint, as the staff was kind and room was clean, close to the major place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Location and old fashioned elegance

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Everything. Perfect little place of history in a bustling and vibrant city.
Cons: For the price and facilities available, I think it is right on point.
Location: Perfect location, Chinatown is a short 5 minute walk away across Union Square, cable car access within 200 metres of front door of hotel. Perfect!
This hotel is located in the best location! Easy to walk to anywhere and everywhere, close to Powell St cable car line and shopping all around. I loved the old fashioned elegance of this hotel, but for those that prefer everything to be 'new' and 'perfect', this might not be for you. It is a historic building and with that comes some compromise, but I will certainly be staying here again. The customer service from all I encountered was just brilliant. I stayed in an historic 2 bed room on the Geary St side of the property, so probably the noisiest part of the hotel. I LOVED it. From the fire escape outside my window to the noises of life below, I simply loved this property and time in San Francisco. I am a light sleeper an the ear plugs provided by the hotel were enough to give me 3 nights of sound sleep. However, I can understand if the noise from below may be too much for some. I would recommend asking for a room away from the Geary St noise if you feel this would be an issue for you. The restaurant at the hotel, being the Daily Grill was absolutely excellent. Beautifully decorated and great food and wine options. Ate there 3 times in 3 days and not one time did it disappoint. I will definitely be back to stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Close to shops

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Cons: The temperature inside the room should be improved.
This is a nice hotel to stay in even though we were just here for a night... The only downside was that the room became hot as you stay in it longer...cannot even adjust the temperature by yourself. I would still stay in this hotel in spite of that because it is near shops, very walkable, near restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Great 1 night stay. This is a historic building, which can give that scary movie feeling, but the cleanliness and upkeeping makes you feel at ease. Staff was very professional and polite at all times. Lobby decor is beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.