Ratings based on 4,277 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
It was a great experience staying here, it's super convenient to do everything here. Close to major attractions and car rental place as well. The room is good and comfortable. I enjoyed staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Recent trip

Posted May 21, 2017
Good hotel in excellent location-would definitely come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great location, friendly staff

Posted May 21, 2017
Loved the hotel, unfortunately didn't get to try the provided fitness gym, heated pool, or sauna during my stay. I picked a room with city-view and even on sixth floor it has some occasional street sounds. They warn you before choosing a city-facing room that there may be noise, but its really not bad at all, it reminds you that you are in a lively city!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old style hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
It's an old style hotel with lots of rooms on each floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room was hoping for better view from the room

Posted May 20, 2017
Nice clean room, good location, was hoping for better view from the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted May 14, 2017
Great location in Union Square, easy walk to many shops, restaurants, etc. About a 7min walk to Moscone convention center too! Pool was smaller than expected, gym small but adequate. Room was clean, large bathroom with separate vanity area outside of bathroom which is great when sharing a room. I gave it 4 stars because there was a sign upon entrance that said "this facility contains chemicals known to the state of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted May 14, 2017
This was a perfect choice for my one night stay in SF. The location was central, room was small but clean and everything was in good condition. I didn't get to try the sauna or the pool, but if I stayed longer, that would have definitely been a plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location But No Curtains on Windows !

Posted May 12, 2017
First the good parts: Free WIFI. Great location, can walk to the market street and up towards Farmers Market (Ferry Building) and Piers. The cabs are easy to get and good eating options around. The inside of building is clean enough although the elevators could need nice scrubbing. There are plenty of carpeted stairs which was used to get down. There are "Premier rooms" and I am not sure what that means... does it mean that they have windows with curtains and have balconies? Now the bad part: - the check in staff probably has no training in hospitality, no smiles and no welcoming manners, she was stiff and tossed the room cards with not much conversation... bad bad I was in room 633, there are no window curtains and just shades. brightness of night lights streaming through-- not much rest at night. Also the room overlooks the rooftop below with AC units humming loudly. I would not take this place again whenever I am in town. They charged premium for motel quality!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC Canada

Would recommend this hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, clean room, and friendly staff.
Location: Great location, within walking distance to the major stores (Macy, Nordstrom, etc), Chinatown not far. Many restaurants and coffee shops close by.
Staff friendly and helpful. Stayed in the historic section, bathroom appears to have been renovated. Clean room. No view, looked right at other part of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful stay!

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: very quiet room, lovely staff, clean bathrooms
Location: Union Square, Cable Car access, SFMOMA, Moscone Center, Ferry Building
This was a repeat visit to the Handlery for us. My husband had a conference at the Moscone for several days and I tagged along to work in the hotel room. The King Suite was perfect for us. Bed was comfortable and the size of the room was great especially since I was working from the room. I used the Fitness Room each day which was a plus. The hotel was convenient for my husband to easily walk to his conference each morning. I was able to walk quickly to shopping in Union Square as well as visit the SFMOMA for the wonderful Matisse exhibit. The walk to the Ferry building was easy. I read several less than positive review on Expedia so I was wondering what we would find. We found our visit to be nothing but exceptional in all areas. We will definitely visit this hotel again...many times.