Ratings based on 4,360 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
GREAT location, nicely maintained hotel. Nothing to complain about. We had a comfortable and pleasant 3-night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Hotel couldn't be located in a more perfect place.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the location of the hotel best of all. We had multiple transportation options, as well as beautiful scenery each way we walked.
Location: The BART is an 8 min walk with easy access to other cities. "Asian Town" is a beautiful 10 min walk as well, with art galleries & theaters near by.
The hotel staff was extremely professional and accommodating. The building itself is quaint and antique like with a updated and classy feel. There's just enough amenities for a leisurely stay, although you probably won't spend much time inside. I didn't use the outdoor pool, but I noticed other patrons enjoying themselves. It's surrounded by beautiful flowers, and colorful foliage. The sauna is for private use only; you're encouraged to make a reservation which I found extremely relaxing the last evening of my stay. There is a small gym on site with basic equipment to keep you consistent while traveling. There's a restaurant conveniently attached to the hotel as well. We didn't eat there but it seemed pretty busy. The BART is about 8mins walking distance from the hotel which was amazing for our night out in Oakland. This hotel is also nestled in between art galleries and theaters if you're interested in catching a show or glimpses of beautiful pieces of art. I took walks through the city each morning, landing at one of many eccentric coffee shops, or my favorite brand name store for shopping. Our rooms were small, but nicely set up. The queen beds were true to size although I wished for thicker bedding. The window in room opened to nothing and my friends windows were frosted out, but again we didn't spend much time inside. My favorite part of my room was the bathroom, it has multiple mirrors lol. I had a great experience overall and would recommend this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Great location olden day feel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect. We had easy access to transportation to most major attractions in the area.
Cons: The air conditioning could've been made to be cooler. It also could be because of the heatwave that came through town. The fan made it tolerable.
Location: Uber takes you to places that the cable car, trolley, or bus won't take you. Gotta visit the various towns (Japantown, Chinatown, Tenderloin, Market).
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is a nice hotel to stay. We stayed in the older section and it was like staying at a classic hotel. The room was clean. The location is the key. It is central to most of San Francisco's attractions. Easy getting to the pier, Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Park, Japantown and Chinatown. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Prime location

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Our room keys kept demagnetizing, that was annoying but very minor in the grand scheme of things
Location: In the hear of union square which has live music. Cable cars near by and the giant Macy's right across the street. Walking distance to China town
I recently visited San Fransico with my two kids (ages 6 & 8) and I could not have been happier with this hotels location. We were walking distance from tons of restaurants, department stores, CVS, Walgreens, cafes and coffee shops. Not to mention we were on the street where the cable cars run. It made getting around the city very easy. The room was not the most fancy I've ever stayed it but it was clean and roomy. The staff was incredibly friendly and room service was very fast (usually received my order within 15 minutes) The only downside was that the restaurant/room service prices were very high ( 17 dollars for a turkey sandwich and 18 dollars for one glass of wine!😳) With that being said there were so many other food options around that finding great food and snacks was never an issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Coast, USA

Mediocre

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The sauna was excellent. The housekeeping staff were very kind and professional.
Cons: Lots of improvements are needed.
Location: The location was fine.
The room was smaller than expected and very plain. The A/C had a regulator preventing the room from getting cooler than 72 degrees during the Summer. This is too hot for me and affected my sleep. Vending machines on multiple floors were broken. The hotel entry area looked nice, but the rest of the hotel needs renovation. They did offer laundry service, which was done nicely - and they had a concierge and bell hop. The restaurant was pretty decent and always very busy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 19, 2017
The hotel is very clean. The staff was awesome. They had an answer for all your questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Not bad for the price.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful front of office staff.
Cons: Breakfast in the 'attached' Grill Room very ordinary. Had to request a bath robe, normally not provided in non Premium rooms.
Excellent location in Union Sq. Older hotel with a few related issues, but generally quite ok. In future, I would opt for a Premium room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY AUS

No problems with Hotel or sleeping quarters.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: GREAT
Cons: BUT the biggest problem is the homeless people which the people that run San Francisco need to address and build them a place to live and feed and fin
Location: Location was great & central, Powell St station was very handy,
The people that made the comments about bed bugs should check their on living quarters, the AC worked fine for us for 10 days night & day, with the comments to down grade the hotel, location was great & central, Powell St station was very handy, BUT the biggest problem is the homeless people which the people that run San Francisco need to address and build them a place to live and feed and find them work, every shop had a sign wanting staff, whats the problem. BUT the biggest problem is the homeless people which the people that run San Francisco need to address and build them a place to live and feed and find them work, every shop had a sign wanting staff, whats the problem. If something is not done then tourist will bypass San Francisco which would be a pity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Union Square Hub

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Great location close to everything. Comfortable and clean hotel. Can get noisy from outside traffic and music but earplugs are supplied and it usually stops at 10pm
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: leaving each day for work
Cons: The staff need to improve on guest services.
Location: Eat and shop
During the initial check-in the front desk wasn't welcoming at all nor was the overall staff. During the second week I had to come down each day and have my key card re-keyed and he was very friendly and I couldn't get upset. I've worked in the hotel industry for 10 years Corp. and hotel hospitality and each guest was greeted with a smile. I felt uncomfortable a lot of times, I second guest my choice of hotel and couldn't wait until check-out for good.