Ratings based on 4,115 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Good lication

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Older hotel close to union square, convenient to BART and lots of shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honlulu, Hawaii

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The front desk was the start of a great stay. They all were very helpful on every shift. The cleaning stuff were friendly even when you were not on your floor. Overall a wonderful stay and will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Great Glen, United Kingdom

Historic hotel - super rooms but spooky corridors

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The staff, the excellent rooms.
Cons: The corridors possibly could do with a refurbish and repaint to brighten them up. They do have lost of character though
Location: Union Square. Cable Car less then 20 yards away on Powell.
I just love this hotel which looks aged in character; corridors can seem slightly spooky or dimly lit (some may say discrete and mood-li) . However as soon as you step into the refurbished rooms, you could be in a Marriott - very smart and stylish and clean and welcoming. I think the mix of very smart rooms and older corridors and access hallways gives the place a lot of character. I have to say the staff are very friendly and helpful - you couldn't want for better help and assistance. The attached Daily Grill which serves as the breakfast place, is a cosy wood-panelled restaurant with cosy booths and the sort of place you want to hang around for a while, either at the bar or at the tables So close to Union Square that this is surely very good value in SF Well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from toronto, ontario

Surprisingly spacious

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Surprisingly spacious for being in the middle of the city. Staff were helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Outdated room. Expected more for the price.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The biggest advantage of this hotel - location, it's just perfect, on a middle of everything. Plenty of places to eat and easy to get around. My main problem - deceiving photos of the hotel's rooms and descreaptions of the room. On photos rooms look updated, modern, clean, "premium", my another problem, but in reality the hotel is outdated, rooms weren't touched for at least 10-15 years, far from the best shape and definitely not what I would call "a premium room". I booked a "premium" room and got a room on a second floor of a "premium" building, they have a separate building and from a main lobby you have to walk few minutes and up the stairs to get to a "premium" building, with windows facing a wall of another hotel, exactly what I would expect from a "premium" room, and definitely far-far from the room I expected to stay in based on the photos and a "premium" describtion of the room I paid for. Anyway - with dozens of hotels around you have more choices to book a room within a similar price range and I hope get more for your money. For the hotel - stop putting nice photos on your website and call an average room "premium" because it's NOT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute, updated boutique hotel. Great location!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, location, lots of character, good amenities.
Location: Right off Union Square in the heart of the city. Close to shopping, Bart, restaurants, coffee.
This hotel retains its boutique San Francisco character while offering a business class setting. The location is less than a block off Union Square and convenient to Bart--hard to beat! Fairly quiet for the location. Tiny rooms, but one should expect that when staying in this type of hotel. Great value, very nice staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms were extremely extremely noisy

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: friendly staff, amenities, cleanliness
Cons: warn people or better yet, don't see those subpar rooms
Location: perfect location for conference at moscone center
Disappointed, rooms were very very noisy, earplugs provided at check in is not a good sign.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location! Will be returning

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: A/C unit needs improvement and there grill restaurant needs better tasting food
Location: Great location for everything
Just loved our experience, and location. Will return family definitely enjoyed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, Ca

Great Hotel With Vintage Character

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location, clean, well appointed room, reasonable price, quiet, (our room had no view, but that was o.k. The lack of street noise made up for that).
Cons: The staff could be a little friendlier.
Location: Near cable cars, Union Square and other shopping, art galleries, theatre, restaurants.
Located just down the street from Union Square, near the Theatre district, cable car line, and next to some great art galleries and restaurants. This hotel has great vintage charm, a nice heated pool, and clean, comfortable decent sized rooms. The staff was a little reserved, but other than that, no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Great location, great room service food, very clean.
Location: Located right in Union square, the best shopping in the world is located right outside the doors, great restaurants all around as well.
Nice hotel, right in the heart of union square, fantastic area for shopping, restaurants, entertainment. We originally booked the standard rooms, which were a good size and very clean, but ended up upgrading to the premium tower. The premium tower is much nicer all around for the rooms. Room service was really good, the burger is one of the best I've ever had.