Ratings based on 4,615 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Handlery - location, location, location!

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Great location at Union Square. Handy to trolleys, restaurants, shopping, tours, cable cars. We asked for a quiet room and the obliged. Mind you we faced an an we utility corridor with no natural light but that was a small issue. Price was reasonable and very good value overall - no hesitation recommending to first time or experienced visitors!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with all the essentials!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights with our 5 months old baby in September. The location is unbeatable being a 2 minutes walk from Union Square Garage/ Macy's. The front staff were friendly and helpful from checking us in/out to providing directions. The room itself is nothing fancy but had everything we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las vegas

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Central
Cons: Pillows
Location: Very central. Chinatown is great. Cycling over the Golden Gate Bridge into Sausalito was fantastic. Alcatraz is very informative.
Walking distance to a lot of restaurants, Walgreens and shops. Could walk to Chinatown but its hilly. The hotel staff were all good and friendly. The only thing was the pillows were not supportive, everything else was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel staff was very friendly and polite. The room was okay. It was clean but felt old and there is a faint musty scent throughout the hotel. When I checked into my room, one of the employees was there putting up the shower curtain. This is actually the second time this is happened to me, and I've only stayed there three times. The prayer time, a chambermaid saw me in my underwear. They need to communicate a bit more efficiently with the cleaning crew. The exercise room is a more than a bit small. Also, the highest level of weight they have is 25 pound dumbbells. Is isn't really enough for an adult male to get a good workout. I wish they could 50 pound dumbbells.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Union Square

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Beautifully renovated historic hotel right in the middle of everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centralize Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location was ideal for me choosing this hotel!!!
Cons: Just keep up your standards!!!
Location: Stores, cable cars, a few blocks from the Bart Station!!!
Location is a must depending on one's preference. It felt like home! Access to the cable car from Powell street!!! My best advice to anyone staying either in Handlery Hotel or any other hotel: book in advance for any tourist attraction. I do look forward staying there next time in the near future!!! Best wishes to the staff!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Nice staffs and location. Room is clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Poke-Get-Away

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, terrific pool, comfy beds, good location, easy parking
Cons: I wish the window had a screen since I wanted to open the windows to allow the cool night air into the room.
Location: Just one block from Union Square, so plenty of high end shopping nearby.
I wanted a central location where I could access the amenities of the city while enjoy Pokemon Go. This location just one block from Union Square was perfect. I could even access two Pokestops from my hotel room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chico, california

RUDE STAFF & PARKING ATTENDENTS

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Gave us terrible directions to hotel, rude to boyfriend when trying to put his stuff in lobby while waiting for me, RUDE parking attendant saying we didn't pay our bill when we did. WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rotorua New Zealand

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Great location, close to shops, restaurants and hop on hop off bus