Ratings based on 4,152 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
An average hotel with pleasant staff experience. Hotel cleanliness was average and rooms were small and outdated, but staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great location and room, some challenges

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Information about the location of the premier wing and the handicap lift
Location: Shopping, restaurants, art galleries, MOMA,
Great location and would return to this hotel. We booked a premiere king room and per other reviews, asked for our room to be booked away from the noise of the street. Our room was in what looked to be an addition to the original historic hotel, called the Premiere building or wing . The room was a very nice and spacious room and VERY quite. It was however a little challenging to get to the room. There are two sets of stairs to access the premiere wing. Instead of a regular elevator, there is a type of lift for handicap use and the desk manager said we could use that with our suitcases. Once you get up with that lift, you walk across the outdoor patio where the pool is located (totally enclosed by the buildings and there is a covered walk way) to another elevator to access the premier rooms. With my bad knees, I have issues with stairs, so I used that lift during our entire stay. Would have been good to know when we booked the room. Amenities included free wifi, small coffee maker, refrigerator and nice toiletries. The bed was a little firm for my liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Close to everything! Big rooms! Even though close to Union Square it was very quiet! Had a room with balcony and loved sitting and watching the world go by. Definitely would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Will stay there again. Could not have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great price/Great Central location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: It is in a great central location
Cons: they could improve the access from the parking area to the hotel if you have baggage.
Location: Its right in Union Sq. tons of shopping and restaurants just a few blocks walk. It is also right on the cable car line to get across town
I was going to SF for a conference and knew I wanted to stay in the Union Sq. area. I checked the recommended hotels and they were all really expensive. I found this place on Expedia at a good price and location and it was great. The hotel is a little older but it was clean and quiet and the staff was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Great location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Location was perfect. It's definitely an older hotel and you can tell. But it has a lot of character which we loved.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaconsfield, England

TIred Hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2017
The hotel was a throw back to the 1960's dark, tired rooms and a strong smell in both the rooms and the common areas. The brochure photographs are very well taken put it that way. This is a hotel that surely only survives because of its excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great Location

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: room upgrades as some finishings are older due to historic nature
Location: steps to union square
Overall good hotel, as it is an older building some things do need upgrades, great location, proximity to everything you need. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the heart of the city

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: John the concierge was very helpful with history of the city.
Location: Location was great
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rather pricey for the size of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Good lication

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Older hotel close to union square, convenient to BART and lots of shopping