Ratings based on 3,654 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Cons: Only 1 elevator worked A/c is old and doesn't work well
Hotel is old, rooms are spacious and updated. The air conditioning they control and room was very warm, they did bring a fan but not appropriate for this type of hotel. Staff was nice, restaurant was good. Location is great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Location, location, location!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Better control of the climate in the room.
Location: Excellent location!
Had a nice stay here. Only drawback is that the room was a bit hot and stuffy. Could only set the AC at 68 and it had no fan.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Hotel was very clean, the staff was helpful and friendly. I didn't eat in the restaurant. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Great place, terrible staff! Got robbed by the hotel maids
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Facilities have cancer causing chemicals . The place is not clean full of dust daily. See picture of warning from state of California posted at entrance
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Room had more than enough space but small plumbing problems and thermostat was old and uncooperative when trying to adjust the room temperature as it was too cold. Location was great for me needing to be in the Union Square area. Never had to take an Uber or cab and was able to walk everywhere as the area was nice. Hotel could use a gift shop or something similar as I did have to walk to Walgreens for some simple headache medicine. These are small things that I noticed but overall was not unhappy with my stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
it was a short stay, but the overall experience was nice. the hotel is in a good location and really close to the office i was visiting. the rooms are on the small side, but they are clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, Ca

Near shopping, very comfortable

Posted Apr 13, 2016
I was there for business and have stayed there before while on vacation. Quick check-in, room clean, great place to eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

First time in San Francisco

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Charming staff and charming ambience.
Cons: Much more gluten free options on the in-house menu
Location: Awesome location - close to shopping, restaurants and transport.
This is a hotel with an old world charm. The staff were lovely and the location was fantastic. I asked to move from a small room at the back to a bigger room at the front which had a terrific view of the main street below and I could open my window for fresh air and ambience - great. The room was small and bathroom a little tired but the bed was so comfortable. Overall a very pleasant experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC

Too darn hot!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Air conditioning never got cool enough. One day both elevators weren't operating. Had to take service elevator. One day had to walk up 7 floors. Nice staff and location but elevators and air conditioning g need to be replaced