Ratings based on 7,870 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of the Bay area

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Our room was on the 43rd floor and this hotel being right in Union square, we could see the entire city of San Francisco literally (including golden gate, alcatraz, twin peaks and the coean). The day and night views were totally worth the price of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location and average accommodation

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: We liked the location.
Cons: Beds were of average quality and furniture was basic.
Location: Close to Union Square and shops.
We chose this to be close to Union Square and the main shops. Lobby busy and adjacent food shop helpful. Queue for hotel desk staff too long and wait was unacceptable. Pool is outdoors so no use in the winter time. Our stay in Feb 2017 was during a storm. The Hotel rattled and shaked like there was an earthquake very unsettling. We chose queen beds and a separate lounge but there was a mis-communication between Expedia and the Hotel as they did not have any of these rooms. All rooms with a separate lounge had only double beds. As we had 2 children the hotel offered 2 rollaway beds for us at no cost which was helpful solution.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Up to Hilton Standards

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Staff were extremely polite and the food in the restaurants wonderfully prepared and presented.
Expected a room consistent with Hilton standards and found the room very small, the lighting very poor, the bathroom very tight. While everything else about the Hilton San Francisco Union Square was great, I won't return because of the cost for a small room. Not worth the money I spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great hotel, close to union square and market st. Good breakfast, nice facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Room was small, but we weren't in it all day so it was fine for sleeping in. Clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. One question though.... if you have 4 people staying in a room what would only give them 3 towels? Happens in every hotel....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bottle of water was $4.00. Toilet paper was brutal

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Terrible. Would not go back. If your here for a conference, stay elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Everyone was very friendly great location the upstairs lounge was amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Hotel is not a 4 star

Posted Feb 15, 2017
When we checked in we were on 14th floor, we asked to be put next to the rest of the party and we're moved down to the 9th floor and were advised our 3 rooms were next to each other. 2 rooms checked in and by the time the 3rd check in was to occur they told us the room was already taken. So we moved down 5 floors for nothing. Our toilet was clogged, tub was not draining and washroom door was broken. One of the other rooms had blood stain on the bed. Rooms need to be checked for clenliness
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and convenient location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Convenient location to shops and restaurants and public transportation
Location: Union Square was walking distance from hotel
Our stay at the Hilton was good. Room was comfortable and taff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Mediocre hotel. Dated rooms. Narrow labyrinth like corridors. Over priced food. I think I got a room which wasn't renovated (i hope they're in the process of renovation) because it certainly didn't look as nice as the photos on Expedia.