Ratings based on 8,159 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Good location in center city. Close to transportation options and various places to eat. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location! Central to everything.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great hotel that is centrally located to everything. The trolley is just a couple blocks away. Rooms are spacious. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Terrible stay. Elevators were not working x2 days

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Terrible stay. The Elevators were not working on the day we arrived and it is hours to get to our room through the limited capacity service elevator. Everyone needed to use the very limited and busy service elevator. We arrived early evening and we were tired and exhausted and we wasted precious time trying to get to the room. No ONE CALLED TO APOLOGIZE OR ANYTHING. We needed to go back down for dinner and again we COULD NOT AND HAD TO WAIT HOURS FOR THE SERVICE ELEVATOR. And again going back up was a challenge and even by the next day, we had a hard time going down. All the elevators were not working still. and they have is a tiny room with very limited view. No one bothered to call to check on us or even offered a glass of water. Very disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Close to Union square and its attractions

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Rooms are very noisy, very bad daily cleaning and not sufficient checking and checking staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Location: good location downtown - near good restaurants and shopping walking distance to art galleries
nice hotel no free internet in the rooms which is very annoying you have to sit in a noisy area by the lobby to use your laptop, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Close to union square and public transportation clean and comfyotable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I stayed for three nights with my minor daughter to celebrate her birthday. They only complaint I have is the prices in the deli/market. They are beyond exorbitant!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good location, dreadful room, pay for wifi??

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Had intended to stay an extra night at alternative San Fran hotel but not possible due to missing cancellation deadline on the Hilton... big mistake. The initial impression was good, bright and spacious reception/bar area. However I have never seen such a long line to check in everywhere. Had a coffee and hoped queue would reduce but sadly not. It was about 20 customers deep and took at least 20 mins. Had booked an oversize room with 3 double beds which turned out to be large singles which was not good for 5 adults/old teens. Bathroom was absolutely tiny which I would not expect in a room supposedly sleeping 6. Free wifi only available in rooms if you were an honours guest which I am however I could not connect to the wifi which may have been because our room was at the very end of long corridor as far away from reception as possible. The expectation to pay for wifi on rooms in 2017 was extremely outdated, even the little motel type places we stayed in on our trip included free room wifi. Room was also incredibly noisy at night due to being on an external corner with windows on 2 busy streets. If I could have been bothered to go and queue for another 20 mins and drag cases along the very long corridor I would have asked to move or pay for 2 separate rooms. We were very glad we were only staying for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Claus, IN

Union square option

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Big hotel, the room furniture shows some significant wear and tear, but overall I would recommend as a good option in this location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Va

Convenient, but not clean

Posted Aug 4, 2017
I had issues with cleaning throughout the whole stay. Coming back to San Francisco next year and won't stay here again.