Ratings based on 8,173 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camarillo, CA

Close to everything in Union Square.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff, onsite amenities, location and safe feeling.
I stayed here due to an industry conference being held at this hotel. It was slightly more expensive than some surrounding hotels but there was so much value staying here. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I was in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Terrible gym

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: New gym
For a hotel of this size, the gym is EXTREMELY disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside ca

Really good and safe location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Clean, well located (close to everything) nice staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la mirada

Close to everything

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Went sight seeing in San Francisco, close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Don't let the exterior deter you

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The Hilton is located right next to a very poor/depressed neighborhood called the tenderloin. We were actually scared driving through. However the hotel was perfect for us. It was safe, clean, and always busy. I would always use the main entrance to the hotel and completely avoid the tenderloin area which is possible. If you are a tourist like us this is the ideal location. You are close to everything. Cable cars, Chinatown, union square, and north beach are all walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Room was clean. Bathroom was redone. The room was dated. The hotel is a little bit of a walk from bart station. Kinda scary at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Room was small but clean except the tub drain took too long to drain! Love the pillows!!! The hallway needs updating like the rugs and lighting. Long walk to the elevator from the room. Very busy lobby, long wait to check in. Close to all the tourist spots. Bus tour stops in front of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Good location in center city. Close to transportation options and various places to eat. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location! Central to everything.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great hotel that is centrally located to everything. The trolley is just a couple blocks away. Rooms are spacious. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Terrible stay. Elevators were not working x2 days

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Terrible stay. The Elevators were not working on the day we arrived and it is hours to get to our room through the limited capacity service elevator. Everyone needed to use the very limited and busy service elevator. We arrived early evening and we were tired and exhausted and we wasted precious time trying to get to the room. No ONE CALLED TO APOLOGIZE OR ANYTHING. We needed to go back down for dinner and again we COULD NOT AND HAD TO WAIT HOURS FOR THE SERVICE ELEVATOR. And again going back up was a challenge and even by the next day, we had a hard time going down. All the elevators were not working still. and they have is a tiny room with very limited view. No one bothered to call to check on us or even offered a glass of water. Very disappointing.