Ratings based on 744 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place down town

Posted Aug 20, 2016
It is clean enough, nice place. Right in the heart of the city so that sucks but they vacuum the floors. Rooms are small but it is right in the heart of the city
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SF week end

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Staff.
Cons: remodeling the rooms please, and especially the windows. You can hear everything in the rooms next door
Location: Would not stay there again. When i booked, I did not know the area, but really when you are with a kid, you do not want to stay int his area.
The location is not so great. This is very noisy, you could hear the wind blowing through the windows that left air going through. Windows need some remodeling. Otherwise the lobby of the hotel is nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

For the price it was great

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Close to BART and Muni so getting around the city was easy. The hotel is in lower rent part of the city. So if you are choosing to stay here, make sure you are comfortable with homelessness, drug addiction and mental illness. It is part of the city experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Location: Near the train system, which can take you all over town.
Had a great stay. Clean, comfortable, and conveniently located. Checking in and checking out was fast and easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Nice location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Close and convient to shops and food. Can walk and get cab quickly. Walls are very thin. You can hear your neighbor like they are in your room. Our room was very bright in the morning. The curtains didn't block out sun very well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Good place and services. Good bar and restaurant. I can come back again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice Hotel Central to all the sights

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Central location, nice staff, newer rooms and convenient parking.
Cons: Balcony doors. You have these nice balconies off the rooms but none of the doors open! That would have been really nice. Improve check-in wait.
Location: Everything is central, but close to there is the Civic Center, Union Square and you're not too far from Mission Dist. and even Castro St.!
It's hard to choose hotels in big cities that you're not familiar with; you never know what you're going to get. This Holiday Inn is one of the best I've stayed at, with newer facilities, a restaurant, bar, and convenient (albeit pricey) parking. $37 a night to park but that's expected in the big city. The room was nice with a cool view of San Fran, right in the heart of the Civic Center area. This is pretty centrally located to anywhere you want to go, which was great for my girlfriend and I. The room came with a Keurig coffee (we had a King Bed room) and was very clean. Seemed like it had been renovated recently. Staff was very friendly, check-in was kind of a wait but what can you do? Plus, their vending machines for pop only cost $1.50. When is the last time that happened? The walls are a bit thin, so if you're offended by late-night/early-morning love-making, maybe get some earplugs or check elsewhere. But it really wasn't bad and we had a really nice stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
It was a clean hotel, but there was no refrigerator. Cleaning staff bothered us more than once. And the beds were hard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Bad Area

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great, nice room, friendly & helpful staff, and easy check-in/out. However, the neighborhood is not family friendly, lots of homeless and drunk people in the area, hard to just walk down the street with kids.
2 out of 5
by damion

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Didn't like it. Beds were small, and didn't like that I had to pay for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Downtown SF parking rates may be higher than you anticipated. We offer a great value and are actually the lowest priced hotel parking in downtown SF for indoor, 24hr access. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center