Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, FL

Close to downtown

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: It was clean and the staff were nice.
Cons: The parking by far. The machines kept jamming and they should be replaced ASAP.
Location: You are right off of Market Street. The Ferry Building, Fisherman's Wharf and Lombard Street is not that far.
The room was clean and very nice. The parking was horrible. It has laundry and a pool which is nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
I didn't like paying for parking súper expensive especially having to pay for the room in the same building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to UCSF where my husband had surgery

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and the curtesy of the employees and it was very clean.
The checkin staff was so helpful I was so tired from being up all night at the hospital where my husband was, theygot me checked in fast. my room was great also. Slept likea baby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An average chain hotel near the Asian museum

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This Holiday Inn is just ok as hotels go. The parking garage was full of garbage and rather aromatic, which sort of sets expectations low. Inside, the room was small and while the 14th floor should have been quiet, in fact the A/C made a huge racket all night. Without it the room quickly got hot and stuffy. Tap water tastes nasty. Breakfast selections were very limited and heavily slanted towards Chinese visitors: fried rice, some sort of stale steamed buns, reconstituted eggs. They had a little fruit out and yoghurt, but all the bread was supermarket packaged and sliced stuff, mostly stale. Not a steal at $20 extra / person. Front desk people were very nice though, and after you check out, will happily give you a key for the locked toilets on the first floor. Neighborhood is seedy, with a lot of drug and alcohol dependent street people, but seems reasonably safe even so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novato, CA

Great location, very close to Theater

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Comfort
Location: Very close to theaters, shopping, nightlife.
Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, felt safe, only negative is the beds were not the most comfortable but fine for the short visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Hotel In the Heart of SF

Posted Apr 16, 2017
My stay at the Holiday Inn was very comfortable. It's close to the heart of the city, and the amenities are comfortable and a very good value. My only complaint is that there aren't any windows in the room, so you're totally dependent on the air coming through the AC unit. Otherwise, my stay was great. Room service was very fast, and hotel staff are incredibly helpful and prompt with all requests. I would gladly come back to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Hotel was clean and convenient and the staff wS very helpful. The only downside was the restsurant which had a limited menu and was fairly expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Herded cattle

Posted Apr 2, 2017
I have 2 complaints. 1. After our concert, we were told we were not allowed to enter though the front door. We were guided to the parking garage door where we were treated like cattle and forced to wait in the cold while they blocked the doors. and let only a couple people in at once, only after a roomkey was shown. There was no rowdiness, just some adults trying to go back to the rooms we paid for. 2. We spent $50 on a breakfast that was absolutely awful. It's one thing for bad quality packaged food to be served as a continental breakfast....but we paid a good amount of money for food we were not even able to finish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from petaluma, ca

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Close to Orpheum, theaters, and civic center. We even walked to dinner 1.5 mile away just because it was easier than driving. It would be nice to have a refrigerator in the room but otherwise it was perfect for what we needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Convenience.
It was a business trip. It was fine and in close proximity of business meetings.