Ratings based on 1,261 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Nice hotel in the heart of Fisherman's wharf. Clean, friendly staff , and great price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Functional and close to Fisherman's Wharf.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: It was pretty close to Fisherman's Wharf. The woman working the tours/tickets booth was very helpful.
Cons: Lots. The room needed to be modernized, bathroom door needs fixing, front desk clerks need additional training. The price was very high for quality.
Location: Close to Fisherman's Wharf.
My two teenagers (15 and 18) and I took an impromptu trip to San Francisco for a couple of days. the kids had never been before so I wanted a place near a lot of action and Fisherman's Wharf area seemed like the best spot. I booked a room with two double beds as the Expedia listing indicated that roll-away beds were available. I called ahead to the hotel to make sure that roll away was set up when I arrived and talked to a very confused woman doing the reservations. She put me on hold many (5+) times and seemed to be overwhelmed with her job. She informed me that they could not add an extra bed in the rooms with two beds already as it was a fire hazard. I asked if there was a larger room and she put me on hold 3 times while she checked. Eventually she said a larger one was available for 2 of the 3 nights but was "very expensive" but wasn't able to say how much it was. I didn't ask, but she passed me to a manager who said the larger room was available for the three nights. When we got there the room supplement was more expensive than I had been quoted. The room itself was a single large room with a bathroom which had a pocket door. The door was difficult to close and screeched which was very jarring if someone used the facilities during the night. There were two elevators for the whole building and one was out of commission for two days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, CA

close to the warf

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: the complimentary breakfast was wonderful, hot, and full of options.
Location: great location to Pier 39 and Fishermns warf
had to ask for a new room. when we opened our bathroom door the smell of mildew was overwhelming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to diferentes attractions

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Nice hotel close to diferentes attractions The only issue was the elevator. Is not working...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great Fishermans wharf location

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Location and complimentary breakfast.
Location: Close to the wharf and seafood restaurants. Easy access to local tranpostation and tour companies. Can easily walk to pier 39 and pier 33 to Alcatraz.
I really like the renovated lobby and guest rooms. The daily variety of food for breakfast is very good with constant replenishing of food. Staff is helpful with suggestions as needed. I would recommend this hotel if you want walking distance to wharf sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The staff were all nice!!! Made our stay a memorable one. We're visiting from Australia, all the staff especially the front desk made us feel Very welcome. They're very knowledgeable and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas in the City

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: nice location by the wharf, it was clean and comfortable
Cons: not much I can think of, we don't spend a lot of time in the hotel, mostly out on the town and just come back to sleep
Location: location is great, close to the wharf, 10 minute walk into little Italy. plenty of restaurants and shops. Trolley turn around is right close by
had a great stay in the city, we try to come over every year around Christmas just to see the sites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Dec 12, 2016
I'd book my stay at this hotel again! It's right in the middle of everything, friendly and helpful staff along with continental breakfast. When visiting San Francisco I'll be booking with Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fisherman's Wharf!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location, great customer service, rooms, breakfast.
Cons: To include a microwave in rooms, at least upon request or for rewards members rooms.
Location: Location it's excellent, 1 block away from parking and tours, 2 blocks away from grocery stores (2) and 1.5 to 2 blocks away from restaurants.
A very nice hotel, nothing fancy but it was clean and remodeled, location it's perfect and close to fisherman's wharf, room it is big, king bed was very comfortable so were the pillows; the cleaning staff did a good job everyday. Hot breakfast is a plus. Overall friendly staff. The only cons is that there is no restaurant at the hotel, however I don't think it's needed since places to eat are located within a reasonable walking distance, 1 block away to,rstaurants and attractions, including a grocery store 2 blocks away ( Safeway and trader's joe). I will definitely stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect Location!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Complimentary breakfast was fresh and had a good selection. Comfortable beds, and clean rooms.
This hotel exceeded our expectations! Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms. A great location, walking distance to most of the city attractions.