Ratings based on 1,757 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice hotel great location!

Posted May 23, 2017
Older property, but clean and generally well maintained and updated. Literally right next to a cable car line, and big bus tours picks up at hotel. Rooms weren't fancy, but clean and updated. We did have a spot on the wall where paint was beginning to peel, perhaps a sign of a new problem. We didn't have time to address w staff, one night stay. Overall, great and I'd definitely choose them again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from INDIA

EXCELLENT

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE HIDDEN COST.
Cons: ADD ALL HIDDEN COST IN ROOM CHARGES
Location: VERY GOOD LOCATION.
ENJOYED THE STAY BUT AT THE TIME OF CHECK OUT WE HAD A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE TO PAY ADDITIONAL HIDDEN COST VIZ USE OF TV WHICH NO HOTELS CHARGE. REQUEST YOU TO KINDLY REFUND THE EXTRA CHARGED TO US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Happy friendly staff. Buffet breakfast has a wide range to chose from. Would definitely book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sanford,Me

Pool closed

Posted May 12, 2017
Looked forward to pool use,unfortunately closed. They also need to update website as they do NOT provide airport shuttle .You have to call a number they provide and arrange your own shuttle ride. Misleading...when you add airport shuttle to website search filter,this hotel comes up in the list but I am guessing any of the hotels can give you number to call your own. Staff was very helpful with any questions and getting an extra item if needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Nice Hotel, fairly close and convenient to all S.F

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Very good staff, they were very friendly and helpful to us. Hotel is in a great location.
Cons: Cleaning the interior windows would really be good for improving the view from the upper floor, they are very dirty. Air conditioners are also noisy.
Location: Hotel is in a great location to everything we wanted to do, we used Uber and also our rental car which we parked in the hotel secured garage.
This Hotel is very well located, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only real complaint we had was the interior windows in our room had not been cleaned in a long time and were very dirty which obstructs your view when you are the upper floors.The air conditioner was also quite loud. All in all the hotel was pretty good and I would recommend it and probably stay there again if I return to San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to restaurant

Posted May 7, 2017
The room was nice and clean. View was fantastic from our room at the 25th floor. The hotel is close to Pier 39, Fishermans Wharf and China town. The Hotel Staff were courteous and helpful.. Will surely come back to stay at this hotel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel, good location

Posted May 6, 2017
We stayed six nights and found the hotel a good location from which to see the City. The bus system is very handy, as is the cable cars. Staff was friendly and helpful, Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Spring break

Posted Apr 29, 2017
San Francisco is a wonderful place and the Hotel is in a fabulous location, on a great tram and bus route which takes you all over the city. The no 47 and 49 buses are excellent. We loved the sight seeing, the food the drinks etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Within Walking Distance of Everything

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Even though it's older, it was in a central location and close to everything we wanted to do.
Cons: The service we were provided when ordering room service was a little inconsistent.
Location: Everything is nearby. Piers are with in walking distance, Fisherman's Wharf, Academy of Science, Aquarium, Ghiradehli Square, Cable Car station
It's in the middle of everything and within walking distance to everything, Chinatown, Northbeach, Nob Hill, The Wharf, all the Piers. If not in the mood to walk then reasonable Uber fares will get you every where and with a Starbucks on the same corner makes this a super great location. The front desk person who helped us check in provided us an amazing room with great views, the kids were in heaven! The gentleman who brought our bags to our room was amazing also. He set up our suitcases and the snacks we brought. It took us a while to park the car and gather our things, but by the time we reached our room our bags had arrived and were arranged neatly. The room service food was great also with decent portions and speedy service. The concierge is very knowledgeable and had the answers to all our questions. When we come back, I'll definitely look to be staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel located along Van Ness

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Free parking provision.
Location: Van Ness is San Francisco's main avenue. There are plenty of public transport (bus & taxi) available.
Holiday Inn Golden Gateway is located along Van Ness, a good jump-off point to enjoy the sights of San Francisco. Accessible by bus, taxis, and Uber. It would have been perfect if they provide free parking.