Ratings based on 1,657 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Porterville, CA

Centrally located

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. We were pleased to find that kids get a free breakfast with an adult buffet or main breakfast order.
Location: We went to Golden Gate Park and Pier 39. The hotel was quite central to both. In addition, Whole Foods Market is just around the corner.
Very comfortable room. The beds were comfy and there was a small refrigerator as well as a coffee maker in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel, near everything

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Nice hotel. No problems. Stayed for one night. Right near everything we wanted to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Good place I will be staying there more often, service was good , clean place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good choice if using public transport

Posted Jan 2, 2017
California trolley stops/starts next door to hotel - well worth the ride. Local bus stops taking you to the Fishermans wharf and union square areas - $2.25 per trip. Really good breakfast - make sure you get it as part of the hotel deal though as $22 otherwise. Had top floor room upgrade due to my birthday - fabulous views of the city/harbour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Segundo, Ca

Hotel centrally located in town

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: food, fast elevator, view, location
Cons: hallways exiting elevators were cold, turn on the heaters there, reduce parking fee per day
Location: location is great, actually drove to embarcadero to pier 39, union square not far away
Must give credit to staff who assisted on check-in. We had bookings for an event and had arrived hour and half earlier. It was great to have an early check in, this is rarely done on most hotels. $40/day parking fee is normal in this city although too high for me. Indoor heated swimming pool would have been great to have on site. Overall this hotel is centrally located in San Francisco, ideal for family. Staff was friendly. Food is great. Elevators are fast. Tv ok. Microwave comes at extra $20.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Clean, but needs microwave in the room. Location is good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel and riddled with mold

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Saw the star rating on Expedia and read the reviews on Expedia so I thought I would stay at holiday inn. Got to the room and started smelling something about 2 hours after being in it. Looked at the wall facing outside and it was riddled with mold. I have pics and video to prove it. I called the front desk and they put me in another room. I walk into that room and it has mold as well. Stayed overnight anyway and now I'm sick along with my two daughters. I took samples of mold and am going to get them analyzed. Worst hotel I have ever stayed at ever. The beds are uncomfartavle as well. All the bed are concave from to much use. Holiday in has not heard the last from me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not their problem

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The listing mentioned a hotel shuttle, but when we landed and called the hotel they told us there was no shuttle, and that we should've checked their website instead of relying on the Expedia listing. When we finally arrived at the hotel and brought it up again, the lady at the desk told us that there was a hotel shuttle, and that we should've gone to a desk at the airport rather than phoning the hotel. The staff had a very "not my problem" attitude to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great Getaway Hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Perfect hotel for any occasion. Celebrated my birthday at a club on Broadway and had this hotel to come back to. Enjoyed so much I extended my nights there for a good price. Staff was friendly and accommodating. They took all of my girlfriends bags and mine to the room easily and even put the stuff in the closet for us. They changed the sheets when we went out daily, which was great. The only bad thing if I had to pick anything was the amount of service at the front desk. When I checked in there was a big line because they only had 1 person behind the desk. Besides that everything was great. Would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from highland ca

Nice hotel close to downtown and shopping areas

Posted Dec 22, 2016
GREAT SERVICE. Great view great area close to shopping areas and cable cars and walking distance to a lot of things in city.