Ratings based on 4,353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Had a Great time. Hotel was close to everything. Thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good Location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Good location if you prefer Fishermans wharf area. Personally would stay elsewhere. Did not like the area and parking was too expensive $40-50 per night so hire a car when you need it only but book in advance as limited availability. Hotel was strangely laid out and we ended up at the Holiday express when we booked the Holiday Inn on Columbus and had to walk a block to our room.. So not so happy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Pier 39 and Alcatraz excursions are within walking distance.
I would stay here again because of the location. It is within walking distance of Pier 39 and all other San Francisco activities. The hotel is old and is in need of new carpeting etc. But over all experience was comfortable and very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alhambra, CA

Very close to the Wharf & restaurants.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Did not smell stuffy. My room smelled very clean. Very comfortable.
Cons: When checking in, one singular line should be formed. Like a bank. Sometimes I can't tell who is next to be checked in. First come first serve concept
Location: Many restaurants, great transportation options.
I am a creature of habit. If I like a hotel, their staff & their services , I return. It is that simple. I find this hotel fits my needs when I travel to San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

customer service by hotel manager at our arrival

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Cons: customer service
my name is Aviv kalinski and my hotel confirmation is 66413589. we have booked and payed for our stay at the hotel before arrival, we have payed for the room and for breakfast ahead of our arrival, we have noticed when we booked and payed that there was an option for parking and the amounts specified where: $20.00 for over night or $50.00 for over night if you wish to take your car out more than once. when we arrived late in the evening we where told by the clerk at the front desk that parking is $50.00, when i said we have noticed there are 2 options one for 420.00 and one for $50.00 i was told there is not but she will talk to here manager, the manager said there is only 1 option and if i do not like it i can go somewhere else, i was shocked to my core, i was never treated like that before especially not by a hotel that i have chosen to stay at, and when i said to him i have made my choice to stay at this hotel and i saw the rate while booking with Expedia he said he will not honor the Expedia deal at his hotel. i have said to him that it is late and i will stay but i am not happy at all he just shrugged and said i could go somewhere else. if your hotel is promoted through Expedia i would assume you will except the terms of the promotion you have chosen, i can not believe that you will allow your manager to behave this way. i have stayed at your hotels before but this is unbelievable i am shocked by this behavior. please respond to my review. aviv 630-650-1780
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairo Egypt

convenient location - fair price

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Generally satisfied with stay - I stayed there several times - My two issues are - bathroom - in two stays had problems with toilet - second issue - why they made me checkout and then checkin when I extended my stay or why they need to charge $50 deposit - hopefully refundable - I normally expect they would charge my card if I use extra services - why the upfront $50
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is average, but close to Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Close to Fisherman's Wharf and other things to do
Cons: The attitude and helpfulness of the staff - from check in to the concierge to the bartender, I was made to feel my questions were an interruption.
Hotel is average in regard to service, cleanliness and amenities, but close to Fisherman's Wharf and other sites in the area. Parking turns out to be $57 per night with tax, which is excessive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worse management at this Holiday Inn hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Front desk was told smelled smoking marijuana every day on our floor during our staying. However, the manager did little or nothing to our complaints. Also our room window was facing the back alley where garbage truck came to collect garbage at 2 in the morning :( Overall the location is excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Superior staff and location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, clean rooms
Cons: To offer coffee in reception area.
Location: Omgosh!! There are restaurants and shopping galore!! Pier 39, ferry excursions, street entertainment...you name it.
All I can say is "WOW"....the staff is amazing!! The woman that checked us in was so accommodating, kind and helpful (unfortunately, I did not get her name). We stayed at the "wharf" building, just a short walk from the 1300 Columbus location. The location was perfect. Reception was clean. Denny's restaurant was located inside the building....overpriced, but convenient. The rooms were super clean, very comfortable and had nice amenities. We received superior service from the front desk clerk (Jade), who helped us with transportation and airline information. I can't wait to go back!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to touristy areas but away from noise.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Parking fee too high.
Location: Fisherman Wharf and North beach restaurantes.
Rooms are spacious but outdated. Location is great. Expensive parking fee ($57!)