Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California / Paris

Clean hotel-vehicle neededcaution cancel policy

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: clean
Location: off Freeway, residential neighborhood, not the most convenient location, but OK. Will need a car to access basic needs, store, restaurants, etc...
Hotel was clean and comfortable, however, one will need a car to access restaurants and other services, in a residential neighborhood just off the freeway. Word of caution, Holiday Inn's "Free Cancellation Policy is deceiving" you will be charged first nights room rate if needed to cancel. Also, caution on Rate, Does not display average price, just the least expensive night... Used phone app to reserve room and didn't notice the cancellation policy and room rates until after I booked and read confirmation on computer. Caution when using App, isn't clear and if you accept quickly, you may be unpleasantly surprised.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great nights sleep

Posted Apr 25, 2016
My second stay here and I'm happier each time this place is great and affordable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Ensure that you call the hotel to arrange your shuttle to the hotel (if you don't have a car). Bed was comfortable, good water pressure in the shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroaches!

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Stayed in a king bed suite. Close to the elevator shaft so very noisy. And the first night there saw and killed 3 cockroaches crawling out from under the in-room microwave. Needless to say, not staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Christine G. , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced while staying on our property. I can assure that any kind of pest issue is something we take very seriously, and is something we take immediate action in resolving. I can also assure these are not issues that happen often at our hotel, and I am sincerely sorry that you encountered such an issue. On behalf of our entire staff, we certainly hope you are willing to give our hotel another try in the future. If we can assist you with an potential future stays, please don't hesitate to contact us. Best Regards, Christine G. Front Office Supervisor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Hotel staff was friendly, it was in a safe & quiet neighborhood. Bed was roomy & comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and the on-site bistro is convenient
Cons:
Location: There are not many options for restaurants or pubs nearby.
The hotel is clean and comfortable. Conveniently located to my office, but not a lot of options for nearby dining. But the on-site bistro is an acceptable alternative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2016 by Christine G. , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I would like to thank you for your recent review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while with us and experienced little to no issues. I do understand the frustration with lack of nearby restaurants to choose from, as unfortunately our hotel is a little bit isolated. Downtown San Mateo isn't too far away and offers a wide variety of places to eat, however without a car it can be a little bit of hassle to get down there. I am glad that you did enjoy our Bistro restaurant, despite it not being your first choice. On behalf our entire staff, we certainly hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Christine Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable room.

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: This was clean hotel with a comfortable room. Very good value.
Location: There were few options for restaurants and entertainment nearby.
The hotel and room were very clean and conveniently located. A little isolated but the restaurant/bar were more than substantial for the one night I stayed. The complimentary breakfast was also good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Room was not ready at check in time, hot tub broken, sauna missing lights. Pros: room was clean and spacious
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2016 by Christine G. , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests, Thank you for your recent review. I would like to sincerely apologize for the troubles you experienced while staying with us. Your review gives our staff the opportunity to acknowledge our short comings and rectify them. I certainly hope you are willing to give our hotel another try in the future, so that we may have the chance to exceed your expectations. Best Regards, Christine Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salinas Ca.

Easy off the freeway

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Easy access off the freeway, overall we had a good nights rest with the exception of the pillows, they were too thick .. I'll be my own pillow next time.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Point Arena

Great

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was really a lovely room and well maintained. Friendly staff and the beds were really comfortable!