Ratings based on 2,379 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Great Location but the rooms are small

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Other than gutting the building and decreasing the number of rooms, nothing really. It's as good as it can be given the existing building and location
Location: Union Square, Market Street, Embarcadero, Civic Center. Longer walks got us to Fishermans Wharf and the Marina. BART is close also.
This hotel is located conveniently near the cable car, BART and Union Square. Its an older building that has had a cosmetic makeover but the bones of the old building (probably an apartment house) remain. Its chopped up and the rooms are small. Still, the staff was very helpful (the manager retrieved my lost phone down the street at a restaurant and shipped it to me) and that location was perfect. I got a great rate so I was very happy with my experience. If you can get this place for a great price, do it. But remember, its not a nice inside as, let's say, a Kimpton Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Walkable to attractions

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The hotel staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Very easy to use uber to get to attractions. Near the cable car and easily walkable. Worth walking to Mr. Holmes bakehouse. Chinatown is close too! Gets cooler and windy at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kanagawa, Japan

Excellent location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice location, yet it was bit noisy at night. However, I satisfied with their service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Comfort Downtown

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I liked that it was close to everything downtown but I didn't like that it was in the tenderloin.
Location: I liked that it was extremely close to the things that I needed on my trip, like my tour pick up and the bart station.
I loved my stay here. It was just what I needed. I loved the complementary bag that you receive when you check in and the voucher for their restaurant. It was very enjoyable. The rooms where very nice and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Australian traveller, Brilliant experience

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The staff and restaurant and general vibe
Cons: Room is a little small but hey, you don't come to SF to hang in your room.
Location: Lots to do, trolley cars, shopping galore, Fisherman's Wharf only a couple of Ks away and countless different tours to explore
This is a fantastic hotel and I can't say enough about the staff, location, comfort and vibe of this establishment. 1 min walk from union square, Westfield's and Powell Street trolley car station. Staff were exceptional, restaurant attached Puccini & Pinetti was outstanding and the room was very comfortable with all the needed amenities expected of a hotel of downtown city hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good hotel spoiled by proximity to a nightclub

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, welcome gifts,
Cons: Refurbish rooms on Ellis Street to remove window mounted and ancient air conditioners - and install triple glazing
Location: Close to Union Square, Market Street Shops
we checked in and we given an Ellis Street facing room which was on the 2nd floor. but nights of our stay were disrupted by noises from the street, (primarily from the Infusion lounge nightclub, which came straight into the room through the window mounted air conditioner. We complained at check out and were given assurance that the hotel would refund 1 night of our stay. If you stay here - insist on a rear facing room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA.

Location is fantastic. Not fancy but nice.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Needed a clean, convenient hotel for a couple of days while visiting SFSU campus with son. Powell street station was less than a five minute walk. Easy access to Bart, Muni, etc. Trolly car station at end of block, and many very good restaurants near by. Hotel was small, clean and friendly. Nice touches with gift bottle of wine on arrival and water in rooms. Pleasantly surprised with a mobile breakfast in the morning as well. Good staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very comfortable beds.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Wine and snacks in room upon arrival. Clean bathroom and very comfortable beds. Breakfast is bag w apple juice, apple, package of nuts and vending type pastry. Lots of street noise but strangely did not bother us in this well built hotel. Helpful and accommodating staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Beth C., Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was comfortable. Stay vibrant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, Fl

Hotel was in the center of SF

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The room was a smaller than I expected and the breakfast was not healthy at all. We stayed in the place because we need to catch early tour to Sonoma
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Beth C, Hotel Management
Greetings Suzie, thank you for giving us a 4 star rating. We appreciate your feedback and are looking into making our grab and go bag healthier. Stay vibrant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location; close to public transportation.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Downtown
Cons: The hotel needs to invest in an actually ice machine. Ice located 2nd and 4th floor you have to pick through the small handmade bags package at hotel
Location: Plenty to do....
The hotel was nice but booking the hotel was a little confusing. The AARP discount was affordable but when you receive your confirmation email all these taxes and fees were included. There was no were during the booking process to see these fees prior to booking. The hotel was listed on the AARP travel center through expedia for $145.00 for one night upon confirmation of booking it was now $215.00. This was the first time I used AARP to book a hotel but not the first time I used expedia not sure why are the fees were hidden. If the fees would have been posted prior to booking I would have found another location to spend the weekend.