Ratings based on 2,346 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location; close to public transportation.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Downtown
Cons: The hotel needs to invest in an actually ice machine. Ice located 2nd and 4th floor you have to pick through the small handmade bags package at hotel
Location: Plenty to do....
The hotel was nice but booking the hotel was a little confusing. The AARP discount was affordable but when you receive your confirmation email all these taxes and fees were included. There was no were during the booking process to see these fees prior to booking. The hotel was listed on the AARP travel center through expedia for $145.00 for one night upon confirmation of booking it was now $215.00. This was the first time I used AARP to book a hotel but not the first time I used expedia not sure why are the fees were hidden. If the fees would have been posted prior to booking I would have found another location to spend the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location, middle of all the shops

Posted Jun 23, 2017
My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night. We called ahead to see if we can check in early and was able to pick our room. We stayed in a room facing the street. The front desk personnel warned us that it might be loud but it didn't really bother us. We were greeted with a welcome bag (granola bags, voss water, a bottle of rosé) The bed was comfortable and the room in general was just the right size. The only bummer was the valet fee of $60 plus tax, which is pretty expensive for a city hotel. And there's also not much amenities like a gym. They also give a bag of light breakfast in the morning, nothing too fancy. I would stay here again but maybe look for another place with cheaper valet service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017
You can hear any noises from the near streets at night. The breakfast "BAG" is just a bag.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Cons: Friendlier staff.
Great location. Nice room, and loved the welcome bag. Terrible food in the attached restaurant, and sad breakfast bag. Only available until 8 am. While on vacation, not heading to the lobby before 8 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value for a Prime Location Near Union Square

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Great value in a prime location. Nice staff and clean rooms with updated bathrooms.
Cons: If at all possible, it would be great to somehow clear up the smell (room 506).
Location: Easy walking distance to all the shops along Market Street and Union Square. Lots of good restaurants and coffee shops to choose from.
Hotel is located just a block from the Powell St trolley boarding area, a couple blocks from Westfield Mall and a few blocks to Union Square. Its a smaller hotel that is hard to spot from the street. Great amenities when checking in, including a gift bag with a bottle of wine, a couple of bottled waters & some snacks. We were able to check in early since a room was available, which was very nice. Hotel is clean and quaint. The only downside is the smell in our room which was the smell of a very old house; the odor hits you hard once you enter the room. Not as noticeable in the lobby or the hallways. The room itself was small but we weren't in it much everyday. Bathrooms were clean & nicely remodeled. They also offered a gift bag for breakfast that we didn't take advantage of, but its a nice touch for those who are interested.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
The build is probably very old and thus smells really bad. Fresh air can not get in. Windows are dirty and no view at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just Fabulous!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
This hotel is everything! The location is pure perfection. In the middle of tourist attractions, the famous San Francisco trolley, shopping, food and safe. The hotel has a restaurant with the best food ever! The hotel is a mix and modern and opulent. I got a welcome gift bag that made my night with wine and water and snacks. The rooms are super clean and bed well best sleep ever! I receive a $10 food credit as a gift and if u dont request bed change they give U another food credit both u can use at the restaurant. See pics below. The staff was also great thank u!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The hotel is kind of hard to find, the door and the sign is not very eye appealing, I pass the entrance two times before I notice it was the entrance. They upgrade my room from a 2 double bed deluxe room to a studio, and the staffs are extremely nice as well. This hotel is the best stay in my 2 weeks west coast trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairhaven, Ma.

vacation stop.

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Comfortable accommodations and Staff very accommodating and helpful.
Cons: Designated Smoking area.
Location: Bus service w/tour guide, hop on hop off, several attractions, informative guides. Restaurants nearby and shops.
Great service! Close to attractions, transportation. Staff very helpful. Enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to restaurants and shopping

Posted May 28, 2017
We loved staying at hotel Abri we could walk to cable cars and also walk to different areas of San Francisco. Staff were pleasant and helpful.