Ratings based on 1,675 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great hotel and city, but it breaks my heart now

Posted Aug 28, 2015
The hotel is really good, in a very convenient location, with very helpful staff. No fault there. San Francisco is my favourite city outside the UK and I took my girlfriend there for her first visit. She enjoyed the things we saw and had looked forward to seeing, but the number of aggressive homeless people really got to her. Both on the streets and on the public transport we used. At the airport on the way home she admitted she wished we had gone back to New York instead, or even stayed somewhere in the UK. She was disappointed that it wasn't the relaxing break she expected, and I'm disappointed that my hope we'd go back to San Francisco every few years probably isn't going to happen. You really need to get the city to sort this out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful hotel close to union square

Posted Aug 28, 2015
The staff was wonderful! Upgraded our room to accommodate adjoining rooms for our birthday celebration. The room was a corner room, fireplace, refrig, sitting area, sofa sleeper-beautiful bathroom. Welcome gift also great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard, Ca

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Hotel was on point! Staff was very helpful and frendly! Interiror decor of this Hotel was amazing. Definetly want to return to Abri for another adventure. The locatoin is key, because it is right arond the corner from where the cable cars head out to Fisherman's Warf and so many places to shop and eat just steps aways from there as well :) One of the Best exepriences I had visiting SF, thank you team Abri!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno,NV

Rooms smell

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Employees very professional, excellent service. However rooms smell musty, it smells like 100yr old building it is. Fix this and you have a nice facility,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Excellent location

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: The size of the rooms
I was very disappointed about the size of the room. We had a Deluxe Double Room for 4 people and it felt so claustrophobic we ended up getting a second room. The best part of this hotel is the location and the staff was very accommodating and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel proche de tout

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Personnel accueillant et serviable. Hotel proche de tout, les déplacements sont facilités. Chambre impeccable. Lit douillet et surface convenable. Petit bémol pour l'armoire inexistante. Mais nous nous sommes organisés. Nous avions un vol de nuit et nos bagages ont été gardés afin de nous permettre de profiter de la journée.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park, CA

Hotel in San Francisco in the thick of it all.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: You get a swag bag with sparkling wine, Voss water, chips and a granola bar and the bag is a backpack. Location is great, rooms are fabulous.
Cons: Consider lowering the pet fee since they offer nothing for your pet. Most hotels offer amenities for your pet for such a high price.
Location: Near Union Square, Japan town, China Town, little Saigon, walking distance to Civic Center, and a plethora of museums.
My Husband and I had a wonderful time at this hotel, it was our first get away after our wedding earlier this summer. The Room we ended up with was very nice! I thought we had signed up for a queen room but what we got was a king suite, awesome!. You will not get in before 3pm so don't bother trying. We were in the rooms that face the center of the building with a view of the roof that they try to make look nicer by putting potted plants out. I don't care about the view, as most of our time was spent outside of the hotel anyway. We were not put off by any noise that we did hear, as we were quite loud and boisterous ourselves. I don't understand the complaints about the noise, as you are in the heart of the city, it will be noisy. The staff was great!, the hotel is connected to Puccini and Pinetti, and you get a $10 credit there per day when you stay there, and two complimentary glasses of wine. Staying here you are two blocks from Union Square, there is tons of shopping and eats near by. This place is pet friendly, however there is a $75 a day pet fee, and no pet amenities, which makes the pet fee a bit unreasonable. Considering most people that travel with pets do not bring unruly animals with them, I doubt my 10lb beasty made a $75 impact to the hotel or grounds. If there were amenities that catered to your pet, I could understand it, but no pet relief area, poop bags, water bowls, beds, inclusion in swag bag, etc. makes me think that this pet fee is a little bogus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asia... Temp USA

Noisy...Small

Posted Aug 17, 2015
As a Gold Member, we receive automatic room upgrade... As stated by the front desk staff, "One of our BIG suites"... The entry room was about 9m2. (100 sqft), the bedroom was 9m2, (100 sqft), and the bathroom was 6m2, (65 sqft)... We know everything in San Fran is packed together and land is at a premium, but even throughout Asia where the cities are more crowded, you can get a real suite especially for $220+ per night... Parking is always a joke in San Fran so we used the hotel valet for $50 per day... Amazing we have to rent a room for our car... Of course the Cable Car Turn-a-bout is around the corner... Just follow the 200 person que to get on... Then it is $7 per person one way and they pack you in like the Hong Kong Subway... Our return taxi was less and very comfortable...Basically, be sure to bring a lot of money if you want to visit San Francisco... Hawaii is less expensive...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Breakfast not included, but free ROACHES!!!

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing. Overpriced, tiny rooms, no amenities in rooms (window air unit, no fridge etc)
Cons: Hotel staff should be more accommodating and helpful in these situations or lower your rates to match the service and facility value.
Location: Lots of shopping, nice bakeries and restaurants. Located really close to a parking garage.
Upon check-in we were slammed with an incidental fee of over $100 which was quite a shock and wasn't mentioned until after they ran my card. We entered the room which was nicely furnished but smaller than a closet. Not what we expected for what we paid - which was sizeable. The one thing I was excited about was to take a nice relaxing shower. As soon as I exited the shower I am greeted by a new friend -- a nice 2.5 inch roach chilling fat and happy on the wall of my "luxury" hotel room. My boyfriend took pictures and took them to the front desk. A man came in to squash him and they relocated us to a new room. When I went back to the desk to ask if there was some way they could compensate me for this I was scoffed at and sent on my way. The least they could have done was some free breakfast or a reduced rate considering I was only staying for one night. I flew all the way from Michigan and after paying hundreds of dollars its definitely what I would consider a 4 star experience. By no means I am a snob or rent expensive hotel rooms often but I expected it to be better than the Motel 6 I stayed in a couple nights prior. Do not stay here unless you are seeking to adopt a new pet and be kept awake by a humming WINDOW air conditioner unit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Lovely suite

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Very centrally located. Room service good. Best burger of the holiday.