Ratings based on 1,682 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dodgy area and too noisy

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Close to shops
Cons: Area is unsafe
Lots of crazies all around hotel. Rooms ok. Free internet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

OK Hotel, dodgy location.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Overall location was very convenient, but immediate neighborhood was somewhat "rough".
Cons: The lobby is too small to offer any real breakfast items, so until the remodel/new restaurant is completed, they shouldn't be advertising breakfast.
First room shown was totally unacceptable. Second room was fine. Staff friendly and helpful. If breakfast is included in description, that is not accurate. What was provided wasn't even a continental breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Dean, Thank you for your review of Hotel Bijou. I am sorry that you felt that our Continental Breakfast offerings of a Danish, whole fruit, bottled water, yogurt and coffee was not acceptable. However, being in the Union Square area is helpful for our guests to get around. While our hotel is located on the outskirts of the Tenderloin, we work hard with the authorities to keep our area as safe as possible. Thank you for your business. Allen Chin General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

An excellent location...

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Location, especially in regards to access to restaurants and mass transit
Cons: Your only choice for pillows are feather, and the mattress was extremely firm - we had trouble resting on it. A coffee maker would have been welcome.
Location: A block from the Powell Street BART station made airport transfer easy. There were 3 24h diners within 6 blocks (we're night owls).
..., and very convenient for using mass transit instead of renting a car, though valet parking is available. It's a very quaint establishment, with lots of decor to match the theme - movies set/filmed in San Francisco. Check in was efficient, and the stairs/elevator are as expected in an older San Francisco hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, I am sorry that we didn't have an alternative to feather pillows for you. We will endeavor to fix this issue and have a limited supply of feather free products. With the advent of Uber and Lyft, plus the proximity to BART, Muni and the Cable Cars our guess don't necessarily need to rent a car on a visit to San Francisco. I am happy to see that our staff met your needs. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to San Francisco. Allen Chin General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad neighborhood

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: everything.
Hotel staff are very nice but the hotel location is the worst,very loud outside people fighting everynight and a dirty area on the outside. The hotel itself is old and not updated at all. The cleaning crew did not clean the toilet seat as I found pee stains on it. The price was ok but I would never stay here again or recommend it anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The breakfast is a small bottle of water, pastry, and an apple. A yogurt is also provided. Quick and effective. I also left a power supply of my laptop in my room when checking out, but the attendant kindly looked it up for me that night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina!!!

Eclectic for sure!!!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Great hotel. It was just snigger for us on our way to Maui but can't wait to stay next time in San Fran !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Great staff

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Great staff, easy check in. No issues. Hotel could use some renovations but in good walking distance of a lot of places. Overall enjoyed very much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

horrible, dirty, very small rooms, dark, no up dat

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
we could not stay, dirty, run down, unfriendly manager, dark rooms, too small
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Decent value for money

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Good location 1 block from Powell BART, but adjacent to seedy area. Room was fine, but wifi was terrible, which forced me to go down to lobby to get get reasonable wifi connection. "Breakfast" in brown paper bag was underwhelming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Ok, but in scary neighborhood

Posted Jan 6, 2017
We stayed here thinking it was close to pier 39. You had to go up and down the crazy SF hills. Once you get there the you have to either do valet parking which is $40-$50+ tax or park down the street which is again $30-$50. It is right in the middle of extremely large buildings. It is very loud outside at night. We had to keep the TV on top hide the outside noise. There were homeless people outside all night also. I was scared to leave my car and walk to the motel. The rooms are extremely small, no fridge or microwave. Their "breakfast" was horrible. A brown bag with a water, banana, and nutra grain bar. They had yogert as well. They had coffee and hot water all night for teas or hot chocolate. The staircase is tight but kind of cool. The hotel staff was nice. I personally would never stay again.