Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel in great position, beware heat/stairs

Posted May 7, 2017
Tough one this. The position could not be better for eateries. Tony's pizza around corner, Greco, Puccini's across road for good breakfast, no problem eating well. The hotel is 100 yrs old, tastefully renovated however in hot weather-hotbox. If you can't climb narrow stairs with cases- forget it. If you would like to watch TV at end if busy day-forget it, minute TV in corner. Staff can't do enough for you and the cleaner is a pearler.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Make sure you don't have kids

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Has a cool atmosphere. What it doesn't have is AC and elevator. Good for heavy sleepers without children. It really is unique and well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
I loved Hotel Boheme because of its charm and uniqueness. The rooms were very clean and had great architectural features such as curved ceilings and irregularly shaped rooms; nothing cookie cutter about it. It is centrally located, an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Coit Tower, and a fabulous place to get coffee right across the street that opens at 6:00 AM for us early risers! Everyone at the front desk was very kind and helpful and in the evening a tray with cream sherry and glasses was set out for the guests; great to come back to after a day of exploring. I felt very at home at Hotel Boheme and when I am fortunate enough to return to San Francisco this is where I will stay.
5 out of 5
by Deborah

well situated , gorgeous hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Boheme did not disappoint, with it's unique style and a location just perfect in making it the heart of San Francisco. My room was quaint and welcoming as if I was staying with a friend. And even though the room was situated right at the top of the stairs there was never an issue with sounds of other guests coming and going. Room was immaculately cleaned for me, crisp white linen and the most comfortably firm mattress to sleep at night. there is everything that you need right there on the street below and I highly recommend taking advantage of the little Italian cake shop right next door that is open till late every night ( for anyone who is an avid tea drinker in the evenings like myself , the large cups are large enough to get you through till morning, as there is no complimentary tea/coffee bar ) situated right on Columbus Avenue ( in Little Italy ) it is an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Lombard Street, City Lights books for avid readers/writers/poets. I highly recommend the Bike riding across the Golden Gate Bridge to visit the little town of Sausalito for a nice lunch than take the ferry back into the Wharf. without a doubt I would stay here again ...
5 out of 5
by Liza

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel near Italian town n Chinatown . Room is clean, neat and bathroom was clean. The receptionist was nice and helpful. Will come back again.
5 out of 5
by Vania

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
For me the five things I look for in a hotel are LOCATION, cleanliness, service, charm, and safety. This hotel excelled in all those categories. The service is unique and personal. Sherry in the evenings, friendly authentic staff. The room was clean, whimsical, full of charm and character. And the location just can not be beat. If you love being off the beaten path and really getting to know a city not just bring another mindless drone tourist then this hotel is the perfect t place for you. I will stay here from here on out and glad I found my second home in SF.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique charm in interesting neighborhood

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very responsive staff, interesting location, seemed a bit overpriced, heater didn't have a thermostat so inconsistent heating at night was a challenge for sleeping, comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Quaint ambience. Good thing we were healthy enough to walk the flights of stairs up to the reception area and then another flight to our rooms.
Cons: Prepare you for the locked door at the street level. Took us by surprise.
Location: Beach Blanket Babylon, Coit Tower, Cathedral of St. Peter and Paul, great restaurants. We loved it !
Loved it's location in North Beach. Walking distance to everything we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

location, location, location

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: the location of the hotel is # 1, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is quaint with an old style charm
Cons: The rooms are small with just the basics, our room had no air conditioner, the TV is the size of a 14" lap top computer. There is no elevator
Location: The location is in the heart of little Italy, with China Town right around the corner, many great restaurants and bars. Coit Tower is walking distance
spent the week end in the little Italy district and had a great birthday weekend. Many things to do in the area that only walking distance away. North Beach has many restaurants and shopping and a different cultures all in the same area that make it an adventure. We were able to walk to fisherman's wharf which is fun with many activities to take part in.