Ratings based on 3,666 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Greates staff. Loved the Carlton and hopefully will come back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and nice location. Staff are nice.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: location good, room nice and clean, staff friendly
I love this hotel when I walked in. The only problem is I could not do parallel parking on the street, but they took care of it. The room is clean and neat, which really pleases me since I just had bad experience with last motel I stayed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, but heating system didn't work.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Clean... but there wasn't some items, ex) toothbrush, heating system. Little cold at the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Union Square

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The staff makes the stay all the more better! It is close to a brunch restaurant (that the Staff recommended us to go) called, Mymys. It was super delicious!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy!!!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everething
Very noisy hotel. I stayed two nights and the experience was terrible. The room faced a courtyard and I could hear everything from the street. The doors were very low quality and every time someone from other room close the door you could hear it. The heating didn't work and around 6am started to make noise. I warned to get it fixed but no one did it. So, next day around 6am started to make noises again and of course did not work it. Very expensive hotel without much value and not to be able to rest well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Overall nice hotel, good decoration, clean, only room is a little bit small
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The hotel was wonderful. My friend and I stayed for 4 nights. The staff was kind and helpful. My favorite thing was the wine and live music in the lobby, all musicians welcomed. On that note I wished they had a fridge in the rooms for those nights we wanted to save the wonderful food sanfrancisco had to offer. Despite lacking a fridge and microwave, the hotel was wonderful the muni stops right in front of the hotel however, we could literally walk anywhere from Larkin or van Ness. Also keep in mind to stay away from the tenderloin district a few blocks away. Please note it doesn't take away from this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Very pleasant boutique hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
From check in to check out the staff went out of their way to be sure my staff was comfortable. I happened to be in the city during one of the worst storm weeks in many years - they made sure I had an umbrella, transportation, knew of the places that would deliver food if I didn't feel like venturing out for dinner. Rooms were spotless, great housekeeping. Hotel location perfect to some really great restaurants. Walking to shopping (if not for the rain) very easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, TN

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere in the lobby.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby.
At first I didn't think I would like it. The staff was super friendly. The room was very comfortable. Freen wine & music in the lobby every evening. Great atmosphere. I loved it & will return!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel good/restaurant not good

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff and bellman. The water purifiers in the hall and the water pitchers and Coffee/tea makers in the room. Happy hour in the lobby.
Cons: Everything about the restaurant. Cold, loud, too bright, terrible service and mediocre to poor food. The noise of the housekeepers.
Location: Walking distance to the Recency Ballroom and Union Square.
The front of house staff is so great (front desk, bellman, etc). The rooms are nice. The maids are incredibly loud, yelling to each other while working morning and evening. They are super loud with the glasses and coffee cups. Our whole group had to use ear plugs and it was still not sufficient. The happy hour is great fun. The restaurant was beyond disappointing. The old one was great. We booked for 20 people two months in advance. We were a half hour late (all in the lobby at happy hour with one of our party in the restaurant. They did not come get us. There was only one other table in the restaurant the whole time we were there. It took a very long time for the one waitress of the whole bar, and restaurant to take our order. We were constantly out of water. There was no salt and pepper for the table. At an hour and a half we had received two tiny salads. The cevice appetizers had yet to show up when they started bringing out entrees. One burger smelled of fish. No one's food was good. The waitress yelled at me when I asked that she cancel the cevice and asked where our dinner was. The manager scolded our host and said he and the chef were cooking as fast as they could and that 20 people were challenging and we needed to be more patient. Several people had to leave for our event without eating. We received no apology or discount and our host was mortified. Because of this our group will be dining and staying elsewhere next year