Ratings based on 3,669 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will stay again!

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nice large, comfortable room. Loved the wine recptio. At check in. Good restaurant recommendations just around the corner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel good/restaurant not good

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff and bellman. The water purifiers in the hall and the water pitchers and Coffee/tea makers in the room. Happy hour in the lobby.
Cons: Everything about the restaurant. Cold, loud, too bright, terrible service and mediocre to poor food. The noise of the housekeepers.
Location: Walking distance to the Recency Ballroom and Union Square.
The front of house staff is so great (front desk, bellman, etc). The rooms are nice. The maids are incredibly loud, yelling to each other while working morning and evening. They are super loud with the glasses and coffee cups. Our whole group had to use ear plugs and it was still not sufficient. The happy hour is great fun. The restaurant was beyond disappointing. The old one was great. We booked for 20 people two months in advance. We were a half hour late (all in the lobby at happy hour with one of our party in the restaurant. They did not come get us. There was only one other table in the restaurant the whole time we were there. It took a very long time for the one waitress of the whole bar, and restaurant to take our order. We were constantly out of water. There was no salt and pepper for the table. At an hour and a half we had received two tiny salads. The cevice appetizers had yet to show up when they started bringing out entrees. One burger smelled of fish. No one's food was good. The waitress yelled at me when I asked that she cancel the cevice and asked where our dinner was. The manager scolded our host and said he and the chef were cooking as fast as they could and that 20 people were challenging and we needed to be more patient. Several people had to leave for our event without eating. We received no apology or discount and our host was mortified. Because of this our group will be dining and staying elsewhere next year
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome value.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
In walking distance of many restaurants, bars, shops. Happy hour nightly. Has it's own restaurant, but they have no room service. Very clean. Only complaint is that the flimsy wooden door separating my room from next door was thin enough that it might as well have been left open because I could hear EVERYTHING that went on. LOL
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The walls are paper thin

Posted Jan 18, 2017
I'll start off by saying that the hotel is lovely and quaint with great amenities and a very kind staff. My biggest issue was that the walls were paper thin. I couldn't get a good nights sleep either of my nights at the hotel because I could hear every single noise the room next to me was making. The gentleman next door was snoring/ coughing/ talking. Wet loudly throughout most of the night and early morning. It felt like he was in my bathroom I could hear everything so clearly. Maybe I just got a bad pick for a room, but if I can't get a good nights sleep then this isn't the hotel for me. I also know it wasn't intentional, but the staff also swiped my credit card three times instead of one for the final hotel amount. So now I'm stuck with theee pending charges on my credit card waiting to see if two of them go away.
4 out of 5
by joobin

Clean hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
It`s really good hotel for nice price, and comfortable room and mood. But one thing is Cons that climate control is terrible. radiator was control by hotel, so a little bit cold.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Carlton is worth it!

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly and hip hotel. DJ and happy hour in the lobby on a Saturday night. World art on walls. Comfortable room- heater a little slow to get started, but it is an old hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Easy parking right across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good enough

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Close to a conference. Great staff in hotel and restaurant. Room is a bit tired but clean.