Ratings based on 3,295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Fabulous Staff and hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, helpful staff, quiet hotel, dog friendly, clean
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's in SF and Union Square is nearby. We attended the Nutcracker at the Opera House.
I stay in hotels frequently for business and am so accustomed to almost rote like folks that when we arrived I was knocked off my feet by how friendly ALL of the staff was and it wasn't just the greeting as they were so helpful and friendly the entire time. I loved this hotel. It's such a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. We will absolutely come back here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good hotel for a few days stay in San Francisco

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Clean and homely
Cons: The walls are quite thin, resulting in occasional noises. But it is still bearable.
Location: Mr Holmes - cruffins!
Pleasant experience in a clean and welcoming hotel. Staff makes you feel at home from the moment you check into the hotel. Hotel is near to the airport with airport shuttle available. Good location - near to union square and cafes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Really nice hotel, very clean and cozy.

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Location: We were very close to the famous Lombard st. and not too far from Pier 39. There were a few local bars near us that kept us entertained at night.
Had no trouble checking in. The staff was very friendly and attentive. It was a great place to stay. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Europe

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Overall, the Carlton Hotel was excellent value for money. The staff are efficent, friendly and make you feel very welcome. All facilites worked as expected. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from Union Square and as a consequence the place is more quiet then some hotels at or right by Union while being sufficiently close. l will most definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel in Downtown

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Die Lage war gut, das Zimmer jeden Tag aufs Neue geputzt und sehr sauber, schnelles WLAN. Freundliches Personal.
Cons: Die Fenster könnten besser abdichten, das Zimmer ist relativ hellhörig gewesen.
Location: in Downtown, nur ein paar Blocks vom Union Square. Nette Bars und Restaurants in der Nähe.
Sehr freundlicher und hilfsbereiter check-in. Das Zimmer war gut, aber wie in alle amerikanischen Häusern gibt es nur sehr einfache Fenster, so dass man doch einiges von der Straße hört. Das Zimmer wurde jeden Tag gesäubert. Für San Francisco ein guter Tipp und für dort ein ordentliches Preis/Leistungs Verhältnis (Man kann die USA nicht mit euröpäischen Hotels vergleichen, im direkten Vergleich wäre es ein Stern weniger).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Good location and rate. Ask for a high floor rear facing room. Light filled and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MEX

De descanso por un par de noches!

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Llegamos a este hotel de noche, el personal desde el motor lobby fue muy amable y rápido recibiendo nuestro coche ($27 usd parking & valet por día), el check in también muy efectivo y encontramos la habitación muy linda y cómoda. Este hotel ofrece transportación gratuita a Universal Studios lo cual me parece excelente ya que ahorras también el estacionamiento, muy buena ubicación, aunque caminando no hay nada realmente cerca.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

快適な滞在

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: 夕方17:30〜18:00頃のWIne reception、ウォーターサーバーがあるのでお水を購入する必要がないこと、1階のウォーターサーバー隣に電子レンジがあること、
Cons: シャワーの音、お隣の部屋や廊下での話し声、同じフロアの扉の開け閉め等々、もう少し防音できないものか。
Location: Powell Station辺りからホテルに戻る際はTenderloinを通らない様注意が必要
オシャレな内装、親切なレセプション、行き届いた掃除、Powell Station 辺りからは少し歩くが静かで落ち着いた周辺環境、とても快適な滞在でした。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr gute Lage für Unternehmungen in Downtown

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: unkomplizierter Check in, Lage
Location: Zentral mit Ausgangspunkt zu den wichtigsten Sehenwürdigkeiten
Preis/Leistungsverhältnis Sehr Gut. Service und Auskunft hervorragend. Ca. 10 bis 15 Gehminuten zum Union Square und Umgebung sowie zum Civic Center und der anschließenden Hayes Street (Bars und Restaurants). Weitere Bars, Restaurants in unmittelbarer Umgebung. Gute Anbindung an das öffentliche Verkehrsnetz. Taxikosten zu Pier 39 ca. 12.- $, zum Ferry Building 9.-$. Für diesen Preis kann ich das Hotel nur weiter empfehlen. Wir hatten ein zweckmäßiges und sauberes Zimmer mit zwei getrennten Betten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from compton ca

Friendliest staff

Posted Dec 1, 2015
This hotel was great the staff was so friendly the rooms were nice and it's just so perfect it's basically a 30 minute bus ride from any sf tourist attraction