Ratings based on 3,818 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The hotel staff was amazing! They upgraded me to a better room at no cost. The room's aesthetic was beautiful and eclectic. The bed was alright but really stiff so if you want the pillow top mattress experience, I don't think you'll find it here. All in all, it was a good hotel at a great price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It has a lovely vibe downstairs but the rooms....

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Unfortunately the rooms are not up to scratch and feels like a very cheap overhaul of an old fashioned hotel. The noise from the hallway and the maids coming early (before 9am) meant we didn't get much rest. The room itself needs a complete refurb - it was ok and clean but old fashioned and air con should be added. The restaurant and bar area is lovely and check in staff super nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017
It's one of the very nices places to stay they went beyond the normal to make my dogs feel like home if I needed my car it was no problem having them bring it up they were great with ideas for food or places to see. The whole staff was the best I would really recommend this hotel to everyone especially if you like wine which they offer for free every night at 5:00 it was clean and easy to go in and out I'm planning to bring my friends in March for a event
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Decent

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Older style hotel but a good location and excellent front desk and restaurant staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

SF Downtown Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Wine reception in the lobby, friendly staff.
Cons: The room was hot. I was not all that impressed with the condition of the room.
Location: The location was in downtown SF which was nice but the surrounding neighborhood was pretty rough.
The hotel has a charming feel and the staff is very friendly. I liked that there was a daily wine reception from 5:30PM - 6:00PM as well as live music. I was not particularly fond of the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel with character and characters!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Most everything, with the exception of the state of the streets around.
Cons: City sanitation.
Location: There were places to eat in the hotel and nearby. Tourist attractions were a little further away, but the public transport system works well.
Hotel staff were able to roll with some booking changes through Expedia.ca and handled it well. I found the hotel itself, the facilities and staff to be comfortable and interesting. I liked the sense of quirkiness about the people and place. It didn't feel impersonal, like so many hotels. It was also fairly central, which was good for walking and catching public transportation. My only problem was the state of the streets outside, with the smell of human excrement around the hotel and downtown San Francisco. Sad state of affairs for the homeless and the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Staff Makes the Difference

Posted Sep 15, 2017
My 7 year old son and I stayed for 5 nights. The hotel itself was fine. The staff were very helpful. In particular, Theo went out of his way to make our stay fantastic and had the perfect suggestions for restaurants in the area. He even taught my son how to make a paper dodecahedron (I think I got the name correct). I can't say enough about how fantastic staff can make a trip memorable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Well located comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to the cable cars, and to 101 - a great city thoroughfare.
Cons: A/C. The ice machine couldn't keep up.
Location: Cable cars, bus routes, BART, early morning coffee shops, very nice grocery store.
My girlfriend and I were there for 4 days in early September. Everything we needed was within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Perfect location central to all the sights

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We arrived at the Hotel Carlton during the complimentary wine serving early evening, the atmosphere in reception was very welcoming and the staff couldn't assist enough. The room was clean and comfortable and we were provided with a complimentary fridge. The location was perfect for the areas we wanted to visit during our stay. Would definitely return to this hotel if visiting San Fransisco in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Carlton hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Great location, very clean and safe, excellent staff but even though we do not need any air conditioning and fridge in the room, it'd be perfect If we have had that option 👍👍👍