Ratings based on 3,423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida, Istanbul

Great Vacation getaway

Posted Jul 16, 2016
This is my first stay at Hotel Carlton and it was an amazing experience. We were upgraded even before our arrival. Once we arrived the check in process was quick and staff was very helpful. The hotel is located close to all the amazing areas in the city. The hotels wine reception was great with live music every day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel centrico

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Desde el hotel es fácil visitar la ciudad, la habitación no era enorme pero suficiente para un hotel de ciudad en Usa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A few blocks too close to the bad part of town..

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Don't get me wrong, this is a welcoming and a decent place to stay...but the location is a bit raw and towards the wrong part of town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mount Hamilton, CA

Friendly, Casual, Lively, Unpretentious

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: I like the colors and global style. I also love that they have a floor for guests who bring their dogs, which we sometimes do.
Cons: I think it's just fine as it is. It's not trying to be a luxury hotel and it isn't priced like one.
Location: Get tips from the front desk. We go to Toast on Polk St. for breakfast because they have gluten-free options.
It's the kind of place where guests may actually chat with each other in the elevators or lounges. Tours, backpackers, locals, all very friendly. We stayed there for a weekend-long wedding at the Lodge, and it couldn't have been more convenient. We also stay there frequently when we come to the city for evening events, because we live a long drive away in the mountains.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Always great

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The location can't be beat if you want easy access to all the great areas in and around the city. It is an old hotel that has charm
Cons: My only criticism is that the walls are thin. If you get a noisy neighbor, it is annoying. Otherwise, this is a rare jewel!
Location: Polk St. for shopping and dining.. Great little breakfast "greasy spoon" up the street called, "Golden Coffee". Easy access to public transportation
My daughter and I stay at The Hotel Carlton about once a year while in San Francisco for business and fun
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pretty & stylish hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: It was a great price for how nice it was.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: You can walk just about anywhere.
Our room was bright, cheery and very clean. The lobby was stylish & the staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles,Ca.

Hotel Carlton

Posted Jul 5, 2016
We stayed at the hotel because it had good reviews and it was in walking distance to The Great American Music Hall. Hotel Carlton meet all our needs and expectations. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Very accommodating and friendly. The hosed wine in the lobby in the afternoon is nice too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2016
This hotel is next to a very questionable neighbourhood
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nicely renovated, but the walls remain thin.

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Sound proofing.
We've stayed at the Carlton twice now. I actually didn't mean to book it a second time, but I'd forgotten we had stayed there previously. The staff is super welcoming and the location is good. And if you stay on the top floor with a room towards the back, the room has no street noise. The challenge is the other guests. The hotel is an old property and, although it has had a lovely and needed renovation on the rooms, the walls are thin.