Ratings based on 3,581 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Very pleasant boutique hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
From check in to check out the staff went out of their way to be sure my staff was comfortable. I happened to be in the city during one of the worst storm weeks in many years - they made sure I had an umbrella, transportation, knew of the places that would deliver food if I didn't feel like venturing out for dinner. Rooms were spotless, great housekeeping. Hotel location perfect to some really great restaurants. Walking to shopping (if not for the rain) very easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, TN

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere in the lobby.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby.
At first I didn't think I would like it. The staff was super friendly. The room was very comfortable. Freen wine & music in the lobby every evening. Great atmosphere. I loved it & will return!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel good/restaurant not good

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff and bellman. The water purifiers in the hall and the water pitchers and Coffee/tea makers in the room. Happy hour in the lobby.
Cons: Everything about the restaurant. Cold, loud, too bright, terrible service and mediocre to poor food. The noise of the housekeepers.
Location: Walking distance to the Recency Ballroom and Union Square.
The front of house staff is so great (front desk, bellman, etc). The rooms are nice. The maids are incredibly loud, yelling to each other while working morning and evening. They are super loud with the glasses and coffee cups. Our whole group had to use ear plugs and it was still not sufficient. The happy hour is great fun. The restaurant was beyond disappointing. The old one was great. We booked for 20 people two months in advance. We were a half hour late (all in the lobby at happy hour with one of our party in the restaurant. They did not come get us. There was only one other table in the restaurant the whole time we were there. It took a very long time for the one waitress of the whole bar, and restaurant to take our order. We were constantly out of water. There was no salt and pepper for the table. At an hour and a half we had received two tiny salads. The cevice appetizers had yet to show up when they started bringing out entrees. One burger smelled of fish. No one's food was good. The waitress yelled at me when I asked that she cancel the cevice and asked where our dinner was. The manager scolded our host and said he and the chef were cooking as fast as they could and that 20 people were challenging and we needed to be more patient. Several people had to leave for our event without eating. We received no apology or discount and our host was mortified. Because of this our group will be dining and staying elsewhere next year
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome value.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
In walking distance of many restaurants, bars, shops. Happy hour nightly. Has it's own restaurant, but they have no room service. Very clean. Only complaint is that the flimsy wooden door separating my room from next door was thin enough that it might as well have been left open because I could hear EVERYTHING that went on. LOL
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The walls are paper thin

Posted Jan 18, 2017
I'll start off by saying that the hotel is lovely and quaint with great amenities and a very kind staff. My biggest issue was that the walls were paper thin. I couldn't get a good nights sleep either of my nights at the hotel because I could hear every single noise the room next to me was making. The gentleman next door was snoring/ coughing/ talking. Wet loudly throughout most of the night and early morning. It felt like he was in my bathroom I could hear everything so clearly. Maybe I just got a bad pick for a room, but if I can't get a good nights sleep then this isn't the hotel for me. I also know it wasn't intentional, but the staff also swiped my credit card three times instead of one for the final hotel amount. So now I'm stuck with theee pending charges on my credit card waiting to see if two of them go away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good enough

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Close to a conference. Great staff in hotel and restaurant. Room is a bit tired but clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for San Francisco.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The staff was excellent and the hotel overall was nice. however, the building is old so you hear your neighbors and any outdoor noise all night. The room was a good size and for the most part clean. unfortunately there were a few strands of hair in the bathroom that the cleaning person must have missed but otherwise it looked clean. The bed wa large and comfortable and the decor was nice. Staff at the bar downstairs was also friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Close to Everything

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Had a great time in this quirky hotel. THe decore is quite unusual but awesome. No particular theme but everything blended in in the artdeco hotel.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to restaurants and Union Square.
No hassles, clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Free wine tasting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice Hotel Close to Union Square (about 4 blocks)

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: I liked the decor and the cleanliness. The beds were super comfortable. The closets were very big too.
Cons: The roll away crib was a pack and play and it was old and a bit torn.
Location: Union square is 4 blocks away. Take a cable care to Fisherman's Wharf from Union Square. We bought Muni bus passes (3 days passport), went everywhere.
The staff was always very friendly and helpful. I stayed 4 nights with my family, so we needed a lot of extras like hangers, towels, blankets, baby crib, even toothbrushes, and they always obliged politely. Our heater was out the first night we were there, they said they were sending up a space heater, but they sent a maintenance person who fired up the wall heater right away. The rooms was always very clean and nice when we came back from a day of exploring San Francisco. The toiletries were always well stocked, including shampoo, conditioner, body wash. All in all, we had a very pleasant experience. The only reason I would choose a different place to stay next time, is to get to know other hotels in the city, but I would still definitely recommend this one to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philippines

Nice and affordable hotel compare to others

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Good experience. Staffs were really nice helpful and professional; commendable.