Ratings based on 3,383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel near the action

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Great Service, good food, felt safe inside the hotel.
Cons: Old building, could use a face lift.
Location: Multiple and countless bars and restaurants nearby. It was difficult to decide at times. I suggest a tour bus to see the many popular sites in S.F.
Nice staff, very friendly and service attentive. Indian style restaurant inside had a great breakfast (pancakes) and there was a cool bar/pizza place next door to hotel which was also great. The room was small for my taste but provided everything I needed. I asked for a frig. and received it promptly. The only issue was the air conditioner/heater which we couldn't turn on but fortunately we were not really of need of it due to the weather during our stay. Valet will cost you but I think it's worth it. The area is downtown and not particularly clean but it was a short walk to central park area where we commuted by bus to the tourist hot spots.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Posted Apr 11, 2016
For a week long stay, you would think there would be complimentary laundry service. I couldnt believe it was a charged service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to shopping

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Definitely enjoyed my stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 25, 2016
It was my third time at the Carlton and overall I think it has the best value for money in San Francisco. The restaurant is great too and the staff is funny and welcoming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from creemore, ontario

Affordable hotel close to Union Square

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel had a nice atmosphere, it is an old restored building and has been nicely decorated.
Cons: Better soundproofing
Location: Just a few blocks from Union Square and from the Powell and California cable cars. Also on the Sutter bus line.
This hotel met our needs. The room was quite spacious, with a large closet in which we could place our bags, shoes etc so that it was easy to keep the room neat. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, they have wine in the lobby from 5-6.00 pm each day, which is very welcoming after a long day of sightseeing. The situation is close enough to walk to many areas but is also easily accessible by San Francisco's excellent transport system. There is a very good middle eastern restaurant attached to the hotel. We enjoyed a breakfast and a dinner there. The hotel is noisy, both internal noise and external. It is near a hospital, so sirens were audible all the time. Make sure you have earplugs! I would stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paper thin walls

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Everything about this hotel is adequate or better, except that the walls are paper thin. I kept thinking people were actually in my room, but it was just the neighbours. Nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly

OK hotel in a good location

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Professional and attentive staff
Cons: Walls are very thin
Location: Walk to Union Square, bars and restaurants in the area
Stayed at Carlton while attending a conference at the Mosconi Center.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to GAMH

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: The colorful decoration and the cleanliness of our room
Cons: Maybe a little less cost of overnight parking---$35.00
It has a lot of charm, since it was built in the 20's. It has been updated and very colorful. We stayed here because it was within walking distance of the Great American Music Hall. We were happy about the wine tasting in the lobby and our breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the old part of San Francisco but no

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Nice hotel in the old part of San Francisco but not for me. The hotel has character and design. Breakfast is Indian style. As there is an Indian restaurant downstairs. Staff is excellent. Wonderful. I didn't care too much for the rooms though. Nothing really wrong, but the building is older but has been nice, but the walls are very thin and there is space is in caps by the doors that I prefer not to be there. Overall a good experience but I wouldn't go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good hotel, but not for families

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Great staff. Helpful and very friendly
Cons: Better room noise isolation
We stayed (family with children) and the staff was fantastic. The hotel is very well communicated and in good condition (although a bit old). The area is OK during the day, but not recommendable during the night, primarily if yo need to walk with your children after 8 pm. The rooms are noisy, and we had to call reception because other rooms were very noisy during the whole night.