Ratings based on 3,672 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Details and Staff -- Superb!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Colors, chic, quant, wine hour (should be a bit longer than 30 minutes), and staff.
Cons: Nothing....really fantastic!
Location: You must visit Mr. Holmes Bakehouse.
We will be back....excellent price and location. Excellent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DA from St. Maarten

Excellent Hotel with Great location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Very nice hotel, breakfast was superb, staff was very friendly. I would stay their again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.friendly hotel staff

Posted Apr 22, 2017
I would definetlly stay there on my next trip to sf.I liked it very much
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Upgrade from motel or hostel.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice, the common areas were very clean.
Cons: Quiet hours enforced, hot water in the shower (it was only ever warm).
Location: Easy to get to public transportation and lot of things to walk to.
The hotel and staff were pleasant. There are some funky things with the room (after 6 days we still couldn't remember where the bathroom light switch was!), but overall it was good. Wouldn't recommend if you're looking for privacy though - you can hear just about everything above a whisper inside and outside your room. Once the hotel got busy on Friday and Saturday this was really unpleasant. We thought it would be a bit quieter but we were awake as soon as the first guests started chatting and leaving their rooms and then again awake at night until everyone was finally back from their adventures. Wifi is free, but can get pretty slow. The upgrade to faster is expensive. TV/entertainment options are pretty minimal. I would recommend for families that need a place to crash at the end of the night and pick somewhere else for a romantic stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Friendly staff, adorable room, centrally located, comfortable bed. Nothing fancy but everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, very comfortable.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Location: Well located.
Very nice hotel, comfortable, well decorated and clean. Staff friendly. And there is that plus where every night at 17:30 you get a free glass of Californian wine and get to watch a local artist perform. Very cool place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Great hotel and wonderful staff

Posted Apr 5, 2017
My husband and I had a great experience here from the time we walked in the door till the time we left. Theo at the front desk was an absolute delight and so pleasant and helpful upon entering the hotel. He really made our first moments in San Francisco so wonderful. The rooms were nice, clean and just the amount of space we needed. The beds are comfy and the closets are huge. We had a nice breeze everyday so we always left our windows open and didn't need heat or air conditioning. The lobby had a nice happy hour with complementary wine and live music everyday but we were only able to enjoy this once since we were enjoying the rest of the city. The bar at the hotel was wonderful too! Great beer selection and friendly bartenders. You are located right around the corner from Mr. Holmes Bakehouse so a peek down the street to see how long the line is before enjoying these yummy treats is super easy. The hotel is not surrounded by the most pleasant area but a walk in most other directions than the Tenderloin makes up for that and there is plenty to see and do. The city has crazy hills so comfy shoes are a must or Uber/Lyft it if need be. We rented a car from City rent a car around the corner for a drive to Napa which was probably my favorite day. We had a very late flight so the hotel allowed us a late checkout for 2pm and held our bags after that until our departure time. Definitely recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in San Fran!

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Room was nicely appointed and clean! Wine in the afternoon is a very nice treat. Beds were comfy. View was cool.
Cons: A fridge in the room would be nice. But maybe our room just didn't have one.
Location: Close to california line cable cars, union square and easy to navigate to and from
Awesome friendly staff, nice and clean, great location. I had a big truck to park and they had no problem accommodating. We had our two kids with us and the hotel was quiet and welcomed kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Panama

The best you can get for the price

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Good quality-to-price ratio. I must insist in the impeccable bathroom, it really amazed me.
Cons: More friendly staff.
Location: You need to walk a few blocks to get somewhere, Union square, restaurants and public transportation.
Hotel es pretty near Union Square, you can easily walk if you don't mind the homeless. There are very good restaurants (affordable price) around. I stayed in room 101, it is too close to the hotel's restaurant, some nights can be noisy, but they turn off the music around 23:00. The room was bigger than I expected. Really comfortable bed, a huge closet with an ironing board and a safe. The bathroom was impeccable! (It comes with a mini blower) Staff was ok, not the kindest but they do their job.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great people, nice decor

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pleasant stay but walls are paper thin. Staff was great. K