Ratings based on 3,727 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to lots of activities and shops!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Great experience. Really pricy area. Great and fantastic stay though. Do not recommend driving in the city. Find a garage and keep your car there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Lovely old hotel near Union Square. You can walk easily and pick up cable cars there that will take you to/near most tourist sites. The staff was fantastic-always very helpful! I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

The Carlton is both charming & hip.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
The bed was very comfy & the linens just right. It was quiet and had been stylishly updated. Mr. Holmes is conveniently located around the corner on a somewhat sketchy street. Happy hour with live music rocks! Awesome stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Central hotel - easy to get everywhere

Posted May 28, 2017
Location: Great breakfast spot if you turn left down the street it is called Jane's. Very safe for being close to tenderloin. quick walk to union square & food.
Hotel carleton was great. Located in a central area of San Francisco where getting anywhere was a quick uber or walk away. The hotel decor and layout was very nice, with a wine reception daily. The hotel was always clean and felt very safe. Loved the uniqueness of the boutique hotel. Rooms were well kept and spotless upon arrival. Perfect size for a couple days in the city. They had a tassimo which was excellent. The showers had high shower heads with good pressure which was nice. The only downside - which I would expect from it being an older building - was that the walls were paper thin and you could hear your neighbour very clearly. This didn't bother us until one night we decided to go to bed a bit earlier (8 pm) as we had a long day, and our neighbours were i guess just getting ready to go out on the town. Also you could hear the elevator quite well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, small room

Posted May 24, 2017
Friendly staff, good location. Hotel was outdated with small rooms and could use a deeper cleaning. Overall the experience was good! Don't go to their restaurant, overpriced for the services they offer. They messed up our order twice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly comfortable hotel with green credentials

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Great decor, friendly staff, good food on site
Cons: Quality of the music and wine at the daily 'wine receptions'
Location: Bit of a walk to downtown though there is a frequent bus service, worth getting a pass for unlimited use especially if using cable car
Very friendly knowledgeable staff, great decor for those of us who don't like chintz. Nice in house restaurant with great range of breakfasts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Bright Cozy Hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The rooms were decorated really nicely and the bath was clean. I loved the walk in closet
Cons: It has those quirky touches that only come with a historic building. Tight elevators that didn't always work and thin walls or very loud neighbors.
Location: Easy walk to most attractions but far enough away to be quiet. Great Happy Hour!
The hotel was a great place in the city. The rooms were bright and airy, the happy hour is great and the restaurant had a great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, ab

Was able to walk everywhere. Really fantastic staf

Posted May 17, 2017
Clean room, funky decor, fantastic and helpful staff made it all the more enjoyable. That went out of their way to help us with tours, transportation, etc. Also, wine and entertainment in the lobby in the evenings was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not bad hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Polite and courteous staff. Fancy water dispensers located on the 1st, 3rd, and 5th floors free of charge.
Cons: It would have been nice to have more shelving/racks in the washroom to put one's toiletries, although this may be hard to change at this point.
Location: There are restaurants nearby. I enjoyed My Holmes Bakery, a hip bakery selling pretty-looking pastries, and Bite, a sandwich shop.
The front desk staff were helpful and courteous when responding to our questions or requests (eg. where we should park our rented car; where we can get drinking water; requesting extra towels/blankets, etc). We had no issues with the room except for the washroom lock which couldn't lock properly, but this wasn't a big problem for us. There are quite a few restaurants and eateries within walking distance. If one does not mind a nice walk, Pier 39 and its surrounding sights are actually walkable from the hotel as well (approx. 45 mins). Bring water and sunscreen during the walk as the terrain is hilly, but I feel walking is worth it as it allows you to experience the city more intimately and you'll also pass through a few different neighbourhoods in the process like Chinatown, for example.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted May 9, 2017
This property is in a central location that is easy to get to. It is an older hotel with paper thin walls. If the people in adjoining rooms are early risers, you will not get any rest. When pressed, front desk staff does not care. Linens are dated and need replacing. Overall, not a pleasant stay.