Ratings based on 3,795 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

SF Downtown Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Wine reception in the lobby, friendly staff.
Cons: The room was hot. I was not all that impressed with the condition of the room.
Location: The location was in downtown SF which was nice but the surrounding neighborhood was pretty rough.
The hotel has a charming feel and the staff is very friendly. I liked that there was a daily wine reception from 5:30PM - 6:00PM as well as live music. I was not particularly fond of the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel with character and characters!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Most everything, with the exception of the state of the streets around.
Cons: City sanitation.
Location: There were places to eat in the hotel and nearby. Tourist attractions were a little further away, but the public transport system works well.
Hotel staff were able to roll with some booking changes through Expedia.ca and handled it well. I found the hotel itself, the facilities and staff to be comfortable and interesting. I liked the sense of quirkiness about the people and place. It didn't feel impersonal, like so many hotels. It was also fairly central, which was good for walking and catching public transportation. My only problem was the state of the streets outside, with the smell of human excrement around the hotel and downtown San Francisco. Sad state of affairs for the homeless and the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Staff Makes the Difference

Posted Sep 15, 2017
My 7 year old son and I stayed for 5 nights. The hotel itself was fine. The staff were very helpful. In particular, Theo went out of his way to make our stay fantastic and had the perfect suggestions for restaurants in the area. He even taught my son how to make a paper dodecahedron (I think I got the name correct). I can't say enough about how fantastic staff can make a trip memorable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Well located comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to the cable cars, and to 101 - a great city thoroughfare.
Cons: A/C. The ice machine couldn't keep up.
Location: Cable cars, bus routes, BART, early morning coffee shops, very nice grocery store.
My girlfriend and I were there for 4 days in early September. Everything we needed was within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Perfect location central to all the sights

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We arrived at the Hotel Carlton during the complimentary wine serving early evening, the atmosphere in reception was very welcoming and the staff couldn't assist enough. The room was clean and comfortable and we were provided with a complimentary fridge. The location was perfect for the areas we wanted to visit during our stay. Would definitely return to this hotel if visiting San Fransisco in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Carlton hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Great location, very clean and safe, excellent staff but even though we do not need any air conditioning and fridge in the room, it'd be perfect If we have had that option 👍👍👍
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
It was my first time in San Francisco and I had no issues checking in, or out of the hotel. Room was small but it served its purpose. Walkinf distance to the cable cars, and a 5 dollar uber ride to Fisherman's Wharf. I would gladly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is good

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The hotel is in a good location, walking distance to attractions. Overall the hotel is clean but The beds are not comfortable and I got back ache!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Staff was very helpful. Room was very comfortable, clean and very nice. Had a wonderful stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Reasonably priced for standard of hotel. Reception staff very nice. Would recommend always going to the right when you leave the hotel as our last morning we ventured left and passed close to the Tenderloin area. There were a lot of homeless people about and we felt a bit intimidated. About a 10 minute walk from Union Square We did struggle finding good places for breakfast. Enjoyed our stay here but think if we came again we would stay closer to Union Square