Ratings based on 3,512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Nice hotel at a good location in the city

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The location was great. Very central location close to all major San Fran attractions.
Hotel Carlton was a great hotel to stay at while my wife and I were in San Francisco for a couple of days on vacation. The hotel was conveniently located in that we were able to walk to everything around Union Square, and most other attractions (i.e. Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Warf, Lombard Street) were just a short Uber ride away. The hotel service overall was excellent and someone was always there to greet you when you came through the door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very cozy hotel in the lower Nob Hill area

Posted Dec 4, 2016
This hotel is very cozy and the staff are both helpful and welcoming. The rooms are smaller, but the appliances, beds and bathroom were all very modern, clean and comfortable. This hotel has a lot of heart for a low price. I loved my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Main problem was that our heater did not work, and when we called for them to ask for a fix they said okay, but it still didn't work a day later. No one suggested a room change for us so we felt like we needed to check out early because of the inconvenience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Great hotel in a great walkable location Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Very Pleasant Experience.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Very well done upgrade with very friendly staff.
Cons: Bathroom could have used more counter space and was a bit small. Free breakfast would have been a nice touch.
Location: Close to bus line to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square.
Older hotel that has been updated. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was nicely appointed and comfortable including many outlets and charging stations. Business center for printing boarding passes was nice as well. Valet parking was a bit pricy but appreciated in a city like San Francisco. Nicely appointed lobby and the social half hour with free wine was appreciated as well. Only negative was the size of the bathroom. Could have used more counter space.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essen/NRW

Schönes Hotel in perfekter Lage für einen Kurztrip

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Wir wurden freundlich empfangen von dem stets hilfsbereiten Personal. Unser Zimmer war groß genug und mit allem ausgestattet was man so braucht im November. Leider gab es eine Verbindungstür zum Nachbarzimmer und man konnte jedes Wort unserer Nachbarn problemlos verstehen. Das war aber auch der einzige Punkt den man bemängeln konnte. Die Lage ist perfekt um alles Wichtige zu erkunden. Gerne wieder!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Cute and Trendy

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms
Location: Bars one block away. Bus stop right outside hotel
Wine reception is always a great perk, even if it's only for 30 minutes. Small elevators and thin walls but the room was spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really great hotel, but thin walls

Posted Nov 19, 2016
This is a lovely hotel, with character and charm. The staff are great too. Walls between rooms are very thin and some guests just don't get this. Can't blame the hotel for people's lack of self awareness though. I'd stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Comfortable hotel! But Area is a bit sketchy

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The room was comfortable. Good television and comfortable bed.
Location: Location is sketchy. Some good café and restaurants near by.
The hotel is great it self! Wonderful staff and comfortable room. But the hotel is located in Tenderloin which is kind of sketchy at night. Dirty side streets and half a block from funeral home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but walls very thin!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Free wine 1/2 hour at 5.30 was great! Also live music every night!
Cons: The walls are very thin! We could hear every word the people in the room next door were saying to each other! luckily they were only there one night and the room was empty the rest of the time otherwise we might have checked out early!
Location: Good location close to union square!