Ratings based on 1,185 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Very nice staff, cool location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean and comfortable. Nice continental breakfast.
Location: A number of good restaurants.
A comfortable hotel and nice vibe in a neighborhood with good restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Angelo, Hotel Management
Greetings Ms. Mary, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at any time.Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, ANGELO REYES GENERAL MANAGER HOTEL DEL SOL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twain Harte

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: location, size of room
A quick trip to the Bay Area for a Grandparents day at grandson's school. This property was a convenient location and the greeting upon arrival was warm, friendly and genuine. We were looking for a pet friendly hotel and it truly was. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Angelo Reyes, Hotel Management
Greetings Roy, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at any time. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, ANGELO REYES GENERAL MANAGER HOTEL DEL SOL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palo alto

Posted Jan 28, 2017
One word describes it Class. Starting with the welcoming desk reception to the comforts of the room from soft towels to comfy bedding and a room that has been freshly remodeled. Fresh baked cookies and a very nice adequate breakfast. Location is very desirable and neighborhood quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Girls weekend in the Bay

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Stayed for two nights with a couple of friends. The hotel is cute, clean, very retro with cool features. The room was big enough for three girls, and the beds were super comfy. Definitely one of the nicer motels in the area, as we walked by many others I had looked at on Expedia. The location is worth the stay alone. It is central to all the fun bars and restaurants, and a quick uber ride to surrounding destinations. Marina district itself felt clean and safe. The only downside was the breakfast- it was SO BAD. Everything was stale (bagels, pastries, etc), the orange juice was gross, the coffee tasted burnt. We just made other breakfast arrangements. Overall, would totally stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, CA

Cute motor inn, great value especially for drivers

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I've stayed in quite a few motor inns in San Francisco and this is one of the best. The rooms are in good condition, the facilities are nice (though I didn't use them) and the staff is cheerful and nice. If you plan on driving this is a great location because it's not in the really mucky downtown traffic around Union Square. It's a nice safe and lively part of town. I wish I could give the hotel a 5/5 but there were a few problems. 1) I'd reserved a queen room, I arrive and I'm told I'm being upgraded to a "double room". As a solo business traveller this just means two smaller beds, one of which I won't use. aka a downgrade (or if you're a couple this could represent a rather large downgrade) Really guys? 2) omg noisy. This is probably the noisiest motor inn I stayed in. I was on the second floor, and all I could hear was the people above me well into the night. Loud TV, running back and forth, who knows what they were doing. This hotel is clean and pleasant to stay in, but it was definitely built during the era of less sound proofing between rooms. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to look elsewhere. But really, I'd stay here again. Minus those two gripes everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Such a fun place!!! I asked to stay another night. The rooms are clean and the atmosphere is so fun!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room, great location

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean and comfortable room. Great location with plenty of local food and shops on Union St. And Chestnut St. Only downside is door opening to outside so cannot fully open blinds if you want privacy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in the Marina Area SAN FRANCISCO

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Really pleasant, especially also dedicated to family with children
Cons: Prices could be improved
Location: Not far from the Marina and diffrent nice bars and restaurants. Also not so far from Bikes Rentals and close to the beach.
Front desk and staff perfect : kindness and profesionnalism top. Cleanliness and room confort perfect Very nice place and stay,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed our stay!!

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
We absolutely LOVED Hotel Del Sol!!!!! It was right in the heart of San Francisco in a very upscale area called Cow Hollow. The hotel was beautifully decorated with all their colorful art on the walls and had a good amount of parking, which was a huge plus for us since we had a car rental. They have the friendliest staff ever!! The front desk associate for the night shift was named Edric and he was super helpful in getting us checked in quickly, recommending places to eat, and providing us with information about the hundreds of things to do in San Francisco! What we liked the most about him was that he always had a smile on his face! The room itself was really cozy and cute. It was just my husband and I so it was a perfect fit for us. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size too but it just didn't have a fan so we had to leave the door open while taking showers so it wouldn't fog up in there. But that, along with the lack of a refrigerator in the room, were the only two things that we thought were areas of improvement and honestly, it really wasn't that big of an issue for us since we were so pleased with the rest of our experience there. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would most likely stay here again if we take another trip back to San Francisco in the future!