Ratings based on 1,231 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver b.c

Motel del Sol

Posted Oct 13, 2017
This is a renovated motel and not a hotel. While it is so close to Union street and Chastnut where all the fun is, please don't take your wife here. We had to switch to another facility next day as room smell was so stale and bad that if we unpacked all the clothes would get that smell. If you just need a room for a night or two it can be ok, that's why I had to complain to Expedia about advertising this as a Hotel. 4.1 star is on review but it never tells you it's a 2.5 star motel. So there is a lot of misrepresentations. It has pool that Is rarely getting cleaned and the breakfast is actually a few doughnuts/muffins. Staff was really nice. All lovely people. Yes we are a little bit of a spoiled couple from Vancouver, but this place is charging like any other 4 star hotel close to Union square. Likely we had to stay here only 2 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings Djale, On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay. I am however, disappointed to read that you experienced a bad smell in your room and that the pool was dirty. Your feedback is important to me and rest assured that I have passed on your comments to the appropriate Department Manager. Thank you for your patronage of the Hotel Del Sol. I do hope that you will not allow these isolated incidents mar your opinion of the Hotel Del Sol and that we will be able to welcome you back when next traveling to San Francisco. Respectfully, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Perfect size and awesome location

Posted Sep 22, 2017
My wife and I wanted a place that was conveniently located between local areas and touristy areas. Hotel Del Sol was perfect. We were a 15 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf and only five minutes away from the local areas (e.g. bars, restaurants. etc). This hotel is located in the neighborhoods of the Marina District and had the neighborhood feel to it, not commercial; which we liked. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The only thing I didn't like about it was the thin walls between rooms; you could hear your neighbors in the adjacent rooms. That's me just knit picking because the pluses definitely out weigh the negatives regarding this hotel. Will stay there again, if given the chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings Aaron, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and experience with us. From the excellent staff service to the location of the hotel - these are a few things that we provide and offer that certainly makes our property a top hotel to stay in San Francisco. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Nice and charm!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Love to had breakfast in the patio next to the pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings maria, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you enjoyed having breakfast in the patio next to the pool. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by Kari

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Edric, Phil, and Oscar were so helpful! Excellent customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Greetings Kari, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I’m really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I'm very proud that Edric, Phil and Oscar were able to accommodate and made you feel welcome from the moment you stepped on our property. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and I’m glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by Jessica

Overall...positive

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Well we loved the style of the hotel and it was extremely family-friendly but you are able to hear other guests from the room and our rental minivan was burglarized in the hotel parking lot(not the hotel's fault, they warned us not to keep anything in the car). The kids loved the pool and cookies!
4 out of 5
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close the action

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The pool and staff customer service.
Cons: A full Breakfast would be nice.
Location: Everything is couple of blocks away. A park , Beach area, Coffee Shop, Bars, Market Store and much more
I enjoyed staying at the hotel, but the experience with Expedia was awful I will NOT use them again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Comfortable, unique and fun.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: My favorite thing about this hotel is its uniqueness. It's older (1950s), but they brightened the colors and went kid friendly.
Cons: We needed and were able to get a fridge for a fee when we asked but it's my opinion the should e included.
Location: It's a perfect location near the wharf with great restaurants very walkable in every direction.
Our experience here was excellent from check in to check out. The staff was friendly and very willing to help us get oriented and find what we wanted in the neighborhood and beyond. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. My granddaughter loved the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

convenient location

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: staff & location
Cons: Its an older property but is kept up well
Location: good restaurants - fishermans wharf -
Del Sol's location is very convenient to many points of interest in the SF area - easy to get to & from the airport. It's better than a lot of comparable hotels in that area in that it is a block off Lombard so its quiet. Staff was great - great restaurants nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings FB, Thank you on behalf of the Hotel Del Sol staff for recently staying with us. Your comments are greatly and deeply appreciated. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. From the excellent staff service to the location of the hotel - these are some of the things we pride ourselves and make the Hotel Del Sol one of the premier hotels to stay in San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco! Warm regards, Tiffany Batle OperationsManager Hotel Del Sol
4 out of 5
by Brent

Great spot in Cow Hollow

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great location, with friendly and attentive staff and great parking. Cleanliness was a 5+ so if this is important to you, you'll love it. The rooms are small, and we were frequently bumping into each other.