Ratings based on 1,209 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise

Good for what it is

Posted May 15, 2017
Stayed while family living in the Marina District. Good access to Union Street and its shopping and eating. The hotel is an old motel "updated" with new paint and bedding. Bathrooms are small and to my knowledge only have showers. While our bathroom was clean it could use attention to detail. There was a small hole in the wall stuffed with toilet paper and the shelf above the sink needs a redo. The towels are thinner than necessary. We thought the room was noisy with street noise and people staying at the motel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Not sure we will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice hotel, close to piers.

Posted May 15, 2017
Had a great 6 night stay! Close walk to nice old homey cafes, esay pickup for uber drivers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new mexico

a congenial comfortable place in San Francisco

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I highly recommend Hotel del Sol - it's close to the bayside jogging trail, has a clean outdoor pool and the staff is superb - it's the only place I'll stay in the Bay Area - and the price is very reasonable, considering how pricey San Francisco can be.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Hotel Del Sol Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and sharing your experience at the hotel. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, HOTEL DEL SOL TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Waterford, ME

Good Place for families

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Cheerful. Always coffee and snacks available in the office.
Cons: Needs noise insulating curtains. Very noisy when there are kids in the pool.
Location: Great location in the Marina district near restaurants and shops.
Attractive hotel with a retro motel vibe. The heated outdoor swimming pool is a big attraction for kids. It gets noisy during prime pool hours. Reasonably comfortable and well priced. Nice continental breakfast and fresh homemade cookies in the afternoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Hotel Del Sol Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and sharing your experience at the hotel. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, HOTEL DEL SOL TEAM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed
This is a very old motel that has been refreshed. The room was very clean and the location was perfect for my conference at the Palace of Fine Arts. There are lots of bright colors, the beds are comfy, and the noise level was acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Hotel Del Sol Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Gem of a hotel in SF Marina District

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Location, ambiance, courtyard, helpful staff
Cons: Can't think of a thing
Location: Great central location to get to piers, Golden Gate Park, and shopping
Very friendly staff, fun decor, breakfast, amazing location, and clean, comfortable rooms...what more could you ask for! Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Hotel Del Sol Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old motel trying hard to be a nice hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly, bed comfortable, towels fluffy and soft, good shower, great location and great price.
Cons: Carpet didn't seem clean and there were places where it seemed like the flooring below was missing. Needs better lighting.
Location: Great location, bustling area with tons of restaurants, shops, fitness options.
There are definitely lots of pluses here. The staff was friendly, cheerful and helpful. The bed was comfortable, the towels were fluffy and soft, the shower was new, with good water pressure. Apart from the old carpeting, the room was clean. It is in a great location and I had a very economical rate for the room that is hard to find in San Francisco. On the downside, it is an old motel trying hard to be more. But it still feels like an old motel. Good for students or families on a budget who need a pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Hotel Del Sol Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience. We do sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced. Our management team would like to impress upon you that the problem you experienced will indeed be attended. I hope you accept our apology and give us another chance in the near future. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to contact us at any time. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Clean, economical, and comfortable.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Excellent Value. In-room safe. Lots of hot water.
Cons: Hand soap and body lotion was not renewed daily or regularly. The cos of parking was high compared to downtown.
Location: Close to the Golden Gate Promenade and a short drive or bus ride from Fisherman's Wharf.
We had a suite room which turned out to be an excellent value. Staff was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Hotel Del Sol Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family place. Great pool.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cons: Fridge in room. Wasn't clear that parking fee not included. Bit of a surprise.
Nice comfy room. Staff fantastic. Great location to everything. Easy cab ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Angelo, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out at any time. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Hotel Del Sol Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Very nice staff, cool location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean and comfortable. Nice continental breakfast.
Location: A number of good restaurants.
A comfortable hotel and nice vibe in a neighborhood with good restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Angelo, Hotel Management
Greetings Ms. Mary, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at any time.Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, ANGELO REYES GENERAL MANAGER HOTEL DEL SOL