Ratings based on 1,135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel within walking distance of Pier 39, etc

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Very quaint! Like stepping back into the 1950's! Hotel is built around a courtyard and parking is underneath the rooms. Staff was amazing!
Location: Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Fisherman's Warf, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, Lombard Street.
Great room in downtown San Francisco. Clean and safe. Nice touches by the staff. Coffee and tea and pastries at all times. Great little continental breakfast. Nice pool and hammocks to lay in. Walked to everything we wanted to see, but transportation is also very easy and inexpensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fun hotel shines above others in the area

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Since our daughter lives in the area we've tried other hotels but will definitely return to Hotel del Sol. Comparably priced with the others, it's much nicer and also offers a continental breakfast and fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean, and hotel staff were very friendly. Like other options in the area, it's a funky old refurbished motel, but unlike others it has considerable charm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to the Marina district

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Be nice to have coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: Restaurants and shopping pretty close. There are a few hills to climb, but we were fine with that.
Overall, stay was great. If we stay again would definitely ask for top floor, ceiling are very thin. We had a very noisy family above us, so not much sleep for my daughter and I.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bend Or

Great place to stay when in San Francisco

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Great location, close to wonderful restaurants and a great walk to the GG bridge.
Fun, colorfully decorated and comfy hotel with convenient parking. The staff is wonderful and the location excellent. They have a very good continental breakfast and a cool little swimming pool. We love this place and always stay here when in the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buena opción para San Francisco

Posted Oct 16, 2016
El hotel tiene habitaciones pequeñas, pero salvo eso, está muy bien. El personal es muy atento y agradable, no hay ruidos, está muy bien situado para visitar San Francisco y tienen parking diario a muy buen precio. Repetiría.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from france

Hôtel très agreable

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Très bon accueil lors de L arrivée et tout au long du séjour. Le petit déjeuner est très bon avec un bon choix de gâteaux. Cookies et boissons dans L après midi très appréciés. Ravie de mon séjour. Le seul point négatif est que j'avais réservé une chambre avec un grand lit et que j'ai eu une chambre avec deux lits ( impossibilité de changer malheureusement car il n'y avait plus de chambres disponible) mais la chambre était très spacieuse et confortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Close to Fisherman's wharf. Great shopping great places to eat. Hotel staff was amazing. Walking distance to everything you could imagine. Would go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comodissimo gradevole

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: quasi tutto
Cons: moquette
Location: Collegato con molti bus al centro e all'aeroporto. Vicino a molti ristoranti e bar e vicinissimo al centro.
Questo hotel meriterebbe una valutazione massima se non fosse per la moquette della camera che non era proprio "profumata". Peccato perche' per il resto abbiamo trovato la sistemazione molto gradevole: in una zona tranquilla, piena di ristoranti e bar, frequentata da giovani per bene, pulizia ottima, colazione di buona qualita', letto meraviglioso, cassaforte in camera, bagno perfetto, camera ampia, piscina, amache e tavolini nel giardino interno ecc ecc. Forse siamo stati sfortunati perche' anche l'arredamento della camera era nuovo e curato ma la moquette in alcuni punti era un po' sgradevole. Lo consiglio comunque al 100 per 100 e vi assicuro che ci tornerei!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice, clean, older hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The room was small and crowed. Good location for those who don't mind walking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec city

Hôtel sympa, bien situé

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Le personnel, le confort des lits, piscine
Cons: Insonoriser mieux les chambres
Location: Divers restos locals proche, pas chers et très bons ( sushis, vietnamien) plusieurs circuits d'autobus à proximité nous menant facilement partout.
Personnel très accueillant, toujours là pour nous donner des conseils. Petit déjeuner continental ok. Chambre assez grande, salle de bain petite mais propre. Lit et oreiller extrêmement confortables. Petit hic par contre, le matin et soir on entend très bien les gens parler dans les chambres voisines.