Ratings based on 1,222 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Nice and charm!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Love to had breakfast in the patio next to the pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close the action

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The pool and staff customer service.
Cons: A full Breakfast would be nice.
Location: Everything is couple of blocks away. A park , Beach area, Coffee Shop, Bars, Market Store and much more
I enjoyed staying at the hotel, but the experience with Expedia was awful I will NOT use them again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Comfortable, unique and fun.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: My favorite thing about this hotel is its uniqueness. It's older (1950s), but they brightened the colors and went kid friendly.
Cons: We needed and were able to get a fridge for a fee when we asked but it's my opinion the should e included.
Location: It's a perfect location near the wharf with great restaurants very walkable in every direction.
Our experience here was excellent from check in to check out. The staff was friendly and very willing to help us get oriented and find what we wanted in the neighborhood and beyond. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. My granddaughter loved the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

convenient location

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: staff & location
Cons: Its an older property but is kept up well
Location: good restaurants - fishermans wharf -
Del Sol's location is very convenient to many points of interest in the SF area - easy to get to & from the airport. It's better than a lot of comparable hotels in that area in that it is a block off Lombard so its quiet. Staff was great - great restaurants nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings FB, Thank you on behalf of the Hotel Del Sol staff for recently staying with us. Your comments are greatly and deeply appreciated. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. From the excellent staff service to the location of the hotel - these are some of the things we pride ourselves and make the Hotel Del Sol one of the premier hotels to stay in San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels may lead you back to beautiful San Francisco! Warm regards, Tiffany Batle OperationsManager Hotel Del Sol
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise

Good for what it is

Posted May 15, 2017
Stayed while family living in the Marina District. Good access to Union Street and its shopping and eating. The hotel is an old motel "updated" with new paint and bedding. Bathrooms are small and to my knowledge only have showers. While our bathroom was clean it could use attention to detail. There was a small hole in the wall stuffed with toilet paper and the shelf above the sink needs a redo. The towels are thinner than necessary. We thought the room was noisy with street noise and people staying at the motel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Not sure we will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice hotel, close to piers.

Posted May 15, 2017
Had a great 6 night stay! Close walk to nice old homey cafes, esay pickup for uber drivers.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings Mike, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm glad to hear that the service of the staff, location of the hotel and comfort level was suitable to your standards. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new mexico

a congenial comfortable place in San Francisco

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I highly recommend Hotel del Sol - it's close to the bayside jogging trail, has a clean outdoor pool and the staff is superb - it's the only place I'll stay in the Bay Area - and the price is very reasonable, considering how pricey San Francisco can be.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Hotel Del Sol Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and sharing your experience at the hotel. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, HOTEL DEL SOL TEAM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Bed and pillows much more comfortable than hotel standard, room an excellent combination of funky motel vibe and modern comforts, excellent front desk service, close to many good restaurants. (Free) wifi was a bit slow - adequate for browsing, may not have worked for streaming.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and sharing your experience at the hotel. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, HOTEL DEL SOL TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Waterford, ME

Good Place for families

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Cheerful. Always coffee and snacks available in the office.
Cons: Needs noise insulating curtains. Very noisy when there are kids in the pool.
Location: Great location in the Marina district near restaurants and shops.
Attractive hotel with a retro motel vibe. The heated outdoor swimming pool is a big attraction for kids. It gets noisy during prime pool hours. Reasonably comfortable and well priced. Nice continental breakfast and fresh homemade cookies in the afternoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Hotel Del Sol Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and sharing your experience at the hotel. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, HOTEL DEL SOL TEAM