Ratings based on 1,062 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not really a "boutique" hotel...

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Location is convenient, 2 blocks from Union St.
Cons: Soundproofing, more reasonable rates, comp parking.
Location: Shops & restaurants on Union St., close to 101 and Marina dist.
The part about being a renovated 50's motor inn is accurate. "Boutique?" No way. My room was tiny and while clean and pleasantly decorated, was hardly much better than an econo-chain room. The window was completely blocked by a street tree, almost zero natural light. Room was next to a stairwell, and room walls shook when people went up the stairs. Sounded like a herd of elephants. Booked via Expedia, and they don't disclose parking is $25 extra. I even called the hotel to verify there was enough parking and the clerk told me each room has a guaranteed parking spot...but didn't mention the charge. On check in I complained about the extra fee and the clerk comped me the parking. The parking spots are very tight--in a mid-sized car you'll be squeezing out the doors open just a few inches. The Continental breakfast is minimalist and there's no inside seating to eat at...it was 46 degrees so the couple of outside tables were a no go. Being a short block off Lombard, the street noise is less than most of the hotels nearby but there's still quite a bit. The amenities just don't justify the rates charged.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but worn out

Posted Feb 1, 2016
For joy hotels I Would recomend kabuki which has similar price but more comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Special Anniversary!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
We spent 5 days in San Francisco and really enjoyed our stay at the Joie de Vivre. Our room was nice and cheerful. The location worked for us because we are very active and able to walk the distances to Union Square, Crissy Field, Ghirardelli Square, etc. One of the best parts of our stay was the staff! We interacted with several individuals and they were all very helpful and fun! Oscar, in particular, helped us several times which we really appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2015
The boutique atmosphere was pleasant and the staff was very helpful in finding places to eat Everything went very smoothly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susan from Newcastle England

Tripe of a life time

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
First time in sanfrancisco and took a while to pick as most hotels very expensive however when taxie dropped up from airport he said you have picked a very up market area very safe the weather the staff and amenities were great would use them again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pia from Roskilde

Godt hotel til prisen

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Vi kom træte frem efter en lang køredag,og fik en venlig modtagelse, med god vejledning til gode spisesteder og seværdigheder. Det var et fint og rent værelse. Hotellet ligger i et hyggeligt kvarter med mange smukke bygninger og rigtig hyggelige restauranter. Kun 15 min. gang gennem hyggelige gader til Fisherman's Wharf Et rigtig godt hotel til prisen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Skønt sted

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Virkelig hyggeligt hotel med super søde og hjælpsomme medarbejdere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jami from Central Valley CA

Great last minute vacation!

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
This was a little vacation change and I was pleasantly surprised. The location is a fast drive to pier 39 and everything else. Kids loved the hammocks and free movies and board games. The pool was heated but no hot tub. Breakfast was nice and the people were really nice offering wifi password and anything else we needed. Rooms were super clean so I was very happy when I opened the door. Parking was a little tight but we got a spot. Thank you! We will go again for sure for the price!