Ratings based on 1,148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Girls weekend in the Bay

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Stayed for two nights with a couple of friends. The hotel is cute, clean, very retro with cool features. The room was big enough for three girls, and the beds were super comfy. Definitely one of the nicer motels in the area, as we walked by many others I had looked at on Expedia. The location is worth the stay alone. It is central to all the fun bars and restaurants, and a quick uber ride to surrounding destinations. Marina district itself felt clean and safe. The only downside was the breakfast- it was SO BAD. Everything was stale (bagels, pastries, etc), the orange juice was gross, the coffee tasted burnt. We just made other breakfast arrangements. Overall, would totally stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, CA

Cute motor inn, great value especially for drivers

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I've stayed in quite a few motor inns in San Francisco and this is one of the best. The rooms are in good condition, the facilities are nice (though I didn't use them) and the staff is cheerful and nice. If you plan on driving this is a great location because it's not in the really mucky downtown traffic around Union Square. It's a nice safe and lively part of town. I wish I could give the hotel a 5/5 but there were a few problems. 1) I'd reserved a queen room, I arrive and I'm told I'm being upgraded to a "double room". As a solo business traveller this just means two smaller beds, one of which I won't use. aka a downgrade (or if you're a couple this could represent a rather large downgrade) Really guys? 2) omg noisy. This is probably the noisiest motor inn I stayed in. I was on the second floor, and all I could hear was the people above me well into the night. Loud TV, running back and forth, who knows what they were doing. This hotel is clean and pleasant to stay in, but it was definitely built during the era of less sound proofing between rooms. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to look elsewhere. But really, I'd stay here again. Minus those two gripes everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Such a fun place!!! I asked to stay another night. The rooms are clean and the atmosphere is so fun!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in the Marina Area SAN FRANCISCO

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Really pleasant, especially also dedicated to family with children
Cons: Prices could be improved
Location: Not far from the Marina and diffrent nice bars and restaurants. Also not so far from Bikes Rentals and close to the beach.
Front desk and staff perfect : kindness and profesionnalism top. Cleanliness and room confort perfect Very nice place and stay,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Good quite location, short walk up a hill from beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice location and appearance on the outside

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Good location
Wish the bathroom was larger and had a tub. Also the shower water was always luke warm never hot. The room also had a musty smell when entering.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel within walking distance of Pier 39, etc

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Very quaint! Like stepping back into the 1950's! Hotel is built around a courtyard and parking is underneath the rooms. Staff was amazing!
Location: Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Fisherman's Warf, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, Lombard Street.
Great room in downtown San Francisco. Clean and safe. Nice touches by the staff. Coffee and tea and pastries at all times. Great little continental breakfast. Nice pool and hammocks to lay in. Walked to everything we wanted to see, but transportation is also very easy and inexpensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fun hotel shines above others in the area

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Since our daughter lives in the area we've tried other hotels but will definitely return to Hotel del Sol. Comparably priced with the others, it's much nicer and also offers a continental breakfast and fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean, and hotel staff were very friendly. Like other options in the area, it's a funky old refurbished motel, but unlike others it has considerable charm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to the Marina district

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Be nice to have coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: Restaurants and shopping pretty close. There are a few hills to climb, but we were fine with that.
Overall, stay was great. If we stay again would definitely ask for top floor, ceiling are very thin. We had a very noisy family above us, so not much sleep for my daughter and I.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bend Or

Great place to stay when in San Francisco

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Great location, close to wonderful restaurants and a great walk to the GG bridge.
Fun, colorfully decorated and comfy hotel with convenient parking. The staff is wonderful and the location excellent. They have a very good continental breakfast and a cool little swimming pool. We love this place and always stay here when in the city.