Ratings based on 1,249 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Good deal close to the Marina

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Great location, super friendly staff. It looks like part of the hotel is still under renovation, and the bathroom was a bit small. But otherwise really nice facility. The bed and pillows were SO comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings Suzie, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We welcome guest comments and appreciate the feedback! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff was very helpful. It's rewarding for me as a manger to hear that they made a significant impact during your stay. I will make sure to share your review to them. Thank you for your patronage of the Hotel Del Sol. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back when next traveling to San Francisco. Sincerely, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
I chose this hotel because of the location - which did not disappoint. It was a great find and I would go back. It's as quaint as the pictures and the staff was marvelous. They made us feel very welcome and safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings Traveler, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm glad to hear that you found our front office team to be marvelous and they made you feel welcome and safe. I will make sure to pass on your comments directly to the management team. Overall, I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to experience comfort and value. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver b.c

Motel del Sol

Posted Oct 13, 2017
This is a renovated motel and not a hotel. While it is so close to Union street and Chastnut where all the fun is, please don't take your wife here. We had to switch to another facility next day as room smell was so stale and bad that if we unpacked all the clothes would get that smell. If you just need a room for a night or two it can be ok, that's why I had to complain to Expedia about advertising this as a Hotel. 4.1 star is on review but it never tells you it's a 2.5 star motel. So there is a lot of misrepresentations. It has pool that Is rarely getting cleaned and the breakfast is actually a few doughnuts/muffins. Staff was really nice. All lovely people. Yes we are a little bit of a spoiled couple from Vancouver, but this place is charging like any other 4 star hotel close to Union square. Likely we had to stay here only 2 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings Djale, On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay. I am however, disappointed to read that you experienced a bad smell in your room and that the pool was dirty. Your feedback is important to me and rest assured that I have passed on your comments to the appropriate Department Manager. Thank you for your patronage of the Hotel Del Sol. I do hope that you will not allow these isolated incidents mar your opinion of the Hotel Del Sol and that we will be able to welcome you back when next traveling to San Francisco. Respectfully, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by Lucinda

Lucinda

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
One night stay only.........it was a great location and the staff was very friendly......great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017
Greetings Lucinda, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and experience with us. From the excellent staff service to the location of the hotel - these are a few things that we provide and offer that certainly makes our property a top hotel to stay in San Francisco. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by Douglas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Perfect size and awesome location

Posted Sep 22, 2017
My wife and I wanted a place that was conveniently located between local areas and touristy areas. Hotel Del Sol was perfect. We were a 15 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf and only five minutes away from the local areas (e.g. bars, restaurants. etc). This hotel is located in the neighborhoods of the Marina District and had the neighborhood feel to it, not commercial; which we liked. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The only thing I didn't like about it was the thin walls between rooms; you could hear your neighbors in the adjacent rooms. That's me just knit picking because the pluses definitely out weigh the negatives regarding this hotel. Will stay there again, if given the chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Tiffany Batle, Hotel Management
Greetings Aaron, Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and experience with us. From the excellent staff service to the location of the hotel - these are a few things that we provide and offer that certainly makes our property a top hotel to stay in San Francisco. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Cara

Not what I booked.

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
I paid over $300.00 for one night stay. I booked a queen, upon arrival I was notified there were none available. I was put into a room with 2 double beds. I tried for over half of the night to sleep with my fiance, but gave up and slept in the other bed. The lights from the walk was kept me away for the rest of the night even with the blinds down. Don't forget they also will charge you $30.00 for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017
Greetings Cara, On behalf of the staff at the Hotel Del Sol, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to complete the survey in regards to your experience at the hotel. We, at the Hotel Del Sol strive to create a warm and relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy throughout their stay. I am however, disappointed to read that we could not accommodate you in the room type that you had requested; your feedback is important to me and rest assured that I have passed on your comments to the appropriate Department Manager. Thank you for your patronage of the Hotel Del Sol. I do hope that you will not allow these isolated incidents mar your opinion of the Hotel Del Sol and that we will be able to welcome you back when next traveling to San Francisco. Respectfully, Tiffany Batle Operations Manager