Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

eclectic, artsy, and nice

Posted May 26, 2017
In a Good location, we enjoyed our one night stay at this neat little place. Our hostess at the front desk when we checked in and when we checked out was extremely friendly and helpful. We'd stay again and recomend it to our friends who don't require lavish comfort but dig a fun place with a clean room and a good nights sleep! Also among the least expensive rooms in the area not a hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Great value for the money Perfect location Outstanding staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

it was not fancy but it was economical

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: breakfast buffet
Location: walking distance from ferry bldg, pier, shopping, restaurants. cable car museum is free and very interesting. Alcatraz tour was nice.
Buffet breakfast was a joke. Very clean and well kept, but bldg is very old. Staff was friendly. Located in a nice part of town with lots of restaurants nearby. I did not mind sharing bathroom and shower, but I'm used to camping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location at downtown

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Very close to the most places in downtown. Room is quite small with a small bathroom. Elevator is not very convenient. Breakfast is pretty good. Overall, good for that price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stonestown NJ

Too hot, too stuffy

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Cool funky atmosphere.
Cons: See above. Get better ventilation into the rooms
Location: Close to Chinatown, Little Italy etc. Good location lots to do.
I was on the 2nd floor and got moved at my request to 4th floor on a cool SF night. Overall this place is a fail. The room was very hot and stuffy--there was just no air getting in there. I was on an inside room, not facing the street, so the windows faced a large lightwell in the middle of the building, so there was effectively no view either. On the 4th floor the window was unable to go up more than a few inches which made things worse! The manager, who was very polite, gave me a fan which helped bring in some cool air from the 6" or so the window would go up, but really this whole thing was pretty bad. I like how funky this place is, and the whole art thing is cool, but can't recommend it for anyone who needs a good night's sleep, it was just too hot and stuffy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut, Lebanon

Nice hotel, close to Union Square

Posted Mar 17, 2017
It is a small old renovated 2 stars hotel. I enjoyed my 8 nights stay in room 302. You can find the basic amenities, rooms are clean and nice staff. Don't expect 2+ stars services. The breakfast is minimal, bread, butter, 1 kind of processed cheese, jam, apple and orange juice, coffee and tea, that's it. It is crossroad to Chinatown and close to shopping area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very very garbage motel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Never stays in this motel. And they charge too much
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Des Arts, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Des Arts! May we ask what was it that you did not like? Feedback is truly important to us as it helps us improve in any way we can. Thank you, Hotel Des Arts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location. Art!
Cons: Breakfast could be available till 10am on weekends.
Right price. Great location! Room was small but clean and very interesting. Stayed in 405 which was very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Amazing hotel and amazing staff. Have already recommended to friends
4 out of 5
by Monzerrat

Hidden Jem

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
I truly like this place. I think of it as a hidden Jem. Very unique. Super centric and easy to walk to the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, etc. The room was clean. It's a bit small, but cozy. The only thing I do not like too much is that elevator because it is a bit small and slow, so I used the stairs instead. It's also atttached to this speak easy bar, which plays live music some nights. Really cool!