Ratings based on 2,837 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, staff, and inexpensive for area

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Staff
Location: At the heart of it just block off union square on Geary which is main thoroughfare. Starbucks down stairs to the left and great Mexican place onright.
Stayed there for 2 days, staff especially Q who helped us with everything was great. A decent place with all you need for weekend getaway at a great price. Would definitely go back and stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Pros: Staff was very friendly, form front desk to housekeeping. Where I was placed was also very quiet.
Cons: Shower was clogged up, a little more attention to detail to room cleanliness.
Location: Restaurants and shopping.
It was not a bad experience I feel like the pics on the website are better than what the room looks like in person. The floors creak, not sure if people could hear under me; as well as the floor was uneven and on a slope. For what I paid, I can stay at a better looking hotel, the location is great though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Check in was very easy. To park your car is $55/day with unlimited in/out privileges. Rooms are a good size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel, California

San Francisco birthday celebration

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Location is two blocks from Union Square, amazing shopping and restaurants. Enjoyed helpful and thoughtful staff that were eager to please their guests, price for the room was great and hotel looks newly renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

tiny but good location

Posted Feb 15, 2018
hotel is no frills but in downtown SF it is expected for the price point I paid. Would stay again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sf

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Hotel doesn't look like anything in pictures. Beaten up. Tiny tiny bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2018 by Tyler L, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback, we are very sorry to hear your stay was less than excellent and will review these comments with our team to help us improve. We hope to impress you on a future stay. Thanks again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Providence, RI

Nice Perks, but LOUD

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Only stayed one night at beginning of February. The staff was all great, and the front desk helper asked if I’d like a room near the front of the building with a street view but with street noise, or if I would prefer an inside room instead that would have no view but be quieter. I asked for the second option, but it was definitely NOT quiet. There must be a restaurant or bar attached to the same walls, because there were extremely loud kitchen noises (glasses, chairs screeching, things being banged around) until maybe 1am, when I actually fell asleep. Mind you, this stay was on a Sunday night - you’d think it would have been silent! Besides the noise, the room felt a bit dorm-like but was clean. The wi-fi kept disconnecting, which is a big no-no if you’re in a tech city and you’re trying to attract any professionals whatsoever. They definitely are trying to make it cute (champagne in the lobby, furry purple accent blanket, etc.) but there are probably better options in that area for a similar cost and perhaps a quieter experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, originally from SF

Central location to many things in SF

Posted Feb 5, 2018
There was no hot water our first morning at the hotel...otherwise, location is not bad. I parked at Mason St garage. 35 bucks a day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Good location, friendly hotel staff...

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The cleanliness of the rooms.
Location: The Mexican restaurant next door, bottomless mimosas!
The hotel staff was AMAZING, they were helpful and friendly. I believe our concierge's name was Q (she was the best). Beyond the service, the room smelled like dog/cats and it didn't seem like it was cleaned very well before we got there. I would recommend the hotel to someone that won't be in the room often- it is in a great location for restaurants and bars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

No rest

Posted Feb 3, 2018
I’d stayed at the Hotel Diva a few times before and had a good experience. This last time around unfortunately it was terrible. My room on the 2nd floor faced Geary St and it was unbearably loud 3 of the 4 nights I stayed, with someone playing bongos in the middle of the night two of the nights. I asked for a room swap but alas there weren’t any available - really? Also, the WiFi kept failing the entire time I was there. When I inquired about it I just got a “restart your device” response. Sadly this was probably my last stay there.